We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updating needed”
Review of Granby Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Granby Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northfleet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed for 1 night on route to our final destination. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room needed updating but was ok. The breakfast was excellent and ideal for our onward journey. You get what you pay for and this was good for the price it cost to stay. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamlewis62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2013

I stayed for three nights and was left with mixed feelings about The Granby. Whilst the staff were generally friendly and helpful, and the hotel clean, there were issues that made the stay disappointing. The room was noisy, the pillows provided very uncomfortable and worst of all the shower was a joke. A rubber hose to attach to the taps is not up to standards. It didn't work properly either, not something that helps when there isn't time to run a bath.
The breakfast was tasty but staff needed prompting to take the order and provide mugs for hot drinks.
I didn't feel refreshed in the morning, I felt dismayed at having another night there to deal with. Unfortunately, I'd only suggest staying here if somewhere better is unavailable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GranbyHotel_12, Guest Relations Manager at Granby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

Thank you for your review of The Granby. We are pleased that you were happy certain aspects of your stay. However, we' re sorry that you did not feel your room was suitable. I believe you were staying in the main hotel building and, as has been mentioned in other replies, these rooms have not yet been renovated. They are part of a rolling programme for improvements as we are aware they need updating. Our new annexe, Granby Lodge, provides recently refurbished and extremely comfortable accommodation and we intend to bring all rooms up to that standard. If a guest is unhappy with their room our staff are always happy to offer an alternative if available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very outdated rooms were terrible old windows so noisy. Room was cold, main lights did not work, bath had seen better days, would not ever stay here again. It is a typical hotel if desperate to stay somewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanman1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GranbyHotel_12, Guest Relations Manager at Granby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

We are sorry you were not satisfied with your stay at The Granby. Whilst the public spaces are regularly updated and our new annexe, Granby Lodge, has recently opened with completely refurbished rooms, the guest rooms in our main building have not yet undergone renovations and therefore may be outdated to some guests tastes. There is a rolling programme of improvements and soon all our rooms will be renovated. We are always happy to offer guests guests alternative rooms if available. Certainly if issues such as a light not working are reported to reception we would aim to deal with those promptly. Should you choose to stay with us again you would be very welcome and we think you would find one of our refurbished rooms comfortable and to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff and clean and tidy rooms for the price, decent meals also. Just a couple of issues which let it down considerably were that the shower was terrible it trickled out no power to it what so ever and the wifi signal was terrible the only thing ok about it was that it was free other than that the signal strength was absolutely shocking unless you were in the bar which we found quite frustrating.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Getmenewdigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

No traffic noise, although we were overlooking the road. All we needed for a good night's sleep; the beds were not too hard & the floors did not creak. In the bathroom the light switch was inside which is better for one's partner & the extractor was silent.
The staff were very helpful & the meal was very good & reasonably priced. There is a garden deck outside the lounge. We would certainly go there again

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamelahasler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I've stayed in the granby hotel for 8 weeks, it is a nice simple hotel with polite staff and clean rooms. Perfect for digs when working away, Food is served behind the bar is nice and fresh and fair prices. Would definitely stay here again and recomend anybody to use this hotel.

Dean Smee Manchester.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deansmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Very small, minimal, quite dirty. Someone had booked it on my behalf and had paid for breakfast to be included too. I was told by the receptionist that I didn't have breakfast included. Wouldn't recommend!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
2  Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GranbyHotel_12, Guest Relations Manager at Granby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

We are sorry your experience of staying at The Granby did not meet your expectations. It is only when a customer lets us know that something is wrong that we can put it right so thank you for bringing the confusion over the inclusive breakfast to our attention. Please be assured that the hotel is undergoing a rolling process of improvements and we constantly strive to improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northfleet
2.8 mi away
Best Western Manor Hotel
Best Western Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Singlewell
264 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#1 of 1 in Shorne
545 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Gravesend Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Thurrock East Hotel
Premier Inn Thurrock East Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Thurrock
399 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mercure Dartford Brands Hatch Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
Ibis London Thurrock
Ibis London Thurrock
#1 of 2 in Grays Thurrock
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granby Hotel

Address: Nr. Ebbsfleet International 1 The Hill | Gravesend, Northfleet DA11 9ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Northfleet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northfleet
Price Range: £52 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Granby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granby Hotel has recently been refurbished. There are 36 comfortable, good quality rooms (mostly en-suite) ranging from single to family occupancy. Our Hilltop restaurant is open nightly, along with our Bar. Free Sky and free Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel. Free car park and disabled access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Granby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granby Hotel Gravesend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing