We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent walk”

Horton Plains National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$110.00*
and up
Private Guided Hike to Kirigalpoththa Mountain via Horton Plains
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Ohiya
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Along with plenty of wildlife, a cliff known as World's End is a top attraction at this park.
Malta, Europe
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“excellent walk”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

great walk. get there by early morning. we left hotel at about 6.30 and got there at about 8. there is a 7 km walk which we did in about 3 hours. didn't see any animals here except 1 deer. The bakers fall and world's end are amazing. if you are in sri lanka, do not skip horton plains.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CamilleriD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    251
    96
    41
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great walk, get there for sunrise”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the entrance just as the park was opening (6.30) and caught the sunrise on the way there. The entrance is quite pricey but actually worth it. They say the walk takes 3 hours, but if your taking your time and stopping for the waterfall we were there for about 5 hours. The views are lovely and the park is kept well. Was nice to see how strict they were with what you took in (no plastic, lighters etc) the waterfall is lovely and we got their early enough that they weren't too many people there. We didn't see any animals as we were walking around but on the drive up we did pass a beautiful large deer that's famous there, hidden in the trees, which was rather special. Definitely worth a visit but allow time and take water!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Madro27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice easy hike but don't expect to see animals.”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Horton's Plain was a beautiful area, the hike not too steep, the views lovely. It was a very peaceful walk (we got there for opening at 6am to avoid too many people and to try to see the view - which mostly worked). There were lots of deer just outside the entry but besides bird and lizards there are no real other animals in the park. We asked our driver and he told us he'd seen leopards but only outside the park. He said the park was now too busy and all the animals lived where no one hiked (except to cross the road on occasion). The view at World's End was ok and the waterfall pretty. We still very much enjoyed the walk though.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank WanderingWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Majestic upland wilderness of sweeping grasslands and spectacular vistas”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Horton Plains National Park is a majestic, high-altitude expanse of grassland, forest and scrub south of Nuwara Eliya. A world away from the beaches and palms of the coast, the landscape in Horton Plains looks more like the uplands of northern England, or Scotland, than Sri Lanka. Having negotiated the discriminatory, but depressingly typical, pricing structure at the entrance ("foreign" people like me pay the best part of 2,000 Rupees to enter whilst Sri Lankan residents pay only a small nominal charge...), you arrive at the visitor centre where the 'classic' nature trail starts and finishes. This popular loop can be undertaken clockwise or counter-clockwise (we chose clockwise) and either way will take you past the trail's two standout moments, World's End and Baker's Falls. World's End, possibly the best viewpoint to be found on the whole island, affords a wide-ranging panorama over a plunging precipice. Baker's Falls, dramatic in a different way, is a short but worthwhile diversion from the main loop. In between the landscape morphs between woodland and open grassland with a new vista at every twist and turn of the trail. Although the wildlife wasn't quite as diverse or spectacular as we later saw in Yala, we were fortunate enough, albeit briefly and at a distance, to see two leopards racing through the grasses. The trail itself, which according to Strava is 5.8 miles (9.3km) in length, is undulating with just over 800 feet (240m) of ascent, and whilst the path is of generally good quality some sections are quite rocky, so decent walking shoes are advisable to complete the loop in comfort. An early start is recommended for the clearest views as cloud tends to build up from late morning onwards. Some may find guides useful to identify the local flora and fauna but the reality is you're unlikely to get lost on the trail and most visitors could easily manage without one.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank theroaringcataract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenery”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have just walked the 9k walk around Horton Plains. As other reviewers have said, it's quite rugged in parts so good walking footwear is a must. It's quite a long walk with average times being 3-3.5 hours but we managed it in 2.10 which our guide said was good going as we are in our 50/60s. We didn't see much in the way of wildlife but the scenery is lovely. We were lucky with the weather as it was sunny, warm and clear.! They are strict on what you take into the park such as plastic seals and labels on water bottles which must be removed before entry. There are basic toilet facilities at the start/ end for a small amount of Rupee. A drinks bar too. I'd recommend this trip if you don't mind walking but if you're not that keen then perhaps not.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank JBtravelmad59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horton Plains National Park also viewed

Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Uda Walawe National Park, Sri Lanka
 

Been to Horton Plains National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing