We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 out of 10 for Dix”
Review of Dix

Dix
Price range: £43 - £56
Description: Situated in the beautiful village of Sainte-Alvère, in the Dordogne, our small family-run restaurant serves delicious and imaginative, seasonally inspired dishes, in a relaxed and stylish setting. A vegetarian menu is available on request. (Selected by the Gault & Millau restaurant guide, in their guide to the 109 best new chefs and restaurants in France, 2021).
Restaurant details
Description: Situated in the beautiful village of Sainte-Alvère, in the Dordogne, our small family-run restaurant serves delicious and imaginative, seasonally inspired dishes, in a relaxed and stylish setting. A vegetarian menu is available on request. (Selected by the Gault & Millau restaurant guide, in their guide to the 109 best new chefs and restaurants in France, 2021).
Reviewed 9 September 2020

We visited Dix for dinner and enjoyed sitting out in the lovely terrace outside the restaurant, which twinkled with lights as darkness fell. This is a charming restaurant run by husband and wife team Rephael and Gemma who have created together a truly memorable dining experience. The food is of top calibre and we enjoyed our visit so much we are returning again next week on the last night of our holiday. Thank you for the signed menu Rephael, we look forward to seeing you and Gemma again next week.

Date of visit: September 2020
1  Thank Russianblue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DIXRestaurant, Owner at Dix, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2020

Thank you so much for your kind words! We’re so glad you enjoyed your experience and feel very honoured that you’ve chosen to come back to DIX on the last night of your holiday. We loved meeting you both and look forward to welcoming you back on Monday! Gemma & Raphaël

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2020

Ate here last night, still smiling at what a lovely time my partner and I had ... a beautiful restaurant in a lovely little village. I am a vegetarian and food enthusiast, not easily impressed by vegetarian options in Dordogne, we had the best food with beautifully balanced vegetarian dishes, in a romantic and very well designed setting with a stunning show kitchen, amazing hosts, homely setting - probably the best desert I have ever had!

Date of visit: September 2020
1  Thank 537evamarier
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DIXRestaurant, Owner at Dix, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2020

Thank you for such a lovely review Eva! We’re so happy you enjoyed your experience at DIX and your dessert so much! We hope we can welcome you back again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2020

We finally made it to Dix after an initial postponement due to Covid. A wonderful experience and incredible flavours. As vegetarians, we were well catered for. Great service, very leisurely and relaxed. Glad we stayed overnight in Ste Alvere! Thanks to Gemma, Raphaël and support team. Plan to return in 2021.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank Dreamer565987
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 August 2020

We stumbled across this restaurant in the beautiful town and were blown away by how tasty and unique the menu was. They were also extremely accommodating for dietary requirements (gluten + lactose free) and spoke English so it was super easy. Would highly recommend another visit!

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank Nuala M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DIXRestaurant, Owner at Dix, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2020

Thanks so much for your lovely review! It was a pleasure welcoming you and your family and we hope to see you again next time you’re in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2020 via mobile

We had a very pleasant lunch here. The place is charming and very nicely decorated. It feels much more like somewhere you might find in Cornwall than a typical Dordogne restaurant. The whole place is spotlessly clean.

The food was very pleasant and not a duck part in sight. The day we ate here there was a North African Middle East vibe going on. Portions were nicely sized for lunch and we left pleasantly fed and not stuffed. There is a good wine and cocktail list.

Service was friendly and attentive.

I would certainly visit again and enjoy a pleasant time.

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank Partner792
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Dix also viewed

Sainte-Alvere, Dordogne

Been to Dix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.