We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See from the air!”

Kata Tjuta (The Olgas)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$95.86*
and up
4-Hour Uluru Sunset Tour from Yulara
More Info
US$169.16*
and up
Uluru and Kata Tjuta Experience with BBQ Dinner
More Info
US$189.30*
and up
Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kata Tjuta is Pitjantjatjara meaning ‘many heads’. This spectacular landform lies about 50 kilometres drive from Uluru and Yulara. This area is an Anangu men’s site and is sacred under Tjukurpa(traditional law). Everyone is welcome and encouraged to visit this place but as with all areas of the park, please stay on the marked tracks.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Olympia, WA
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“See from the air!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We took a half day tour to Kata Tjuta and walked Walpa Gorge with our guide. Excellent views of the rocks. Bring your fly net and water. The next day we took a helicopter flight to see Kata Tjuta and Uluru. Kata Tjuta looks entirely different from the air. Highly recommend a helicopter tour.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mdcwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,342
    367
    50
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Unmissable”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Kata Tjuta is simply stunning. The best thing in a great area. The AAT Kings tour was outstandingly well organised and enjoyable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JimThomasKew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Magical Place”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Near Uluru this is a place to visit please come and visit, look at this Marvel and leave it he way you found it. This is a magical place to the aboriginal people. Near the centre of Australia you can fly into Alice Springs and drive from there, you also have Kings Canyon close by. Best time to visit April-October to avoid summer heat if you are from a cool climate as it gets to 35-45C degrees

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ASM56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Actually prefered it from afar, but it was still good up close.”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

They look so much more interesting then Uluru from afar. But up close, they are just mountains. Still we came in by car and did the walk. Note - there are currently no shops anywhere around here, and the toilet is at the sunset spot, not the start of either walk.

We were told there were two: If you have lots of time or want to see the main walk: The Valley of the Winds Walk (30 mins to 3 hours) or the smaller (most tours seems to do this one): Walpa Gorge Walk (an hour) - the centre at Uluru has maps and advice.

We had the day, so went for the valley of the wind walk, which we were told was difficult, so weren't sure if we'd do the whole walk, but we went for it and found it fine.

The first part of the walk take you up the side and brings you to a great view as you reach the crest of the hill, to see the inside of the Olgas. It's worth the short walk. (30 mins, return)

The second part of the walk takes you down and around one side, up a few steep rock faces (careful of slipping) and again stops at a peak where you reach the crest and can see the other side. (about an hour each way, so 2-2.5 hrs return) - *we met others here doing the same, deciding from here to go on or head back. You can see how long it's taken you to get here and compare it to the other times. The others we met had taken 2 hours to get here, so we said they should head back the same way, while we'd been about an hour, so went on.

The third part loops from the second, around one of the domes, to the start again. It's flat(ish) once you get down the slope and are walking around in the centre of all these domes - some kangeroos are seen there - we didn't see any but the walk was nice (3-4 hrs return)

Note: there are a few water stations at the bottom of the slope after the first lookout (so if you're doing the longer walks) and to the left at the bottom (so towards the start or end of the full loop).

We had planned some time here, so had a day to do the walk and liked it, we were also there around the winter as they close the walk if it gets too hot. Take plenty of water! :)

Another good thing: A lot less crowded than Uluru, you can find areas all to yourself! :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank egrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant Experience”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Watching the sunrise over The Olgas (& Uluru) before trekking up them through the valley of the winds is a truly magical experience and not one to be missed. I would recommend a jacket if you are going to set off early - it's cold! You do warm up and get your heart rate up as the time goes on. You end up really high with rock surrounding you on most sides, well worth the trek.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Belloui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kata Tjuta (The Olgas) also viewed

Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Red Centre
Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Red Centre
 
Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Red Centre
Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Red Centre
 

Been to Kata Tjuta (The Olgas)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing