We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet location for an overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
OutBack Caravan Park
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Quiet location for an overnight stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Located out of the town centre, this caravan park has basic but adequate facilities for a short stay. However the ground were infested with tiny water ants that climbed into our van. We saw people putting talcum powder around their wheels etc as it apparently stops them from crossing over.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    59
    33
    5
    7
See reviews for
28
52
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Good clean facilities and plenty of them. Excellent camp kitchens. Enjoyed the happy hours and the entertainment options on site. Good sites and space if you back in. Drive throughs did not have annex space. Good staff. Pleasant stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie travellers
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We heard so many bad stories about Tennant creek on our travels that we nearly didn't stop here. Luckily we did cause we found our stay at the outback a welcome break. The park has mainly drive through sites though there are others to choose from aswell.The staff are very friendly and helpful,which is always a bonus.
The pool is clean and the amenities are adequate. The rates decrease the longer you stay so we were happy with the price.
We found Tennant creek a safe place to explore (though we didn't walk around at night).
Glad we stayed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank 50sjoeannecaravaners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We found this Park within our expectations, and interesting town and had everything most travelers would require for a rest point on long travels but don't expect luxury, this is outback style, dated but pleasant Park. Staff friendly and we appreciated it was quiet. We will return to the Outback Park on our return trip for a stopover again because felt comfortable.

Room Tip: Consider the surroundings in regards to outside noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrissut51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed one night in a two bedroom cabin - one room had a double bed and the other had four bunk beds. Unfortunately, none of the lights above the bunk beds worked - three had switches broken on the lights and the other had a non-functioning globe. In the double bed room, only one of the bed lights worked - so, out of a total of six over-bed lights, only one functioned.

In the lounge-kitchen area, there was no lounge to sit on while watching TV, just a table and four dining chairs.

The impression was that the cabins were tired and dowdy and not well maintained. When I provided feedback on the appropriate from next morning, the staff member got quite angry. I was not entirely sure whether she was angry with me for letting her know that things were sub-standard, or angry that her cleaning-maintenance staff had failed to attend to these matters.

The one major advantage of this accommodation facility is that it is a little out of the centre of Tennant Creek.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We weren't expecting much based on reviews we had read. Arrived and were thinking a cabin might be more secure but only budget ones available which were old and dated. Ended up with a powered site for the caravan. Nice park, well maintained, clean amenities and pool, well stocked shop. People were friendly and helpful. caught the courtesy bus into the memorial club and had a delicious dinner. Heaps of police and no concerns about safety. Nice stay.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night with our dog on the way from Darwin to Sydney. It was our first night on the road and after driving 1,000kms the cabin was a welcome sight! We were in a 2 bedroom cabin (but did not use the bunk-bed room) and I imagine having 6 people in one of these cabins would be a bit of a squeeze. For us and the dog, however, it was no problem. She was able to sleep on her bed in the cabin (whereas a lot of other places will not allow dogs indoors), the bathroom was clean with great water pressure in the shower, and it had a very comfortable bed. Aircon was excellent, and not too noisy for a window-rattler. The staff, in particular Jan was friendly and accommodating. Thanks Jan for letting us stay with our pup, if we are back this way sometime we would stay again!
Michael, Ingrid and Sock.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingrid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tennant Creek hotels
0.9 mi away
Bluestone Motor Inn
Bluestone Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Tennant Creek
3.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Goldfields Hotel Motel
Goldfields Hotel Motel
#2 of 3 in Tennant Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Renner Springs Desert Inn
Renner Springs Desert Inn
#3 of 3 in Tennant Creek
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OutBack Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OutBack Caravan Park

Property: OutBack Caravan Park
Address: 71 Peko Rd, Tennant Creek, Northern Territory 0860, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Tennant Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Tennant Creek
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully presented park was established in 1981, and now boasts glorious shady trees with spacious drive-through sites, a choice of grassed camping areas and extensive amenities. A Pool provides welcome relief in the middle of the Territory's Golden Heart. Our cheerful team and commitment to improvements, service and the environment now offers a range of 4 Green Star facilities. Choose from our broad range of accommodation options and spend a few days enjoying the local attractions, relax in our licensed garden cafe and enjoy the camp fire entertainment with Jimmy Hooker's humorous bush poetry and local bush tucker tasting during the High Season only. All needs are provided for, from powered and unpowered shaded and grassy camping and long drive through caravan sites to air-conditioned En-suite cabins with full kitchen facilities, wireless internet, Laundromat, camp kitchen, dump point, fuel, Mini-mart and gas. Free 30min wifi when you check in! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your OutBack Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing