We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A time warp!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
OutBack Caravan Park
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Incredible preservation of what must be one of the oldest cabins in the NT! Admittedly we chose the standard cabin and indeed it was standard (for the 70's I think). That said it did keep us highly amused as we kept chuckling at the room we were in - we'd never seen so many shades of brown and orange in one place.

Mgt / staff were friendly & helpful, cabin was well equipped, quiet & clean and place felt safe(ish). The standard cabin would have been fine for us if 20% cheaper but price point for quality (ie. age of it) felt off relative to the other places we stayed in the NT, but Tennant Creek not renowned for great accommodation so not too many other options.

Tennant Creek definitely quirky..

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 123,482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We have stayed twice at this park. First time in a cabin but on this trip we had our tent. Though a bit dusty the area for our tent was flat and powered. The amenities block was clean with good showers. There were clean BBQ facilities and camp kitchen. The staff were fantastic and lent us some knives and forks. We would stay again at this friendly and clean park.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Lib54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Large caravan park, far enough out of town to not have any traffic noise. Drive through sites are available, these are a bit narrower than other sites. Clean amenities, friendly staff. Good place to stay. Good clean pool. We were here for 2 nights.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank LYN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is a large professional standard park. We had a big grassy site near covered picnic seating and camp kitchen. Staff are very helpful. There is a good shop and petrol available on site. It is a bit out of town so fairly quiet at night. The pool is nice and cold. Laundry and bathroom facilities are excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rathin_PeaceRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

we stayed in this Caravan Park for one night a few days ago, and were very surprised....I don't wish to be unkind about the town, but it's not really where you'd go for a holiday.....but, having said that, the park was a delight....dry and dusty, yes, but what would you expect in central Australia.....the sites were drive through, but really only a little over the width of the van, so if you did want to stay longer an annex, or even an awning would be difficult. We had a nice shady spot, there was some grass near the basic, but neat and tidy camp kitchen, and the bathroom facilities, while a bit dated, were lovely and clean and well maintained....much nicer than some of the so-called resorts that we've stayed in recently......not only did we have a courteous and professional welcome, but also were offered some seniors discount, and directed to where we would get seniors discount on our fuel....an altogether delightful experience....

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank AztecAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This was such a nice surprise we didn't think much of Tennant creek as we drove in and thought the caravan park would be a little dodgy but as soon as we pulled in we really liked this caravan park. We stayed here three nights, very friendly staff, facilities kept very clean, and the grounds are very tidy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Raywyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We pulled in and from the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. Facilities are great and there is everything you need. We ended up staying 5 days and we had a ball. Can highly recommend happy hour at the bar, meet other fellow travellers and swap stories.

Room Tip: We were in our own caravan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DandJ216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tennant Creek hotels
0.6 mi away
Goldfields Hotel Motel
Goldfields Hotel Motel
#2 of 3 in Tennant Creek
67 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bluestone Motor Inn
Bluestone Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Tennant Creek
217 reviews
2.7 mi away
Renner Springs Desert Inn
Renner Springs Desert Inn
#2 of 3 in Tennant Creek
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OutBack Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OutBack Caravan Park

Address: 71 Peko Rd, Tennant Creek, Northern Territory 0860, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Tennant Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Tennant Creek
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully presented park was established in 1981, and now boasts glorious shady trees with spacious drive-through sites, a choice of grassed camping areas and extensive amenities. A Pool provides welcome relief in the middle of the Territory's Golden Heart. Our cheerful team and commitment to improvements, service and the environment now offers a range of 4 Green Star facilities. Choose from our broad range of accommodation options and spend a few days enjoying the local attractions, relax in our licensed garden cafe and enjoy the camp fire entertainment with Jimmy Hooker's humorous bush poetry and local bush tucker tasting during the High Season only. All needs are provided for, from powered and unpowered shaded and grassy camping and long drive through caravan sites to air-conditioned En-suite cabins with full kitchen facilities, wireless internet, Laundromat, camp kitchen, dump point, fuel, Mini-mart and gas. Free 30min wifi when you check in! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your OutBack Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing