We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice caravan park ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
OutBack Caravan Park
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice caravan park ”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We weren't expecting much based on reviews we had read. Arrived and were thinking a cabin might be more secure but only budget ones available which were old and dated. Ended up with a powered site for the caravan. Nice park, well maintained, clean amenities and pool, well stocked shop. People were friendly and helpful. caught the courtesy bus into the memorial club and had a delicious dinner. Heaps of police and no concerns about safety. Nice stay.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    61
    35
    5
    7
See reviews for
29
54
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night with our dog on the way from Darwin to Sydney. It was our first night on the road and after driving 1,000kms the cabin was a welcome sight! We were in a 2 bedroom cabin (but did not use the bunk-bed room) and I imagine having 6 people in one of these cabins would be a bit of a squeeze. For us and the dog, however, it was no problem. She was able to sleep on her bed in the cabin (whereas a lot of other places will not allow dogs indoors), the bathroom was clean with great water pressure in the shower, and it had a very comfortable bed. Aircon was excellent, and not too noisy for a window-rattler. The staff, in particular Jan was friendly and accommodating. Thanks Jan for letting us stay with our pup, if we are back this way sometime we would stay again!
Michael, Ingrid and Sock.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingrid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The cabins at this park were sufficient for our family's needs although they are quite small by comparison with others we stayed in at other locations. We felt a bit cramped with 5 of us in one combined kitchen/dining/lounge area. The cabin was neat and tidy. Making the kids beds was a bit of a task, especially the upper bunks and we thought this was a bit much given you pay extra $$ for having the luxury of sheets for the bunks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kedj2320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

The ladies at reception were were friendly, we stayed in a cabin that had 2 rooms, and one of those rooms had bunk beds that we had to make ourselves which I thought was ridiculous as we are paying $181 for 1 night!! I slept on the double bed and woke up with massive bites on the back of my neck :( which for me sucked as I did not sleep well due to constant scratching!! The place has a nice pool. Overall I personally wouldn't recommend Tennant Creek for anyone to visit, why? If you go there you will find out for yourself!! I gave a 2 for service as we had to make our own beds that were bunks and difficult after a long drive from mount Isa :-/ not impressed not worth $181 it's a rip off

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sootylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Clean cabin, fairly old but in good condition. Air conditioners in 2 rooms and a fan in the bunk room. Keeping bedroom doors open kept it cool over night. Pool very refreshing after a day on the road.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank scubadogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed one night in August in a powered van site, the amenities were nice and clean and park position in a nice quiet area.
The problem was the service, the woman that we spoke with was at best disinterested and at worst rude. As we were only staying over night washing was put in a dry in the laundry. It took 8 dollars(tokens) to dry one mid size load. I queried this after having to get more tokens with the response being "that's the price", every other park we have stayed in it has been $2 maybe $3. The next issue was not directed at me but at 4 Swedish tourists that were eating dinner in the camp kitchen, the same woman walked in and "Went off " about the pots on sink and got a verbal run about the rules ( no dishes left in sink, wipe down tables, no rubbish. All this and they hadn't even finished eating and the only other person there was me rinsing out a couple things. Was so embarrassing to all of us. A lesson in hospitality is needed.

Room Tip: Be forewarned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice w, Manager at OutBack Caravan Park, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
In Response to your review.

Thank you in saying our park is quiet and nice and clean.

Our Dryers and Washing Machines are compatible to all prices around Australia and are set by the Manufacturers from whom we buy from.
.
Northern Territory had a huge Power & Water and Sewage rise this year and of course we have to on forward our costs.

Check Out time for our Camp Ground is 10am in which this time had been overstayed by the other guests and had no real hurry in moving on and was using power that was not paid for.

Thank you for your review but you need to know the reason why this happened before making your comment on other guests in the park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We camped on a lovely shaded spot under the trees right next to the pool and pool amenities, as we were the only campers that night it was as if we had our own private pool and ensuite. The site is a short distance from the town centre which made it that little bit quieter. A courtesy bus will take you to the local club and returns each half hour.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tapguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tennant Creek hotels
0.6 mi away
Goldfields Hotel Motel
Goldfields Hotel Motel
#2 of 3 in Tennant Creek
62 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bluestone Motor Inn
Bluestone Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Tennant Creek
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Renner Springs Desert Inn
Renner Springs Desert Inn
#3 of 3 in Tennant Creek
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OutBack Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OutBack Caravan Park

Property: OutBack Caravan Park
Address: 71 Peko Rd, Tennant Creek, Northern Territory 0860, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Tennant Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Tennant Creek
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully presented park was established in 1981, and now boasts glorious shady trees with spacious drive-through sites, a choice of grassed camping areas and extensive amenities. A Pool provides welcome relief in the middle of the Territory's Golden Heart. Our cheerful team and commitment to improvements, service and the environment now offers a range of 4 Green Star facilities. Choose from our broad range of accommodation options and spend a few days enjoying the local attractions, relax in our licensed garden cafe and enjoy the camp fire entertainment with Jimmy Hooker's humorous bush poetry and local bush tucker tasting during the High Season only. All needs are provided for, from powered and unpowered shaded and grassy camping and long drive through caravan sites to air-conditioned En-suite cabins with full kitchen facilities, wireless internet, Laundromat, camp kitchen, dump point, fuel, Mini-mart and gas. Free 30min wifi when you check in! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your OutBack Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing