We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and reliable hotel”
Review of Pine Tree Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pine Tree Motel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Katherine
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Simple and reliable hotel”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

There is nothing to fault. Clean and functional room and bathroom. Aircon works like a charm. Only drawback is breakfast is not included and overpriced. And the restaurant is open according to their mood. But location is good so there's a RSL nearby which serves delicious food. Overall a good experience.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank bankergirl1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine T, Manager at Pine Tree Motel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our motel.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

Our restaurant is open from 6.30pm to 8pm Monday to Saturday. However, recently we have had a close several times as our chef has been quite sick. I apologise for any inconvenience caused to you.

Thank you again.

Julie Rawlings
Manager
BEST WESTERN Pine Tree Motel
Katherine, NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    108
    53
    19
    10
See reviews for
37
112
21
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I have just spent two individual nights at Pine Tree at either end of a spell of walking.

I chose the motel after reviewing Trip Advisor reports on this and other motels in Katherine. Reviews for Pine Tree, as with other Katherine motels, is variable, however I have no hesitation in recommending Pine Trees as Very Good (in fact its better than most motels I find in country Australia).

Pine Tree is an older style motel but it is set around a decent swimming pool in a small area of garden which gives it a pleasant feel.

The motel is in a convenient location less than 10 minutes easy walk from the centre of Katherine.

I stayed in two different upstairs rooms and each contained a double and single bed. Even with that bedding arrangement the rooms were comfortably spacious. Both rooms I occupied were clean and appear to have been redecorated in recent times (or are just very well maintained). The furnishings were tasteful and comfortable - the rooms 'felt' good. The bathrooms are older but clean and perfectly adequate. The rooms have both a circular fan and an air conditioner (which worked well and quietly).

The service on both brief stays was very friendly - I found it well above average.

People have commented negatively here about the price. I paid $155 for each night. Frankly I thought that fair given the standard of this accommodation and taking account of the frequently higher prices I pay for what at times is mediocre motel style accommodation in our southern states. Cooked breakfast was $15 (per person) and I thought that good value.

I would stay again.

Room Tip: Probably choose an upper room so you do not have cars parked outside your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyPaul99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine T, Manager at Pine Tree Motel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Mr C

Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey about your recent stay with us.

Your feedback is important to us at it helps us improve our standards and services. Our aim is to make guests feel welcome and comfortable and we enjoy receiving feedback such as yours to know that we achieve these goals.
Our motel is an older style motel, however, I do try to ensure the rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable.

It was great meeting you and please do not hesitate to contact me if there is anything I can help you with.

Thanking you again.

Kind Regards
Julie Rawlings
Manager
BEST WESTERN Pine Tree Motel
3 third Street
Katherine NT 0850
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mareeba
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Simply because there is no way this place gives value for money. The last refurbishment must have been done decades ago. Everything in the room is outdated, damaged or broken. On arrival, the refrigerator was found to be turned off and flooded. We were given a towel and told clean it up ourselves. How could we possibly recommend it?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 88REP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine T, Manager at Pine Tree Motel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey regarding your recent stay at our motel.

I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Unfortunately, the receptionists forgot that the fridge had been turned off by the cleaners for defrosting prior to you checking in, which led to the water not being mopped prior to your arrival. I understand that the receptionist was going to get the housekeeping staff to remove the water and turn the fridge on and we appreciate that you offered to do it yourself, however, it was no problem for us to take care of it.

We are an older motel in the middle of the northern territory, however, I am particular that the rooms be clean and we offer good service. I believe this is more important to a guest than the decor of a room. Our rooms are spacious compared to the more modern motels and the beds are comfortable.

Again I would like to apologise and thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Manager
BEST WESTERN Pine Tree Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights while visiting Katherine on business. Friendly welcome at reception. This is an older motel which has been renovated. Comfortable bed and all expected amenities. Good restaurant with an excellent salad bar. Reasonably priced wines.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Flyfishjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine T, Manager at Pine Tree Motel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey with regard to your recent stay at our motel.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

As you have pointed out in your review, we are a small country motel. We are not a very modern motel at all but we can offer good service and clean comfortable rooms. We aim to make our guests feel welcome and appreciate the acknowledgement.

Thank you again.
Kind Regards
Management
BEST WESTERN Pine Tree Motel
3 Third Street
Katherine NT 0850
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Although not luxurious, the Pine Tree Motel provided comfy beds, clean bathrooms and fantastic service. The wifi worked better than more expensive upmarket hotels in Darwin.

The breakfast here was impressive. The continental breakfast included warm danishes the days I was there. You will not leave hungry.

The pool was clean and peaceful and of an evening the BBQ and outdoor eating area was the place to be.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the property are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazza339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine T, Manager at Pine Tree Motel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our motel.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
Our aim is to ensure we offer good service and make our guests feel welcome and comfortable. We are always please to hear we accomplish this.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey.

Management
BEST WESTERN Pine Tree Motel
3 Third Street
Katherine NT 0850
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I have paid less to stay at a genuine 5 star brand named hotel in KL, for what is really a road side motel. This pace is hideously over-priced for what you get - but as are most places in Katherine. One day the tour operators will wake up to the damage that the hotels do to their businesses by pricing people away. I decided to leave Katherine early and head to Darwin because of the overpriced hotel.

For cleanliness and service I'd give it 3, but the price drove it down to 2.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We spent one night here on the second floor. The room was clean and had been refurbished. The bathroom was basic but more than sufficient. This is certainly adequate for a bed for the night. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioner was quiet so a good nights sleep was had by the both of us. No frills but no issues.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berry-SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine T, Front Office Manager at Pine Tree Motel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your stay at our motel.

Your business is important to us and we value your feedback as it helps us improve and give better service for you and other guests in the future.

I hope you have enjoyed your time here in Katherine. if you are ever coming this way again we would love to see you.

Kind Regards
Tahlia Rawlings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katherine hotels
1.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Katherine
Ibis Styles Katherine
#8 of 8 in Katherine
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beagle Motor Inn
Beagle Motor Inn
#2 of 8 in Katherine
313 reviews
1.2 mi away
Knotts Crossing Resort
Knotts Crossing Resort
#6 of 8 in Katherine
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Cicada Lodge
Cicada Lodge
#1 of 8 in Katherine
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Katherine River Lodge Motel
0.4 mi away
Paraway Motel
Paraway Motel
#4 of 8 in Katherine
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Tree Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Tree Motel

Property: Pine Tree Motel
Address: Third Street, Katherine, Northern Territory 0850, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Katherine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Katherine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Tree Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pine Tree Motel. Centrally located in Katherine - situated 500 metres from the Post Office and the main shopping Hub, the Pine Tree Motel is an excellent base for your comfort while visiting the Regions Natural Scenic Beauty. Offering Quality Accommodation, Value for Money, Comfort and Friendly Service, the Pine Tree Motel is surrounds a tropical garden setting. Relax and experience the atmosphere with a soothing swim, a drink by the pool, and to top it off an awesome meal in the Pines Restaurant with Chef Alfredos Locally Caught Game and Seafood from the waters of the Northern Territory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pine Tree Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Katherine
Katherine Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing