We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”
Review of Dix

Dix
Price range: £42 - £55
Description: Situated in the beautiful village of Sainte-Alvère, in the Dordogne, our small family-run restaurant serves delicious and imaginative, seasonally inspired dishes, in a relaxed and stylish setting. A vegetarian menu is available on request. (Selected by the Gault & Millau restaurant guide, in their guide to the 109 best new chefs and restaurants in France, 2021).
Restaurant details
Description: Situated in the beautiful village of Sainte-Alvère, in the Dordogne, our small family-run restaurant serves delicious and imaginative, seasonally inspired dishes, in a relaxed and stylish setting. A vegetarian menu is available on request. (Selected by the Gault & Millau restaurant guide, in their guide to the 109 best new chefs and restaurants in France, 2021).
Reviewed 4 July 2021 via mobile

Visited Sainte Alvere with friends specifically to visit Dix. We weren’t disappointed. Beautiful restaurant with rooms. Attention to detail was evident in both the food and the accommodation.
Our meal was probably one of the best we’ve had since coming to live in France 3 years ago. Service was second to none and our room perfect. The village itself is beautiful. Thank you to Gemma, Raphael and the team for a lovely time. Will definitely be back!

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Maxine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DIX Restaurant & Chambres d'Hôtes, Propriétaire at Dix, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2021

Thank you for such for your wonderful compliments - we're so happy you enjoyed your whole experience at DIX! It was lovely meeting you all and we can't wait to welcome you back again another time :)

Gemma & Raphaël

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2021

Having this great little restaurant 20 seconds from the village square its thee icing on the cake. It has a homely local feel, with a kitchen producing great food. It is the premium offering of the three restaurants in the village and prices reflect that, but well worth a visit and the lunch carte is great value.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nickdE9123IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DIX Restaurant & Chambres d'Hôtes, Propriétaire at Dix, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2021

Thank you so much for leaving us a review. We're really glad you enjoyed your experience at DIX and hope to see you again soon!

Gemma & Raphaël

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2021

So good to have this excellent restaurant open again. Short but inventive menu, always a vegetarian option, food beautifully presented, and delicious. A charming team that are always welcoming and flexible. Is it the cheapest place locally? No - but it is always high quality, with great service and therefore fairly priced.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank piglette777
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DIX Restaurant & Chambres d'Hôtes, Owner at Dix, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave a thoughtful review! We hope to welcome you back soon!

Gemma & Raphaël

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2020

Dinner for 3 couples on a september evening. Every one of us loved his/her food. They are an amazingly talented and nice couple. You feel the effort and love they have invested in the place. Part of the table had a view of the kitchen and admired the skills and dedication of the chef. All of us benefitted from the very professional and pleasant welcome and guidance of the lady of the house.
We could not have been more delighted. Would love to be back .... it's a bit far from Belgium ... but when in the area again, we will be delighted to make a big detour if necessary. Dix sur dix - magna cum laude.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NathalieandJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 September 2020

we have stayed 2 nights at DIX, in one of their beautiful decorated rooms. Had 2 fabulous dinners with excellent wine. Gemma and Raphael are fantastic hosts, always there if we needed something. Sainte-Alvere is a beautiful village which has everything. Raphael is a very creativ chef. He knows how to combine different flavours and textures. On the other hand Gemma runs the restaurant with a lot of charme, always with a smile on her face. Great couple, great location. We wish their little family all the best for their future. We will be back! Alberto and Anita

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank rossigina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DIXRestaurant, Owner at Dix, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2020

Thanks so much for the lovely review! ! It was such a pleasure to meet you both and share our home with you. We couldn’t have wishes for more wonderful guests! We look forward to the next time! Gemma & Raphaël

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dix also viewed

Sainte-Alvere, Dordogne

Been to Dix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.