We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Club Med Itaparica
Nearby Hotels
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hit Hotel(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sol Barra(Salvador)
US$61
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Marazul Hotel(Salvador)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bahia Do Sol(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Novo(Salvador)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,468)
Filter reviews
2,469 results
Traveller rating
1,245
760
298
96
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,245
760
298
96
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolplace is beautifulgolf coursecircus teamall agestake carelunch and dinnershows at nightsports activitieswonderful experiencepalm treeschef de villagelocal staffgreat friendsthe air conditioningmy favoritea lot of fun
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 2,469 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We visited this Club Med site in order to go to the Carnival and also to visit the churches in the old town. None of the travel books we read tell you the churches are boarded up during Carnival so that was a miss. We visited the Carnival on the Monday with an organised trip with Club Med which was a wonderful experience and, importantly for us, security was as high on their agenda as it was ours. Traffic both in Salvador and queues for the ferries was horrendous.
The Club Med site consists partly of a golf course and sports area which is very attractive with lots of trees. The other part is a lagoon on which, and next to which, is the accomodation-again very nice. There is a nice pool on the beach with views across the sea to Salvador.
Most of the other guests seemed to be Brasilian which was a problem for us as we do not speak Portugese-there were quite a few families-Ma,Pa, children and grandparents which made for a very pleasant environment round the pool.
Accomodation was fine but not luxurious (no problem for us) and the food in the restaurant was very good and on a par with the best of the Club Meds we have visited (we are habitues ).The staff were all very nice ( but then Brasilians are lovely people) albeit not many spoke English. We will be back !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Still one of my special places on earth.

Special thanks to circus chief Tal! passionate soul, professional and enthusiastic with all ages, all the team too, gracefully talented Gisele, unbelievable tenacious catcher Thiago and quick learner young promise Mathias!

Thanks Jesus on improving my tenis and Ruben great teaching golf technique.
Great place for first steps on sailling.
Humble advice: why not adding capoeira lessons!!?

Chef Hendel seemed such a wonderful beeing, unluckily I just met him on my last night when he came back to the village. Anyway, great Go staff in all areas!

Careful with Andes airline! Totally worth the trip to this Bahia island though. Great weather and energy, the place to enjoy with friends or family and improve or learn lots of sports with amazing cheerful loving people and teachers.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
Thank Natalia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Me and my fiancée went there this last January and we will certainly go back. This is a resort full of activities, so it is perfect for people who easily get bored of just lying on the sand during their holidays -- which is my case. You can practice different sport throughout the day in a beautiful, paradisiac place and you can also learn different ones. But if you are a laid-back person, who enjoys to spend the day just chilling out, that's a place for you too, although I believe the strength of the resort is the varieties activities they offer.

The resort, managed by the utterly charismatic Hendel Duplessy, puts a big effort in bringing everybody together. They succeed in building some bonding among the guests and between the guests and the crew, without being pushy or awkward. Doing this is not easy. They also strive for having different entertainment and food all the time, like barbecues during the day and dinner under the coconut trees during the night. So it is hard to get bored. We talked to people who had been there for 2 weeks and wanted more.

On the other hand, you may find some of the rooms a bit aged. This was a bit of a surprise for me at first, but it didn't bothered me much. The rooms are still comfortable and there was so much fun going on in the hotel that I didn't spend much of my time in the room anyway.

Room Tip: Try to stay as closer as you can from the reception, otherwise you will have to walk quite a bit, as the resort is pretty large.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danilo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I have been to Club Med 2 times in Italy, 1 time in Spain, 2 times in Greekislands, 1 time in France and 1 time in Thailand since my first child was 2 years old, on and off, all at different Club Med for summer holidays. Now my children are 20 and 15. This time i went with my 15 years old Sophie to Itaparica to spend our Christmas and New year there, it was really wonderful!!!

If you choose to go to Club Med, you almost know what you will get and will not get.
Itaparica is about the people, nature and the energy;
From the GM Hendel, the Sports GM Carlos, the Circus school Head Tal to the rest of the GO, and the local people working at the club restaurants and rooms, they all work more than 100% with beautiful smiles and great hospitality....
The nature around the Club is not spoiled at all, the sea, the lake and the tropical plants, trees, sand, grass and the gentle wind........with sunshine, almost 29-30 degrees every day :-)))
Both Sophie and i were so sad to leave.

The only thing i didn't do before going to Itaprica from London was to book a Transport service from the club to be picked up. it's really vital to book for people going there for the very first time !!!

PS: it's a great club for the teenage children, and a very SPECIAL place to spend the New Year's Eve too, if you have already did in NEW YORK, LONDON......and places with mountain covered with snow.

Room Tip: room with see or lake view
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minzi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We went to spend Christmas there together with my wife, 2 kids (7 & 4 y-o) and in-laws. The place is really very nice, with all kind of resources for you to enjoy (tennis courts, archery, flying trapeze, football, basketball, a very comfortable swimming pool from 0,7m to 1,90m depth... etc) everything in excellent condition. The bar and restaurants are very good too, with a good variety everyday. But the very best thing comes from the people working there. It's amazing how the GM Hendel is always into every single detail, no matter how insignificant it may be, he will take care. And the same thing with everyone else there. Everybody is 110% dedicated to let you have the best experience possible, and make you always feel their #1 priority. The Circus School Team is one-of-a-kind! Tal, Thiago, Lucas "Luquinhas" and Giselle are really impressive performers, great professionals and amazing, patient teachers. You can't miss their show at night or their classes during the day. It's an awesome experience!! When it comes to sports, Carlos will make sure that you enjoy them all. Everyday there will be a different activity for you to have a great time and even learn new sports that you wouldn't be able to practice somewhere else. All of them in one place, just perfect. It was our first time in a Club Med but will certainly not be the last!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hernan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews