We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent staff very welcoming and helpful”
Review of Granby Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Granby Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northfleet
Certificate of Excellence
Gravesend, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent staff very welcoming and helpful”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Myself and husband held our wedding reception here in september we were very happy with the staffs 'can do' attitude nothing was to much, we had a sit down meal for 50 and the chef coped really well with such a large party the food was great we didnt have one complaint from any of our guests, We then had a buffet for 120 people again the chef did a fab job, we was worried that the venue would not b big enough but there was plenty of room, again the staff made sure everything was perfect for us, we also had a room included in the price it was a lovely double room, with great facilities over all we had an amazing time and would like to thank the granby for everything the did for us... would def reccomend

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    37
    14
    6
    15
See reviews for
25
50
11
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Londond, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Myself and my son stayed at the granby in July 2013 although the staff were friendly and welcoming and the restaurant and reception areas were well presented the rooms themselves left a lot to be desired. The room was extremely small with only approximately 3 ft of floor space between the beds. As the room was downstairs you could hear every noise from the restaurant and kitchen above. The room looked grubby and outdated and was in serious need of redecorating. The flooring in the bathroom was stained and dirty looking, the shower was old and barely worked as there was no water pressure, and dirty, badly grouted tiling. Parts of the door frames were falling apart and rotting at the bottoms. And the poor excuse for a shower curtain just left the bathroom flooded after using the shower. The only redeeming feature was the excellent staff and customer service and a lovely outdoor, decked area. Breakfast was included but this was average at best. All in all we couldn't wait to leave and won't be staying here again.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel at the end of August. The room was an ensuite which was tiny and had no mirror which as I was staying their for an occasion this was essential for getting dressed.
The room was very hot and during the night I opened the window and it was very noisy. The walls near the bed had splashes on it of liquid which made me feel sick. In the morning I could not have a shower or brush my teeth as the bathroom was dirty with the wall tiles and flooring looking like they had never been cleaned. I decided to have a shower at my own home later in the day. Breakfast was the only good aspect of this hotel and some staff were friendly but not completely helpful as I did not get an issue I raised resolved. I WAS ALSO UNHAPPY THAT I HAD TO PAY FOR THE ROOM ON ARRIVAL AND NOT WHEN I CHECKED OUT. Due to the condition of the room I could only stay one night not the 2 nights which were paid for. £55 per room is not good value.

This hotel rooms including the bathrooms need a serious and immediate renovation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank De E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

we booked a double luxury room turns out room 2 is far from it.
things seemed ok till i turned hotel inspector the 2 chairs in the room were once white but now the covers were dirty and covered in marks on one of them there looked like there was blood on the cover.
the en suite was tiny you could brush your teeth whilst you were sat on the loo if you wished but to be honest i would of prefered not to go near the sink or bath the taps on the sink were old the cold tap had a broken top and the paint had started to flake around the plug hole in the bath also in the bath was hair from the last people to use the room the floor tiles were cracked and looked dirty and the toothbrush holder cup had not been washed because there was gunk in the bottom of it.
the 'double' bed was actually 2 single beds pushed together the headboards were covered in dirt and stains.
the curtains were covered in stains as well.
as for the complementary breakfast if you are a veggie expect to only have beans on toast or just toast or cereal they offer sandwiches with ether egg or bacon and sausage my other half had a full English and he said it was ok but not the best.
the room was quiet apart from the odd sound of some one flushing the loo in the next rooms.
but the most grimiest thing i saw in the room was a bogy on the window and it was not small and had been there a long time.
i would strongly urge people to give this place a miss as it is not worth the 64 pound a night at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GranbyHotel_12, Guest Relations Manager at Granby Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that your experience of staying at The Granby did not meet your expectations. We take the cleanliness of our rooms very seriously as we know it is important to our guests. Please be assured that we are constantly checking our procedures to ensure standards. We take on board your point about vegetarian breakfasts and will be reviewing our menus with this in mind. The rooms in main building of the hotel will be undergoing a full refurbishment starting in October 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We spent the weekend at the Granby Hotel on the 6th,7th July, We had read the reviews after we booked and was worried by some of the negative comments. When we arrived we were very surprised that none of those bad comments were true. In fact we found the Hotel to be very clean, tidy and well equipped for what was a very relaxing weekend. The staff couldn't do enough to help us and always took the time to make sure we had everything we needed. The food was very well prepared and in our opinion had a good selection to choose. One particular member of staff who prepared our breakfast was Lesley, she was wonderful and nothing was to much trouble. For example Lesley prepared my breakfast according to my taste and was more than happy to make sure we had what we needed. and did so with a warm and friendly manner. Me and my partner have decided to make this hotel our accommodation of choice every time we want a weekend of relaxation. So we thank The Granby Hotel staff for making our time there very happy and relaxing. well done to you all. Its friendly, warm, inviting, clean and comfortable.

Thank you from

Stephen Cathersides and partner

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed for 1 night on route to our final destination. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room needed updating but was ok. The breakfast was excellent and ideal for our onward journey. You get what you pay for and this was good for the price it cost to stay. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamlewis62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I stayed for three nights and was left with mixed feelings about The Granby. Whilst the staff were generally friendly and helpful, and the hotel clean, there were issues that made the stay disappointing. The room was noisy, the pillows provided very uncomfortable and worst of all the shower was a joke. A rubber hose to attach to the taps is not up to standards. It didn't work properly either, not something that helps when there isn't time to run a bath.
The breakfast was tasty but staff needed prompting to take the order and provide mugs for hot drinks.
I didn't feel refreshed in the morning, I felt dismayed at having another night there to deal with. Unfortunately, I'd only suggest staying here if somewhere better is unavailable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GranbyHotel_12, Guest Relations Manager at Granby Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thank you for your review of The Granby. We are pleased that you were happy certain aspects of your stay. However, we' re sorry that you did not feel your room was suitable. I believe you were staying in the main hotel building and, as has been mentioned in other replies, these rooms have not yet been renovated. They are part of a rolling programme for improvements as we are aware they need updating. Our new annexe, Granby Lodge, provides recently refurbished and extremely comfortable accommodation and we intend to bring all rooms up to that standard. If a guest is unhappy with their room our staff are always happy to offer an alternative if available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northfleet
4.1 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#4 of 5 in Gravesend
490 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Manor Hotel
Best Western Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Singlewell
245 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Overcliffe Hotel
The Overcliffe Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gravesend
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London - Dartford
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Dartford
Travelodge Dartford
#6 of 7 in Dartford
200 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ibis London Thurrock
Ibis London Thurrock
#1 of 2 in Grays Thurrock
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granby Hotel

Property: Granby Hotel
Address: 1 The Hill | Gravesend, Northfleet DA11 9ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Northfleet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northfleet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Granby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granby Hotel has recently been refurbished. There are 36 comfortable, good quality rooms (mostly en-suite) ranging from single to family occupancy. Our Hilltop restaurant is open nightly, along with our Bar. Free Sky and free Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel. Free car park and disabled access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Granby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granby Hotel Gravesend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing