We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to Leave”
Review of The Old Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Villa
Ranked #6 of 12 Arrowtown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We have just spent a week staying at The Old Villa, with June and Arch, how lucky were we to be put onto this wonderful homestay. Arrived to find a small family & friends bbq had been planned for the evening which we were duly invited to, great start to a great week. The house is as warm and friendly as are the host,. nothing too much trouble for them to make your stay enjoyable.

Main street of Arrowtown just a pleasent couple of minutes away, thats if you don't get waylaided by looking at all of the beautiful gardens on the way Pretty little mining town were you can spend an hour or days to explore, plenty to do in the area. Short drive to Queenstown.

We couldn't have found a better place to stay , we will miss the wonderful breakfast June provided for us and the humour of Arch
in the mornings just set our day.

Room Tip: Double room has a lovely outside area overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

We came upon this B&B after walking around Arrowtown looking for a place to stay. They were not actually accepting guests at the time as they had had family visiting for an extended period. These folks were so kind that they let us call around to other places and finally, June simply said, "You'll stay here." They went out of their way to ready a room for us, a very lovely, comfortable and clean room. We have never been treated so well. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and the conversation lively and interesting. I left a diamond earring behind and they were generous enough to ship it back to me at home. We just loved them and their hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraveleroutofNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We had a wonderful welcome and stay with June and Archie. Lovely home cooked breakfast, and great jam. A superb home built to very discerning standards. Great hosts with much good humour. We would love to return one day.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sapdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

we had a great time in arrowtown - in fact, we fell in love with it! - such a great community and pretty town with amazing history. June and Arch looked after us so well and made us one of the family. We were more than welcome to invade their private space as well as have our own when we needed it! - Arrowtown is a gem and not to be missed. Lake Hayes and mountain walks give a lot of scope for those wanting to take exercise, but the town offers the best coffee, shops and museum for those wanting to just chill out. Do visit the Old Villa for charm and also to meet a special couple who are so much a part of the local community and are also part of the Arrowtown Miners Band - if you havent heard them play then you have a surprise in store!

Do visit if you can,

Room Tip: a lovely couple, nothing is too much trouble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sally w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Quaint, thoughtfully decorated B&B. Located in the heart of Arrowtown but within a tranquil garden setting. Spotlesslessy clean and comfortable rooms. June and Arch were wonderful hosts and made many thoughtful touches such as welcoming drinks and shortbread in rooms. Delicious home make breakfast that sets you up for the day. Great value and will definitely stay again in the future.

Room Tip: Blue room is spacious and comfortably accommodates three adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley4530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Old Villa just after Christmas and the quality of the accommodation along with the hospitality of the hosts surpassed our expectations. Arch and June could not do enough for us. They treated us like family members and were so generous with their hospitality. The house is beautifully designed in ethnic planter style. It is both cosy and tasteful. Both June and Arch make a great variety act with June tickling the ivories and Arch always rising to the occasion as the raconteur par excellence!! In fact we could hardly ever tell when Arch was being serious ! We delighted in the culinary skills of June and having breakfast with both of them gave us a great start to each day. In fact it was always hard to leave the breakfast table. Indeed when we left The Old Villa it was just like leaving home - we even shed a tear on our journey away from the house. We can't wait to return to June and Arch who certainly deserve the highest praise for the service they provide.
Don't pass up this B&B with its lovely rooms and great hosts- you are guaranteed a quality and standard that is very difficult to come by in this day and age. We have travelled to over 27 countries and memories of this accommodation will never leave our hearts. We still talk about our evenings spent chatting with June and Arch and it was always so lovely to retire to a beautiful bed with lovely sheets at the end of the evening. We spent 5 nights here and could easily have spent another 5! Nothing was too much trouble. This B&B made our holiday!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeddahJeddah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I, with my wife and my daughter stayed in Old Villa on Sept 10, 2011.
It was a really nice experience to stay there. Spacious room with a touch of antique decoration. Electric blanket is provided for the double bed.

We had a time to chit chat with the lovely owners and they gave us the nice homemade biscuits. And again, in the morning the very nice and yummy breakfast are served.
Location wise, it's close to the city center.

Booking is very easy since the owner is very responsive to the email that we sent.

Will love to see the opportunity to visit this place again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momonsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arrowtown hotels
0.2 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
New Orleans Hotel
New Orleans Hotel
#4 of 5 in Arrowtown
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Settlers Cottage Motel
Settlers Cottage Motel
#4 of 12 in Arrowtown
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arrowtown Lodge
Arrowtown Lodge
#5 of 12 in Arrowtown
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shades of Arrowtown
Shades of Arrowtown
#3 of 12 in Arrowtown
164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arrowfield Apartments
Arrowfield Apartments
#1 of 12 in Arrowtown
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Villa

Address: 13 Anglesea Street, Arrowtown, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Arrowtown
Price Range: £59 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The Old Villa 1*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing