We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away in the Rio Hato marketplace”
Review of La Batea Restaurante - CLOSED

La Batea Restaurante
Price range: US$7 - US$24
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Our cuisine type is Fusion International but we use a lot of Panamenian flavor in our food. We use the best quality ingredients for the food, fresh seafood. We specialize in Seafood, but we have variety for all tastes.
Pullman, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tucked away in the Rio Hato marketplace”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This place was great! We went in on a Thursday night and it was absolutely empty. Had great local seafood dishes and the sides were fantastic. A little pricey (for Panama) but not by US standards.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PuppiesAndRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    6
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant with a great staff”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Rio Hato is sparse when it comes to restaurants and eating at the resort each night is boring. We came across this restaurant in the Rio Hato Mercado and weren't disappointed. Our waiter was extremely professional and attentive. The owner even came out of the kitchen to greet us and to go over one of the items we had ordered. The food came promptly and prepared to our liking, we had the fish fingers (homemade fish sticks), lobster and grilled sea bass. After the meal, the owner came back out and talked with us for ten minutes. It was definitely worth the 10 minute drive from the JW Marriott.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Platt95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sycamore, Illinois
1 review
“Don't let the location fool you.”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Amazing dinner! The location looks a bit scary being in a strip mall across from the airport but don't let that fool you. Everything was amazing. Scallop appetizer was great, they actually know how to cook them properly. I had the seafood plate which was amazing, Shrimp, clams, octopus & fish. My wife has the sea bass in coconut milk and loved it. Thanks for the great meal. 2-14-14

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service, amazing food! What more could you ask for.”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My partner and I have been to La Batea several times now and everytime it has been an amazing experience. The service and food has been first class every time. Our waiter was very helpful in every way, even when asked about the different dishes on the menu he was able to provide accurate details to all of our questions, which rarely happens in Panama. To top it off, each dish we have had the pleasure of trying have all been delicious and have always been prepared with amazing care in presentation. The chef/owner takes great care in ensuring that each dish is completed to perfection. I never write reviews, but I really wanted to share this gem with everyone as it is really worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raxx18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant, passionate about their food and customers!”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Its fantastic to have a great little restaurant like this right on our doorstep (Buenaventura) where the owner is passionate about his food as well as wanting to get to know his valued customers.

The restaurant is located at the brand new fish market, close to the (also) new airport at Rio Hato, which may not at first seem ideal, but they have done a lovely job of making a modern ambiance and atmosphere to have a nice meal. There are tables outside as well and because its set back from the road, is not noisy.

Christobal is a young chef who has trained in Switzerland and uses local food and ingredients, especially fish, to create an inspiring, delicious and varied menu. He loves to come and talk to the people who eat his food to find out what they think! (And its nice to be asked!). He speaks perfect English (as well as Spanish!).

We started with the Cerviche de Maracuja, which was absolutely delicious and a really good sized portion and then I had the Langostinos in an Indian sauce, whilst my husband had Pargo. Everything was tasty and cooked to absolute perfection including the rice! And the service was also second to none - something that is not always easy to find in Panama.

Keep up the good work Cristobal. We will be back to visit again soon!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GingerPanamaCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Batea Restaurante also viewed

 
Rio Hato, Cocle Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing