We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great camp site”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
OutBack Caravan Park
Darwin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great camp site”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We camped on a lovely shaded spot under the trees right next to the pool and pool amenities, as we were the only campers that night it was as if we had our own private pool and ensuite. The site is a short distance from the town centre which made it that little bit quieter. A courtesy bus will take you to the local club and returns each half hour.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tapguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    68
    36
    5
    7
See reviews for
31
60
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We stopped in after driving from Darwin. Had everything including kitchen amenities and a small shop. Fuel was overpriced but we enjoyed our stay and were impressed with the location and privacy. Staff were very friendly and the dogs gave it a homely feel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle_2122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here on recommendation and it was worth it. Staff were lovely and helpful. Pool was freezing though - it was the end of the day.
The toilets and showers are clean and comfortable although a little older.
The cost is reasonable and fine for one night. It was the best price on all our travels.
It was quiet at night and we had a good sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Incredible preservation of what must be one of the oldest cabins in the NT! Admittedly we chose the standard cabin and indeed it was standard (for the 70's I think). That said it did keep us highly amused as we kept chuckling at the room we were in - we'd never seen so many shades of brown and orange in one place.

Mgt / staff were friendly & helpful, cabin was well equipped, quiet & clean and place felt safe(ish). The standard cabin would have been fine for us if 20% cheaper but price point for quality (ie. age of it) felt off relative to the other places we stayed in the NT, but Tennant Creek not renowned for great accommodation so not too many other options.

Tennant Creek definitely quirky..

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 123482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We have stayed twice at this park. First time in a cabin but on this trip we had our tent. Though a bit dusty the area for our tent was flat and powered. The amenities block was clean with good showers. There were clean BBQ facilities and camp kitchen. The staff were fantastic and lent us some knives and forks. We would stay again at this friendly and clean park.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lib54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Large caravan park, far enough out of town to not have any traffic noise. Drive through sites are available, these are a bit narrower than other sites. Clean amenities, friendly staff. Good place to stay. Good clean pool. We were here for 2 nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank LYN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is a large professional standard park. We had a big grassy site near covered picnic seating and camp kitchen. Staff are very helpful. There is a good shop and petrol available on site. It is a bit out of town so fairly quiet at night. The pool is nice and cold. Laundry and bathroom facilities are excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rathin_PeaceRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to OutBack Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OutBack Caravan Park

Property: OutBack Caravan Park
Address: 71 Peko Rd, Tennant Creek, Northern Territory 0860, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Tennant Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Tennant Creek
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully presented park was established in 1981, and now boasts glorious shady trees with spacious drive-through sites, a choice of grassed camping areas and extensive amenities. A Pool provides welcome relief in the middle of the Territory's Golden Heart. Our cheerful team and commitment to improvements, service and the environment now offers a range of 4 Green Star facilities. Choose from our broad range of accommodation options and spend a few days enjoying the local attractions, relax in our licensed garden cafe and enjoy the camp fire entertainment with Jimmy Hooker's humorous bush poetry and local bush tucker tasting during the High Season only. All needs are provided for, from powered and unpowered shaded and grassy camping and long drive through caravan sites to air-conditioned En-suite cabins with full kitchen facilities, wireless internet, Laundromat, camp kitchen, dump point, fuel, Mini-mart and gas. Free 30min wifi when you check in! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing