We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Nights Sleep!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Botany Motor Inn

Botany Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Botany Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Botany Downs
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Nights Sleep!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Had a weekend break away as landlord was hosting a party at home, and all I wanted to do was sit back with a beer or three and watch the Rugby... (World Cup Pool Matches)

Management sorted out the SKY TV straight away, and didn't mind if I had a friend or two over to watch the game, so long as we were respectful of the house rules and other guests... No problem.

Good access to local shops, banks, pubs, eateries etc... (brisk walking distance in 5 or so mins)

So curled up in bed afterwards and had a GREAT sleep - comfy bed, no major traffic noise, despite the main road across the way, no issues...

So, actually don't know what the rest of you lot are yapping about... If you want the Ritz or 5 star, go pay the money! This place was just fine! OK the prices were up a bit, but that's to be expected! Get over it and go criticise somewhere worthy of your currently misdirected whingeing...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    7
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
9
4
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

I have stayed at backpackers that have a much higher level of cleanliness than this motor inn. I was hugely disappointed with the general lack of hygiene - not what I would expect when room prices start at $140 per night!!! What were we paying for, obviously not for the room to be cleaned after whoever had stayed there before us. Also I would not expect to have so many ants all throughout the kitchen when I'm paying $140+ per night for accommodation - if the owners/staff did not want to get an exterminator in, they could have at least left a bottle of bug spray somewhere in the room. When we spoke to the hotel staff about the lack of cleanliness they were rude & unhelpful. Overall a very disappointing stay, I would not recommend this motor inn to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalavantingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostess09, Owner at Botany Motor Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
The guest who submitted the complaint 'Dirty Motor Inn' on 28 May, 2011 as 'Galavanting Around' appears to be one and the same guest who submitted an earlier complaint 'Worse motel ever' on 27 April, 2011 as 'Joe Somebody'.

On 5 April, 2011 this guest made a reservation online for three nights and submitted his credit card details to guarantee his reservation. He arrived from the USA on 25 April, 2011. It was late at night and the office had already closed. Arrangements had previously been made to leave the door to his unit unlocked .

Within a few hours of arriving, the guest left the premises with friends or relatives who lived nearby. The following morning, the guest completed the guest registration form. He indicated that he wished to pay in cash and not by Visa.

He subsequently advised the manager that he wanted to stay with his friends or relatives instead of staying at the business. The manager advised him that he would be charged in accordance with our cancellation policy. The guest claimed that his unit was dirty. The manager and the cleaning staff inspected the unit however they found nothing to support his claim.

On his return to the USA, the guest contacted his bank and advised them that his card had been used without his authority and he requested that the charge for his accommodation should be reversed. The bank contacted us for our comments and requested copies of all documentation that supported the charge.
We submitted the guests registration form, invoice and terminal receipts.
The bank upheld the amount that we had charged.

As a result, the guest submitted complaints to TripAdvisor and he attached photographs to one of his complaints.

We have no way of knowing where or when the photographs were taken however the unit had been cleaned to a high standard prior to his arrival. It did not smell as the guest alleged. The sheets on the bed were new sheets. They had not been used by anyone else nor was there any hair on or between the sheets. We do not know if the guest found any ants but had he looked in the cupboard he would have found inspect spray.

We also dispute that the manager was rude or unhelpful.
Rather, it was the case that the guest did not like what the manager had to say.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Botany Downs hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

Well let see where do I start. We got in late due to traffic saw a note on the door saying go to room. No one even there to help out or even give us a key. When we got to our room I notice a weird smell which I dismissed do to rain that day. Then we started looking around and found ants all over the kitchen sink. I was like fine... it's a motel. Then after my shower I looked under the sheets to find Somebody else's hair in the sheets. I'm pretty fine with having ants but dirty sheets is a no go for me. Well anyways we left that night and when came back the next morning to inform then that we will not be staying there because of the dirty sheets and ants and of yeah the smell of the room the motel owner said that they would get nothing back and that I would have to pay for the full stay. Beware if to stay there. No helpful at all and it would have been fine if someone was there to check us in. I am not sleeping in someone's else's used sheets. If you stay here check for hair under your sheets

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joesomebody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostess09, Owner at Botany Motor Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
See response to 'Dirty Motor Inn (May 28, 2011)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

We have stayed a night at Botany Motor Inn, the place is an average motor inn. The owner was helpful and kind with us. The room is small and averagely furnished. I think it was a bit over priced -didn't get the quality what I was expected for the money we have paid.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorka77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

I stayed at the Botany Motor Inn with 2 colleagues for the purpose of a conference in the local Botany area. On arrival we found the female owner to be very pleasant and helpful, she assisted us with parking and told us about a few local attractions. Later on we were helpfully provided with more milk (as we had used it all) and assisted with using the wireless internet. The room was clean and had sufficient amenities. The only issue I had was being woken up a couple of times in the night due to traffic (as it is located on a busy road) but other than that it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheekyrelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

The amenities were average to okay and this would be fine if the lady (owner/operator) made you feel less like an inconvience than a person who pays her way.

She was most unhelpful and lacked knowledge when you asked her any questions. My husband helped another patron staying her with info on a rental car and we don't even live in NZ.

I won't be staying here again, and there are plenty of other motels in the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sindyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

The facilities were average. Effectively, the room was large but not a warm environment and the single beds underneath the window were uncomfortable due to the draft coming through. It appeared to be clean.

The problem with this motor inn is the owner/operator. The woman woke us up early - we ignored as we were sleeping, came back half an hour later, opened the door which happened to be unlocked (due to the early morning departure of one of our party to go to the airport), she then peered through the window and came back yet again, accusing us of having an additional person staying which was entirely untrue and had been explained upon booking. We left at 1015am, 15 minutes after the ideal time frame at which time she accused us of having people coming and going...It's a motel!!!! This lady spoilt our stay through her complete lack of understanding of customer service. There were no electric blankets on the two single beds and small things like tissues were not included. The word officious springs to mind.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NZKTKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Botany Downs
2.8 mi away
Howick Motor Lodge
Howick Motor Lodge
#1 of 2 in Howick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grange Lodge Motel
Grange Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Manukau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
6.3 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#13 of 23 in Mangere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Allenby Park Hotel
Allenby Park Hotel
#4 of 6 in Manukau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Academy At Botany Motor Inn
Academy At Botany Motor Inn
#1 of 2 in Botany Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dannemora Motor Inn
Dannemora Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Manukau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botany Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botany Motor Inn

Property: Botany Motor Inn
Address: 29-31 Kellaway Drive | Botany Downs, Botany Downs 2013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Botany Downs
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Botany Downs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Botany Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Botany Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing