We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must if you enjoy quality food.”
Review of Dix

Dix
Price range: £42 - £55
Description: Situated in the beautiful village of Sainte-Alvère, in the Dordogne, our small family-run restaurant serves delicious and imaginative, seasonally inspired dishes, in a relaxed and stylish setting. A vegetarian menu is available on request. (Selected by the Gault & Millau restaurant guide, in their guide to the 109 best new chefs and restaurants in France, 2021).
Restaurant details
Description: Situated in the beautiful village of Sainte-Alvère, in the Dordogne, our small family-run restaurant serves delicious and imaginative, seasonally inspired dishes, in a relaxed and stylish setting. A vegetarian menu is available on request. (Selected by the Gault & Millau restaurant guide, in their guide to the 109 best new chefs and restaurants in France, 2021).
Reviewed 20 July 2020

Today we visited Dix with high expectations and luckily it was market day. From start to finish it exceeded in all areas, greeting,service and food plus a good selection of wines. We travelled over an hour and cannot wait to return. Thank you and don’t change a thing. Ian & Suzan.

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ernestlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DIXRestaurant, Owner at Dix, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2020

Thanks so much! Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2020

I visited the Dix with my husband for a birthday lunch on March the ninth.
We have lived in France for fifteen years and have visited many restaurants in that time.The Dix is excellent in every respect . I have bathroom envy !beautiful!
We will return in a heartbeat.The owners Gemma and Raphael are perfect hosts.

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jet420634
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DIXRestaurant, Owner at Dix, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2020

Thank you for your review! We look froward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2020 via mobile

Took my elderly Mum to Dix for lunch. As ever the food was excellent. The new outside shady courtyard is a great success. Raphaël and Gemma have created a fabulous restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2020
1  Thank 362alexw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DIXRestaurant, Owner at Dix, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2020

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review!

We're glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you the next time :)

Gemma & Raphaël

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2020 via mobile

Amazing food and friendly relaxed atmosphere. We all tried different dishes and each one was beautifully presented and delicious. A particular highlight was the locally sourced beef, but whatever you try you won't be disappointed. We would highly recommend and will definitely be back.

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank 337andya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DIXRestaurant, Owner at Dix, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2020

Thanks so much for your review! We look forward to welcoming you back :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2020

Dix is a very pretty restaurant located in a very pretty Dordogne village- quintessentially French. The decor, lighting and overall ambiance are tasteful and elegant. Clearly a lot of time and effort has gone into creating the right kind of setting to complement the excellent food on offer.

Our two-course lunch (starter plus main) was fresh, delicious and satisfying. I loved the butternut squash soup with parmesan, walnuts and a poached egg- a nice take on a popular favourite. My chicken fillet on a celeriac root mash with a veal jus was as good as it sounds while the others in our party chose cod with dhal and a mild curry foam. I tasted it and can echo their very favourable opinion. We were too full for dessert, we just ended our meal with a very good coffee.

I would dine at Dix again with pleasure. We need more restaurants like this, those who maintain creativity and a commitment to quality and freshness. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pericles430
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DIXRestaurant, Propriétaire at Dix, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback following your visit to DIX!

We're so glad you enjoyed your lunch with us, and really appreciate your thoughtful words.

We look forward to welcoming you back another time soon!

Best wishes,
Gemma & Raphaël

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dix also viewed

Sainte-Alvere, Dordogne

Been to Dix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.