We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Dinner!”
Review of Dix

Dix
Price range: £42 - £55
Description: Situated in the beautiful village of Sainte-Alvère, in the Dordogne, our small family-run restaurant serves delicious and imaginative, seasonally inspired dishes, in a relaxed and stylish setting. A vegetarian menu is available on request. (Selected by the Gault & Millau restaurant guide, in their guide to the 109 best new chefs and restaurants in France, 2021).
Restaurant details
Description: Situated in the beautiful village of Sainte-Alvère, in the Dordogne, our small family-run restaurant serves delicious and imaginative, seasonally inspired dishes, in a relaxed and stylish setting. A vegetarian menu is available on request. (Selected by the Gault & Millau restaurant guide, in their guide to the 109 best new chefs and restaurants in France, 2021).
Reviewed 4 June 2024

Wow! What an unforgettable evening - the food was unbelievable! Every mouthful was incredible and beautifully displayed. We loved the decor and atmosphere, so welcoming and relaxed coupled with fine dining. Will always remember this dinner - one not to miss!

Date of visit: June 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank V6081QJemmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2024 via mobile

Dix is a stylish restaurant run by a very friendly couple, he is the chef, and his wife Gemma very knowledgeably serves the superbly prepared menu. Portion sizes are quite perfect and each one is visually great to see, and tasty to eat. We had the 6 plate menu and its variety of flavours a pleasure to experience. The restaurant atmosphere is modern and stylish with rustic elements like the wooden tables. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: May 2024
Thank ianmX2461IU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 April 2024

Set menu of 4 or 6 items with optional wine pairings - all excellent.
Raphael’s cooking and Gemma’s hospitality are first rate.
A good place to stay also.

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank IBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 April 2024

Really great food from Raphael and wonderful hospitality from Gemma. The set menu was innovative, interesting and delicious. Perfect flavours, cooking and presentation. Still love the open kitchen and the ambiance is great. Perfect evening. Thankyou :)

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tim12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2023 via mobile

We came back two years later and weren't disappointed.

The menu is now a tasting menu (4 or 6 courses) and its probably better for it. You taste a wider variety of dishes and some really interesting flavours.

We did the 6 courses and every one was 👌. Its clear they both are so passionate about the wine / food and that really shows through.

This place is a gem - see you in another two years!

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank 600martinw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gemma James, Owner at Dix, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2024

It was a pleasure to welcome you back to Dix! We're delighted you enjoyed the variety and flavours of our tasting menu. Your kind words mean a lot, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again, in 2 years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dix also viewed

Sainte-Alvere, Dordogne

Been to Dix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.