We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Accommodation. Inconsistent Pricing.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paraway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paraway Motel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Katherine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Accommodation. Inconsistent Pricing.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed there overnight with a friend, I had to take 2 rooms for my family of 5 while he just took one room . But I was charged $5 less than my friend, not sure how that worked. Overall the the rooms were clean and comfortable with basic amenities.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    30
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
12
25
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

I always choose to stay here when on business, but recently was booked in somewhere different which has made me appreciate how this really is the best option in Katherine. The rooms are always clean, generally quiet and - importantly for me - I feel safe there. You can park your vehicle inside locked gates. The staff are pleasant and if there is an issue with noisy people, they appear quick to act. The restaurant is reasonable and it has a pleasant outside pool area for a glass of wine or beer after work.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilli68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I regularly travel to Katherine for business and have tried at all the local motels and resorts but this one is the best It's not flash but it's safe, quiet, clean, comfortable and has a nice restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonya271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

I will be back to stay.
I travel to Katherine several times a year and the motel that I normally stay at was booked out and I rang this motel and they also were booked out. The receptionist took my name and number and told me if the get a cancellation they would call "and true to there word they called"
The room are a good, clean and comfortable.
Restaurant: Breakfast was great hot and fresh, also I had dinner the next night, the hot rocks menu (steak is vey tender) cannot wait for the new menu. Restaurant staff said it should be available on my next trip

Once again I would like to thank the manager (Dudley) for assisting me with my very late check-in. (4-15am)

Thanks to all at Paraway

Room Tip: Upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jules H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuncurry
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

travelled with a tour and I believe myself and 2 other couples were given the worst rooms as they knew we could not go elsewhere.
Black hairs on the sink, cockroaches in the cupboards and fridge! and crawling on you in bed, last persons stuff in the fridge!. Stains on the pillow cases. Able to write our names in the dust on the T.V. Phone and electricals hanging out of the wall. When asked for a change of room and the condition the owner said that there was no way it could be in that condition he backtracked when shown the photographic evidence. Floor was filthy and would not dare walk around with no shoes on ,bathroom sink surround broken and no plug. Room was overall very dirty, very tired and looked like it had not been cleaned up properly since the floods 2 years ago Also said that they do not usually let those rooms out.
2 windows that were at the back of the room and they had bars on them.
Was given a better room the next day with nil reduction for the first bad nights accom.If this is the best in Katherine I may sleep in the car next time.

Room Tip: Pick a room with glass frontage, not near the stairs ,not rooms 17 or 18 or the 2 above them.Upstiar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank george m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Katherine hotels

Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

The Paraway has been my favourite choice of Accom in Katherine for years. More so for its location & renowned Stone Grill restaurant. Sadly I found my last meal in the restaurant to be very disappointing and the service lacking. When I lodged my disappointment with the wait staff they were very dismissive. Again on check out I raised this and was as equally disappointed by the owner's response. Oh well, my stay last week at Beagle Motor Inn got a glowing review and could well become my preferred accommodation in Katherine.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BronwynClee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Happy to stay here again, Location is good , also close to Katherine club. Secure parking is a big plus. Rooms are clean with tea & Coffee making facilities. Coin operated washers and dryers.
What the place needs is Free WIFI. Hotel also has a 'Hot Rock' restaurant which I have eaten at but I am not keen on the cook your own meal concept. Some rooms could do with a nice once over clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Matthew2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katherine hotels
2.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Katherine
Ibis Styles Katherine
#9 of 9 in Katherine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beagle Motor Inn
Beagle Motor Inn
#2 of 9 in Katherine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pine Tree Motel
Pine Tree Motel
#3 of 9 in Katherine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Knotts Crossing Resort
Knotts Crossing Resort
#8 of 9 in Katherine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Katherine Motel
Katherine Motel
#5 of 9 in Katherine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
14.6 mi away
Cicada Lodge
Cicada Lodge
#1 of 9 in Katherine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paraway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paraway Motel

Property: Paraway Motel
Address: 9-9 O'Shea Terrace, Katherine, Northern Territory 0850, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Katherine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Katherine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paraway Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Paraway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing