We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for one night”
Review of Eldorado Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eldorado Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tennant Creek
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I statek there for one night driving from Darwin to Uluru. Room was ok, nothing special though.
There's one think worth mentioning that relates to the whole town, but also to the motel. Everything closes down pretty early there, so bring your own supplies if you plan to arrive in the evening. If not for the friendly owners of Chinese Take Away in the main street, we would be starving.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnieszka_El
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Eldorado Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013

I stayed here for two weeks on business, the rooms were okay, certainly nothing special and needed updating, the air conditioners were very noisy to the point of waking you up in the night when they clicked on. The managers seem to have the opinion that the reception doesn't have to be open all day, they regularly left the front desk unattended for up to four hours on weekdays and most of the day on weekends. One of the main issues is the amount of local aboriginal children running around, suffice to say the pool was out of bounds for most of the time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I stayed here on business. The room was dingy and had not been cleaned properly. The room was not serviced the next day. There is a shortage of electrical points which means you cannot have the TV, DVD and fridge on at the same time. The room was crammed with beds (it was a booking for one). There was a public area outside my room with patrons drinking alcohol from the early afternoon onwards and the associated litter and noise. To be fair, they were friendly and dispersed early in the evening, but nonetheless, it was not the best environment for a business traveller.

Room Tip: Stay here if you cannot get in anywhere else in Tennant Creek
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gilli68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

My family of 6 stayed here for one night on our way to Darwin. We didnt have a booking so were happy when they had a room big enough for us available. I asked to look at it first, the room was old and dated but had 2 queen beds and a bunk, and an aircon and we were only staying one night so i forked over my $140 and we checked in. The room was clean but in need of a makeover, as we were only spending one night and looking to save money it served our needs. The deal clincher for us was free wifi as we had spent a week without access and the needed to book some stuff before arriving in darwin. I would recommend the El dorado to anyone looking for a cheap place to spend the night in Tennant.......

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bungchow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This a first time ever that I have reviewed a motel before checking out. Being a former Golden Chain management couple under Stephen Drew we are disgusted at this so called 3star motel. On arrival after a long drive and needing to stop somewhere to rest we thought that this would be the place. How wrong we're we I had to pay on registration without seeing a room, my first mistake. After entering the room which I was assured was an executive suite we immediately were greeted with fallen curtains washed towels that were dirtier than most people's before washing and cobwebs hanging from the ceiling. My wife had to clean the toilet seat before she could use it and I proceeded to make a cuppa. My second mistake. The cups were stained and not useable and there were no spoons anyway, so off I went to reception and asked for spoons and fresh mugs. On return to our "executive" suite we noticed the mugs were chipped. This was enough to make us try and find another place to stay but to no avail everywhere was full. Being too tired to continue our trip we have had to put up with it so do not make the same mistake share drivers and keep going. And just to end this saga we are enduring a chorus of crickets in the room with no way of eradicating them, so no rest for us before another long drive tomorrow.

Room Tip: Being charged $117 with our Golden Chain membership if this is executive then check in at the local...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

They have two types of rooms and prices. Old room for cheaper rate and window ratler for air con. Bit of a dump and not worth money. Other has been renovated and quiet air con. Bed comfy, ok bathroom. Overall basic room but clean and comfy and no traffic noise.

Have fast WiFi for free that is easy to log on and no drop outs.

Would stay here again as one of the cheaper places.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordonAnnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Booked on line ages ahead of a busy period, at what I consider a premium rate for something of this standard.

A week later told they were overbooked and we got bounced

Ratbags


I suspect they got a big booking from overseas and bounced us locals.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank seeker372011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tennant Creek hotels
0.4 mi away
Goldfields Hotel Motel
Goldfields Hotel Motel
#2 of 3 in Tennant Creek
66 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bluestone Motor Inn
Bluestone Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Tennant Creek
208 reviews
0.8 mi away
OutBack Caravan Park
OutBack Caravan Park
#3 of 5 in Tennant Creek
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Renner Springs Desert Inn
Renner Springs Desert Inn
#2 of 3 in Tennant Creek
120 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Eldorado Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldorado Motor Inn

Address: 195 Patterson Street | PO Box 65, Tennant Creek, Northern Territory 0861, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Tennant Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tennant Creek
Price Range: £77 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eldorado Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 11 sprawling acres, the Eldorado Motor Inn offers 78 airconditioned rooms. We have rooms to accomodate 1 person through to 5 people all ensuited with colour televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and ironing facilities. Wireless internet is also available all rooms. With a huge 120 seat licensed restaurant and alfresco area serving Chinese and steak menu you are sure to enjoy a fantastic meal here. At the Eldorado Motor Inn, we endeavour to make your stay as comfortable as can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eldorado Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel Tennant Creek
Eldorado Motel Tennant Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing