We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Granby Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Granby Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northfleet
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Very welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Staying here for two weeks until I find myself a flat as I've moved down to Kent for work. Was slightly sceptical due to the various reviews on here but I can say I have never felt more welcome. The staff have bent over backwards to accommodate me and are genuinely interested which is very rare from hotels. The room is absolutely spotless and is cleaned every single day. Breakfast is fantastic as is dinner at night, Bob the chef does a fantastic job!! If you're staying here I wouldn't take the other reviews as something to go by. This is a lovely, friendly, homely hotel and I'm pretty gutted to be leaving. Will be back for some of that Sunday roast!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    35
    12
    6
    14
See reviews for
21
46
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Welcomed by very helpful & competent staff who explained that the hotel was undergoing some refurbishment. I was shown to my room which was very nicely fitted out. The room was very quiet, and the facilities first rate. Breakfast excellent in quality & quantity.I would definitely stay again.Only peculiarity was the bar closing at 10pm. However a good pub is opposite if you want to drink a bit later!

Room Tip: This hotel very quiet during my stay and the rooms I saw spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This is not a hotel , it's a dirty halfway house and also used by sleazy men working away from home and on hookers. Never again as it's dirty and run down on a main road. The kitchen is old run down and frankly filthy and everything cooked from frozen.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aparent77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I am becoming convinced that the only rooms that are offered on "Late Rooms.Com" are those rooms that the hotels have had problems with in the past. In my case, the room was directly below the dining room, and a wooden dance floor. You can imagine trying to sleep when the night staff are laying tables for breakfast in hobnail boots at 1.30 in the morning. I had to get dressed and go upstairs to complain, and the poor lad didn't even realise that he was causing a problem. Doh!
This hotel is not cheap, and it definitely ain't cheerful. The one positive was the food, which was very good value for money, and tasty. As to the hotel, the outdated decor, and multi-coated paintwork, would make this a good candidate for a 70's museum piece. I've stayed in better Youth Hostels, and at a quarter of the price!
The clientele are chiefly construction workers, so the place comes across as a bit rough and ready. If you are a bloke on your own on, and on business, this place is just about acceptable. I would certainly not take my friends and family.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Visited the Granby for two nights. From the moment we stepped through the door we were treated with kindness and courtesy. Nothing was too much trouble. We were shown by the manager to the annex. When we arrived there he looked at my partner and said there were too many stairs to climb to the room we were booked into so if we waited he would find us a lower room. We were shown into an immaculately clean room. Apologies were made that major refurbishment work was being carried out to the hotel so some disruption may occur. We never noticed it. Breakfast next morning was a delight, a beautifully decorated and furnished dining room with a cooked breakfast probably the best I have tasted in a hotel. Evening meals were the same, an excellent choice of quality food. My partner arranged a 70th birthday for me at very short notice for the following night. The amazing staff performed miracles and even produced a beautiful birthday cake. An excellent hotel with staff who always go the extra mile. I shall certainly be staying there again on my next visit to Kent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petercrawf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I booked 1 night in a hotel down the road through bookings.com unfortunately they had over booked so arranged a room here. My initial thoughts were of terror as had read the terrible reports while searching for a hotel. As I was working near by and it was just one night I thought I'd risk it.
I must say I was very pleasantly surprised! The room I was in had been refurbished to a good standard, the service was excellent with the manger going out of her way to assist. I had a breakfast in the morning and didn't need to eat all day! The area isn't pretty and I wouldn't be rushing back for a romantic weekend but it's very good value and clean should you be working in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mozzyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Travelling with my daughter we booked via Lastminute.com as we acquired tickets late in the week for an event at Brands Hatch the following day.
Arrived at hotel at 9pm and after much furious clicking on a mouse the receptionist, who was actually quite nice and apologetic, told us that that the lad who was on the desk earlier in the day didn't understand the booking system and a room had not been allocated.
She offered us a discount and apologised for the mix up and showed us to our room.....in the basement.......below car park level...with rattling steel windows.....horrific traffic noise....and fumes.....radiator so hot you would end up in A&E if you grabbed it for more than a second.....(even though it was a very warm night and no sensible person would have had the heating on to start with!)
Room generally was very grubby.
Daughter suffers from sinus problems so the only thing this room could guarantee is that she would wake up with a banging headache the following morning if we stayed there.
Got on the LateRooms iphone app, demanded a refund and bailed out to Ramada Encore at Chatham ......

Room Tip: Rooms in alternative hotels are probably better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevH1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GranbyHotel_12, Guest Relations Manager at Granby Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
We are sorry that your visit to The Granby did not meet with your expectations. We are currently undergoing major renovations to the main hotel building as part of an on-going programme to improve our standards. Wherever possible, depending on availability you can speak to hotel staff who would allocate your booking to an alternative room. In respect of you booking in experience we will address the matter with refresher training for all our staff members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northfleet
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Gravesend Central Hotel
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dartford Bridge
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Manor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Singlewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Gravesend (A2/Singlewell) Hotel
6.8 mi away
Mercure Dartford Brands Hatch Hotel & Spa
6.6 mi away
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granby Hotel

Property: Granby Hotel
Address: 1 The Hill | Gravesend, Northfleet DA11 9ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Northfleet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northfleet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Granby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granby Hotel has recently been refurbished. There are 36 comfortable, good quality rooms (mostly en-suite) ranging from single to family occupancy. Our Hilltop restaurant is open nightly, along with our Bar. Free Sky and free Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel. Free car park and disabled access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Granby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granby Hotel Gravesend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing