We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet and simple accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brown's Bay Olive Tree Motel & Apartment
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Browns Bay
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet and simple accommodation”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I didn't meet any staff but collected my key from a deposit box and stayed for one night. I found the room very clean and had a good sleep. It was only a short walk to town and buses to the city. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank chummers1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    8
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
8
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waitomo Caves, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Chris and I have just spent the weekend the the motel, clean, tidy, helpful staff, handy to Browns Bay, quite. Would stay again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I went to here last year with a disability group form Wellington called K.B.Savage and Associates and I am going up to Browns Bay again this coming Wednesday.

From Claire Scott.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewZealandbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

It was with some trepidation that my brother and I went to stay at the Olive Tree, after reading the previous reviews, but my cousin was staying there so off we went.
We were in a newly upgraded room and it was very clean and comfortable and nice, and the staff were very helpful and friendly.
It was a short stroll to the Browns Bay township, and I would definitely stay there again.
Great value for the money

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Having just spent 2 nights at the refurbished Olive tree with 5 of my rugby travelling mates found the motel clean,tidy and well equipped. The bathroom and kitchen add been renovated and the beds and sofas replaced they are still working on some of the units and when finished they will be of the same standard. I felt i write this due to the bad reports it add received.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taffy066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Very run down and tired. Inadequate supplies, cold and damp. Browns Bay deserves better. My very elderly in-laws decided to stay there as our house was full for a family reunion. They chose to go elsewhere so it was quieter for them and they could retire when they wanted to. Worst decision they ever made. Lady at counter very nice and helpful but could not make up for the appalling conditions

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DannysGirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveTree24, Manager at Brown's Bay Olive Tree Motel & Apartment, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Thank you for your comment. We have took over the motel last year and full renovation was done two years ago. We do apologise on behalf of previous manager for your disappointed experience you had with the motel previously. We now have changed our pricing for Studio ($115). Should you visit this area again, please have a opportunity for us to serve you better this time. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Browns Bay hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queensland Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2009

The room was not in good repair....wallpaper damaged and peeling; mould on the bedcover and a general smell of damp and decay caused a sneezing fit for my wife. We moved after one night at $125.00 for a "studio" to a far nicer unit at the Albany Oaks not far away at $135....a far better option. Des Benson, Qld, Australia

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bensondes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveTree24, Manager at Brown's Bay Olive Tree Motel & Apartment, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Thank you for your comment. We have took over the motel last year and full renovation was done two years ago. We do apologise on behalf of previous manager for your disappointed experience you had with the motel previously. We now have changed our pricing for Studio ($115). Should you visit this area again, please have a opportunity for us to serve you better this time. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Browns Bay
2.6 mi away
Albany Oak Motel
Albany Oak Motel
#1 of 3 in Albany
46 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
3.2 mi away
Aristotles North Shore
Aristotles North Shore
#1 of 1 in North Shore City
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Emerald Inn
Emerald Inn
#3 of 7 in Takapuna
121 reviews
7.0 mi away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
599 reviews
5.7 mi away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Bay Olive Tree Motel & Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Bay Olive Tree Motel & Apartment

Property: Brown's Bay Olive Tree Motel & Apartment
Address: 24 Glencoe Road, Browns Bay 0630, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Browns Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Browns Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brown's Bay Olive Tree Motel & Apartment 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 spacious refurbished units in peaceful surroundings. 1 studio unit, 6 x 1-bedroom units (sleep 5) and 1 x 2-bedroom unit (sleeps 7). All units have full kitchen facilities including microwaves, phone, TV (9 channels including 3 Sky TV), electric blankets and heaters. Our facilities include guest laundry, spa, BBQ, trampoline, off-street parking. Hairdryers, cot, highchair and baby bath available. 5-minute walk to beautiful Browns Bay Beach and many shops, cafes and restaurants. 5-10 minute-drive to North Harbour Stadium, Massey University, tennis and squash courts, golf. RSA and bowling club close by. Public transport at door if required. 20 minutes to downtown Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Brown's Bay Olive Tree Motel & Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown`s Bay Olive Tree Hotel Browns Bay
Brown's Bay Olive Tree Motel & Apartment Browns Bay, New Zealand - Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing