We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Scenery” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horton Plains National Park

Horton Plains National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$110.00*
and up
Private Guided Hike to Kirigalpoththa Mountain via Horton Plains
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Ohiya
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Along with plenty of wildlife, a cliff known as World's End is a top attraction at this park.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have just walked the 9k walk around Horton Plains. As other reviewers have said, it's quite rugged in parts so good walking footwear is a must. It's quite a long walk with average times being 3-3.5 hours but we managed it in 2.10 which our guide said was good going as we are in our 50/60s. We didn't see much in the way of wildlife but the scenery is lovely. We were lucky with the weather as it was sunny, warm and clear.! They are strict on what you take into the park such as plastic seals and labels on water bottles which must be removed before entry. There are basic toilet facilities at the start/ end for a small amount of Rupee. A drinks bar too. I'd recommend this trip if you don't mind walking but if you're not that keen then perhaps not.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennybabs62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    242
    91
    40
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good experience but long hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

It's about 3.5 hour hike including photo shooting time. You would need to get there early in the morning say 5-6 am to enjoy the quietness and fabulous untouched view. The morning breeze is refreshing. Love the samba deer in the sunlight. Definitely worth a visit if you are fit and willing to get up early.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
133 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“We were expecting more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

After reading all the great reviews on Tripadvisor we were very excited to visit Horton Plains but we were quite disappointed.

World's End was covered with mist and the trekking from one view-point to the next was non-eventful. There were a lot of large groups of disrespectful locals who were continually noisy throughout our walk, and we spotted so much waste along the paths like empty water bottles, which was extremely unpleasant.

We would have much rather spent our time hiking through the natural forests and tea plantations.

Helpful?
2 Thank DonPackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Go prepared!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I visited Horton Plains on the 14th of April, 2014. The drive to Horton Plains is lovely. Some great stops for photo opps along the way.

However, once you get there, be prepared for a long trek through some totally rough terrain. If you happen to like hiking and enjoy traversing some tough trails, then you will definitely enjoy it.

If not, make sure you take the 9km trek in stages. The entire route is one big loop. There's a clear signboard after the first half kilometre (where the path forks off), indicating the various stops and how far away it is from that point. Map out your route accordingly.

Good, sturdy walking shoes are a must. Take plenty of water and stay hydrated. Don't forget your camera! The sceneray is great and the bio diversity is stunning. The best time to start your trek would be at around 6.30 a.m. That way your beat the heat and your fresh for your hike through the plains. The sunrise is supposed to be spectacular!
If you're lucky, you might see some wildlife as well !

There are some pretty tricky patches to manoeuver along the way, where you're practically climbing over small boulders and loose rock. I would personally not reccommend this hike to seniors. During our trek we came across certain elderly individuals who were having some difficulty and were contemplating turning back.

Cell phones do not work here as there is no steady signal.

Issuing of tickets to enter the park ends at 3 p.m. Make sure to get there before that to avoid disappointment. The rough estimation of the entire hike (the complete loop) is supposed to be four hours. Hence the cut-off time of 3 p.m.

Food and drink is available at the car park, but NOT along the hiking route. However, there are toilet stops at certain intervals.

It's a definite MUST SEE attraction for those coming up to the hill country. The plains are beautiful as are the stops such as World's End and Baker's Falls along the route. However, make sure you are well prepared to handle a tiring, but rewarding trek through beautiful, unforgettable Horton Plains!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sushara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Difficult to get to, but quite amazing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at Hill Safari eco lodge only 25 minutes from the entrance. So we got to the entrance around 6.30am to start the circuit walk. Saw Sambuk deer at the entrance and saw the World's End views without the clouds and mist. If you come later than 10am all you could see would be clouds in the valleys. We are in our 60's and made the 9km walk in 3 1/2 hours. In some places it is quite difficult and you need good walking shoes or trainers. You are not allowed to take any loose plastic into the Park, plastic bottles are Ok, take off the labels if you can. Take pictures, remember a spare camera battery and a large enough card.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank rbcorpe-travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horton Plains National Park also viewed

Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Uda Walawe National Park, Sri Lanka
 

Been to Horton Plains National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing