We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central Business stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Academy At Botany Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Academy At Botany Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Botany Downs
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Central Business stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Looking for a place close to our business that foreign visitors without transport could stay this was the ideal choice I made on three occasions.
Virtually across the road from Botany Town centre and on major bus routes, although 45 mins minimum to central city in a bus.Only 30 mins to the Auckland Airport by car.
All my business collegaes were very pleased with the rooms.
There are several restaurants close by that catered fro their non-kiwi tastes.
Its just of a main rod on a sub street which makes it quiet.
Picking up in the morning had good room to drive in and wait for your college.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiKomments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    15
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
4
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

We have stayed here twice now and found the units clean and tidy, also very spacious. Nice swimming pool. Good facilities in units, everything you need. This time we got upgraded to a two bedroom unit for the same price. Would highly recommend. Friendly service.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Ours was a last minute booking and we had little choice of accommodation. So we were very pleasantly surprised with the Academy at Botany. It's warm, with very comfortable beds and great pillows. The staff were very helpful and a paper was delivered to the door every morning. Academy at Botany gets a top rating from us.

Room Tip: Go upstairs for good airflow as there is no aircon. Leave the windows open at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangerei
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

I have stayed in the Academy several times over the last two years and the standard has been consistently good - clean, well stocked and friendly reception. This visit I stayed in a family room and found it comfortable and spacious, with a large kitchen and lounge well laid out and with a dishwasher and waste disposal unit. The cooking island faced out into the room - practical for keeping an eye on the kids. There is a bedroom with 2 singles and a wardrobe and a bedroom with a double bed but no hanging space, just racks, perhaps not ideal. The spa bath is nice! I would recommend the Academy for its closeness to Botany shops as well.
Incidently, the single rooms are great for short stays.

Room Tip: The ground level rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwistroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Initially, we were quite disappointed that my boyfriend's company has booked a hotel out of Auckland Central for him. However, it's close to the airport and located just across Botany Town where there are many shops, eateries, and the bus stop is also there. It's very convenient.

We stayed on a 1st floor room and had to carry our heavy luggage up the staircase. It can be quite challenging on a winter day/night, especially when it's raining.

The family running the motel is approachable and lent us an adapter.

The room was basic. The sofa was just in front of the transparent sliding glass door, and the bed beside was just beside the sofa. Of course, we had the curtains drawn the whole time. There was also another bedtime with 2 single beds in addition to the queen bed in the living room. The queen bed was equipped with an electric blanket during winter.

There was also a kitchenette and living area. As you can imagine, the room was rather big. The bathroom was also spacious with a huge spa bathtub (without a water stopper though).

Wifi wasn't free, but to be purchased.

It's probably easy to access Auckland Central with a car within 20 minutes, but taking the public bus takes an hour or more to arrive at Brittosmart. I understand from the owner that a taxi ride to town probably cost around NZ$50.

It's a simple motel that's located close to Botany Town, and a good address if you have business close by.

Room Tip: Ground floor room is probably more logical for convenience of moving luggages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank immerz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Great place to stay, convenient to shops at Botany Down mall. Take away restaurants and decent coffee close by. Good service, replacement items not replaced overnight and when requested, reception responded immediately. Breakfast service is basic, but for the same price you can get a cafe breakfast across the road.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Academy at Botany Motor Inn, a small motel that I spent 5d during my stay in Auckland, NZ. Small & simple, comprised of 25 rooms, Queen bed, en suite shower & cooking facilities just like service apartment. Yet, able to provide a clean & comfort accommodation for travellers.

Located 15km away (20 minutes’ drive) from Auckland International Airport. 5 minutes’ walk to shopping mall, restaurants, cinema across the road along Botany Town Centre.
Travellers can simply board on any bus from Botany Town Centre, which will lead them to downtown, city of Auckland.

Academy at Botany Motor Inn, an ideal motel with good & friendly service, convenience location, great place to stop overnight when you’re in Auckland, New Zealand, I would recommend

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Botany Downs
0.2 mi away
Botany Motor Inn
Botany Motor Inn
#2 of 2 in Botany Downs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
2.6 mi away
Howick Motor Lodge
Howick Motor Lodge
#1 of 2 in Howick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
4.0 mi away
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centr...
#1 of 4 in Mount Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Grange Lodge Motel
Grange Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Manukau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dannemora Motor Inn
Dannemora Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Manukau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bucklands Beach Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy At Botany Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy At Botany Motor Inn

Property: Academy At Botany Motor Inn
Address: 4 Leixlep Lane, Botany Downs, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Botany Downs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Botany Downs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy At Botany Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 15 kms from the Auckland International Airport, 20 kms from the Auckland CBD and 3 mins. walk to shopping, restaurants and bars at Botany Town Centre. The Academy at Botany Motor Inn is the perfect place to stay for your business or holiday trip. Conveniently located in close proximity to the East Tamaki, Highbrook Business Park & Manukau City Centre. Just minutes away from the Northern & Southern Motorway. Adjacent to Botany Town Centre and Dannemora Retirement Gardens Village, this modern property is maintained to exceptional standards of cleanliness & hygiene and boasts a variety of features aimed at your pleasure. Business visitors will appreciate the excellent conference facilities, full catering & onsite parking for guests & delegates. Families are just as welcome with spacious modern fully contained family units; kids can enjoy the playground and trampoline. Guests can take a plunge in our outdoor swimming pool or relax by the poolside to unwind after a long hard day. For guests with reduced mobility access units are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Academy At Botany Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing