We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location , great facilities, could improve on food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hill Safari Eco Lodge Ohiya

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hill Safari Eco Lodge Ohiya
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful location , great facilities, could improve on food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Was able to get the top room on the new wing on our way to worlds end , Awesome view, the room facilities were also great , The hot water was not working for sometime that didnt bother us as the view from the room was breathtaking

They could increase on the quality of the food, Provided the fact that this one of the two lodges , The food was good but the variety was not good enough. THe breakfast was not enough as we were preparing for a long hike. I would like to thank karunadasa for the hospitality offered.
All in all a wonderful experience and would definitely go there again

BTW, take care when going on the pathway to the resort. Our small car just fit the width of the road and it was somewhat a terrifying experience as the road was not visible at all with the mist and the the cliff which was like 2 feet away from the car !!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niroshan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    58
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
23
79
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We read about the Eco Lodge in our guide book and jumped out of the train in Ohiya, took a Tuktuk which drove further and further away from civilization. Due to the fog we didn't really see where we are, only when the fog cleared we saw the awesome view from the rooms. Due to our off-season trip we didn't make a reservation and were lucky to be the only guests in the Eco Lodge.
Staff was welcoming, friendly and provided us with great food. Due to the further travel plans we were only able to stay one night, but would have liked to stay longer.
Highly recommended, but probably necessary to book ahead when not traveling in the off-season.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is a real treat to arrive to after a 6 hour trek! We loved it. Such friendly staff and owner and the room is very comfortable. Well worth a stay and ideal for a stop over on a treking trips. We really hope to be back. Defintely stay in the top room with a view although we hear some more rooms are coming next year. Let's hope they are of the same high standard in design.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KnoydartEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

If you are travelling to Hortain Plains which is the key highlight of the entire Nuwara Eliya district, "Hill Safari Eco Lodge" is the best option. Clean 4-star luxury rooms, Clear Toilets, Hot water facilities and more importantly a beautiful view of the tea estates surrounding and with a rare view spanning all the way to up to Dondra (Downsouth Coastal Belt). The food served is amazing. The resort is strategically located with 3 routes leading to Hortain plains. The roads are done and widened it makes it easier to find and travel all the way to the resort. An amazing resort which offers a beautiful view of the surrounding with lush greenery and mountains which all can be experienced from the room it self. The Pricing is very reasonable to the services offered. We had an amazing unforgettable time, and felt sad to leave this heavenly place. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Room Tip: Always try to choose the New Wing done up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yohan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
120 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed at Hill Safari for 1 night before our trip to Horton Plains the next day. Like many have previously said the road to get to the hotel is not very good, in fact when we asked for directions in Ohiya the guy said a car wouldn't make it and offered to take us in his tuk tuk. We declined as our driver was confident so we started out on the hairy road. However, we then followed the sign and made 1 turn and my god the road got 10 times worse! It wasn't helped by the fact that there was a huge storm and we could barely see a thing! My husband had to get out and guide the car to make sure it didn't get too close to the edges as it was a sheer drop. We did manage to get there in the end but it took us about half an hour to do 800m! On the way back, leaving the next day myself and my husband both had to walk for a lot of the journey to release weight from the back (we are both not very heavy people) so it could get over the big rocks! We did have a standard car (Camry) so a larger vehicle may do better but it is definitely not a journey for the feint hearted and to be honest although the hotel was great, I'd probably choose a different hotel in Ohiya (if there are any) in order to avoid this drive again.

It was a good choice staying in Ohiya over Nuwara Eliya as it was a lot closer to Horton Plains so not such an early start. We were given a packed breakfast to take with us which included roti's and bananas. The 2 guys who met us at the hotel were very accommodating and friendly and the views were amazing. Once the storm cleared up we had such amazing views for miles. There isn't really anything to do at the hotel so we just read for most of the night, I wouldn't fancy staying here for much more than 1 night and felt a little as if we were in a homestay rather than a hotel and felt a bit imposing.

We asked for a beer with our tea and felt as if we were taking it from their personal stock so felt a bit guilty to be honest and didn't feel as comfortable as we should have in a hotel. I appreciate this is pretty much their home but we just kinda felt a bit awkward.

This was the only hotel on our whole trip that charged us extra for the drivers accommmodation (it was only 500LKR so nothing expensive) but it is worth noting as no others charged us.

We had asked for the upstairs bedroom which was nice and modern, although beware, there are a lot of creepy crawlies which is to be expected from such a remote location.

The curry we had for tea was very tasty, although a little bit more would've been nice, and if you have any allergies/vegetarian etc you'll need to inform them in advance as there's no menu, you get what you're given!

Whilst we did have a good stay, I have only rated it average for the following reasons;

approach road was too scary and needs improving
we didn't feel like we could relax too much as felt we were imposing
charge for drivers accommodation

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new block, the upstairs room has the better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrshoeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

My partner and I were travelling Sri Lanka by motorcycle in April and stumbled upon Ohiya and the Hill Safari thanks to trip advisor. When we visited the final building works were still going on, but because of this we received a discounted rate and the were the only guests so had the beautiful upstairs room. The views from here are truly breathtaking (even in the stunning shower with views all around!) and when the clouds descend and you find yourself above them, this place become magical. The owner, Mr Perera was so friendly and helpful, he helped us pick a route the next day down the mountain. If you are on a crosser motorbike or a 4x4 and fancy an adventure, the road down from Ohiya to Kalupahana is insane! So many twists and turns through tea plantations and tiny, traditional villages and takes you right past the highest waterfall in SL Babarankanda Falls...but be warned... It's not a proper road anymore and the surface is very tricky, it took 4 hours on a motorbike!
The Hill Safari was easily our favourite place to stay, even though my partner got a fever the night we stayed, but Mr Perera was so kind and made sure we had enough blankets (yes you need blankets up here!) and water. The meal was traditional and HUGE. It was delicious, as was the packed breakfast we took with us the next day on our trek through the Horton plains. I cannot recommend this place enough, if we go back to SL, this will be first on our list, and for more than 1 night this time!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillSafari, Owner at Hill Safari Eco Lodge Ohiya, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
I was really pleased to know that you considered Hill Safari to be the favorite place you stayed in Sri Lanka. The renovation work that was carried out is complete and when you visit Sri Lanka next time you should be able to get an even better experience due to the renovation work that was carried out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Our Family stayed at Hill Safari during the period 20th to 22nd July 2013. It was a super place. We were welcomed very warmly by Mr Eomal Perera and the care takers Mr Karunaratne and Mr Francis. They were very friendly. Always with a smile .. Food was awesome. What ever we wanted, they provided us with everything. We stayed in the new building and the rooms were really good. Had all the facilities. The view from the new building was really nice. Cool place to relax and enjoy the holiday. Its very close to the Ohiya Station. We will definitely visit "HILL SAFARI ECO LODGE" . Wish you every success.

Road to Hill Safari should be done a little bit. That's the only complaint I have :)

Cheers - Angela Dias Udawela - Sri Lanka

Room Tip: The new building is the best, specially the Upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela082013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillSafari, Owner at Hill Safari Eco Lodge Ohiya, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Glad to hear that you really enjoyed your stay at Hill Safari. I am happy to inform you that the road to Hill Safari was done up. Hope to see you again at Hill Safari.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohiya
5.0 mi away
Melheim Resort
Melheim Resort
#1 of 1 in Beragala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ceylon Tea Bungalows
Ceylon Tea Bungalows
#1 of 5 in Bandarawela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
14.6 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
6.4 mi away
Leisure Mount View Holiday Inn
1.5 mi away
Forest Cyniciam Holiday Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Safari Eco Lodge Ohiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Safari Eco Lodge Ohiya

Property: Hill Safari Eco Lodge Ohiya
Address: Lower Bray Estate, Ohiya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ohiya
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Ohiya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill Safari Eco Lodge is the bungalow of a private tea plantation (Lower Bray Tea Estate). It is a trekkers’ paradise with a trecking programme for 7 days. Visit places of interest in the area – taking 7 to 8 days. The magical place 6,500 ft. above sea level with the widest panoramic view extending from Balangoda to Udawalawe and beyond with its wales and valleys of Lower Uva basin and over the hills of Rakwana and Deniyaya upto the Southern Coast of Sri Lanka.The new wing rooms are equipped with modern furniture and fittings that offer star class comfort to our guests, including a private observation deck for the room. Furthermore, the new wing rooms are facing the Ohiya gap offering a panoramic view from your room, which extends up to the Southern coast (more than 100km) of Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hill Safari Eco Lodge Ohiya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing