We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its a marriott!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rio Hato
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“its a marriott!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

as you can expect it dose what it says on the tin!
fantastic rooms (Marriott bed) and grate views food and room service good quality the Sancocho starter is more than a started Loved it!
only grip was its a little quart! apart from that nothing to complain about!
valet staff fantastic had fruit and water in the car on our departure! 5 stars

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia02, General Manager at JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you...We love it when we get great reviews on trip advisor. We strive to add a personal touch and give the genuine and friendly service that hits the hearts of our guests. We’re glad that you had the chance to experience it for yourself. Come back soon!

Cordially,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    184
    66
    32
    30
See reviews for
256
333
7
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel was nice, but very isolated. It was expensive to travel to the hotel (although we had a local friend arrange to have a driver take us for $80, rather than the $160 charged by the hotels) and once we were there, there was no where close by where we could go to have an authentic Panamanian experience (ie, a meal or a drink). The food and drinks were pricey for food and drinks that were just OK. On the plus side, the staff was pleasant and accommodating. They even allowed us to look at several rooms before finding one that offered the privacy we wanted. We were scheduled to stay 4 nights and left after 2. If you want to see Panama, this isn't the way to do it. If you want to relax at the beach (any beach)-- this could the place.

PS, The bed was very soft (which is a problem for me) and you have to pay for wireless in the rooms and bottled water (I don't like this sort of nickel and diming)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMMeyer174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia02, General Manager at JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort. I apologize for your recent stay was not satisfactory.

We sincerely appreciate your valuable feedback which will help us in our commitment to continuously improve our products and services. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations.

Thanking you for your preference and looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Management,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I stayed for a weekend in July 2014. We found the staff highly attuned to insuring the guests pleasure. The facilities were nice, but considering the resort is not too old, the maintenance was not what it should be.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia02, General Manager at JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for your glowing review. It is so motivating to know when we touch the hearts in our guest’s experience and I am thrilled to see your stay was just that. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel was a great place to unwind and just relax on the beach. This is a beautiful hotel that also has luxury homes on the property. The rooms are so welcoming that there was a day we just did spa treatments, drank wine on the balcony patio and ordered room service. Great place to unwind with your significant other. The staff were very customer service oriented, polite and always made sure to check on how your stay was going.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia02, General Manager at JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for your glowing review. It is so motivating to know when we touch the hearts in our guest’s experience and I am thrilled to see your stay was just that. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Cordially,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We just returned from our Panamanian honeymoon at the JW Marriott and we loved every minute of our stay in Rio Hato. It was a perfect quiet, romantic getaway. We must admit though, it was a bit further than expected. With traffic the drive can take up to 2 hours and is not easy or cheap. That said, we spent one day exploring the city and the Pacific Adventures tour was very nice.

The pools were beautiful and the service was outstanding. We enjoyed the spa, fitness center and even played tennis and rode bikes around. One wish we did have was for more variety for dinner options. With the property being so isolated there are only two restaurant choices for dinner. That said, try the chocolate martini or passion fruit mojito -both are excellent! We loved our stay and will hopefully return one day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia02, General Manager at JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

On behalf of the entire JW Marriott Panama Family - thank you for your kind words- very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Cordially,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This weekend was our first time going to the JW Marriott since it changed owners from the Bristol
Hotels.
Pros:
The staff were extremely kind and helpful totally unlike most places in Panama.
The room was clean, comfortable and pleasant.
The breakfast include was good and there was a variety of things to eat.
Nice beach for walking and enjoying the warm tropical pacific.

Cons:

The pool area is in need of an upgrade and the recently added small pools were warm and appeared to need cleaning.
Not much for kids to do especially at night. They need a recreation room for kids to play pingpong, billiard, shuffleboard, or air hockey.
Food was average but not average price. Expect to pay a lot. I suggest going to the Deli-Gourmet located near the front of the hotel for snacks, water, coffee or to find other food options.
It is remote from many tours to other parts of the country. It is a good location if you want to visit
other beach areas or the nearby El Valle de Anton mountains.
Food and dessert proportions were very small especially for my teenage son.
Ask for kids menu and other meals available if the menu does not fit your family's food choices.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with an ocean view. May cost a bit more but it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brian329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia02, General Manager at JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dea Sir or Madam,

Thank you so much. We appreciate all feedback but of course a glowing review as yours is a real pleasure to see on Trip Advisor. Thank you for mentioning so many great points on our hotel starting with the staff, room, nice beach and the breakfast.

I would like to inform you that we have already taken measurements with the team to solve the areas of opportunities you experienced in our resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Cordially,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I just spent a weekend get away from the city, and this is the perfect place to relax, just 1:30 minutes’ drive, you can enjoy this beautiful property. Friendly staff, nice and comfortable room,
I have been with friends and family, and the hotel can accommodate our needs.-

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luhildebraguate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia02, General Manager at JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for your great review! It's great to hear that we have accomplished giving our guests a happy vacation! We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Cordially,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Hato
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Playa Blanca
8.0 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
19.1 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
3.4 mi away
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino
23.9 mi away
BlueBay Coronado Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort

Property: JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort
Address: 340 Calle 3ra Buenaventura | Cocle, Rio Hato, Panama (Formerly Bristol Buenaventura)
Region: Panama > Cocle Province > Rio Hato
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rio Hato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Pacific coast of Panama, Bristol Buenaventura is a luxury oceanfront destination resort and a member of Leading Hotels of the World. The resort sits on 1,000 acres of natural splendor, nestled between rivers, lakes, lush vegetation, and pristine beaches. Blending old world glamour and tropical elegance, the resort is reminiscent of a Spanish hacienda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Buenaventura Hotel Farallon
Bristol Bueneventura Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing