We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A total joy”
Review of The Old Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Villa
Ranked #6 of 12 Arrowtown B&B and Inns
Wellington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A total joy”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed for one night with June and Arch and were enchanted by the home, the company and the food. The Old Villa is just five minutes walk to the centre of town. Breakfast was an astonishing array of home cooking and organic food from their garden. We warmly recommend others to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebsG09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
38
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Lovely b&b with beautiful garden. What really makes this place so special however is the hosts, June and Arch, both really interesting and friendly and great to chat to. Breakfasts were fantastic, homemade bread, great fruit and jams etc... Added bonus was that a couple of mornings we even got eggs despite being told that it was only a continental breakfast. Arrowtown is a great place to base yourself away from the hustle and bustle of Queenstown.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nj_ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Our 2 night stay with June and Arch exceeded our expectations - we had a most wonderful time! The Old Villa is a charming, peaceful retreat away from the bustle of Queenstown. We enjoyed getting around the table to share a beautifully prepared breakfast with our hosts and to engage in some friendly banter! We were made very welcome and appreciated their warm hospitality and the willingness to go the extra mile to make our stay very special indeed. We would love to stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topsy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We have just spent a week staying at The Old Villa, with June and Arch, how lucky were we to be put onto this wonderful homestay. Arrived to find a small family & friends bbq had been planned for the evening which we were duly invited to, great start to a great week. The house is as warm and friendly as are the host,. nothing too much trouble for them to make your stay enjoyable.

Main street of Arrowtown just a pleasent couple of minutes away, thats if you don't get waylaided by looking at all of the beautiful gardens on the way Pretty little mining town were you can spend an hour or days to explore, plenty to do in the area. Short drive to Queenstown.

We couldn't have found a better place to stay , we will miss the wonderful breakfast June provided for us and the humour of Arch
in the mornings just set our day.

Room Tip: Double room has a lovely outside area overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We came upon this B&B after walking around Arrowtown looking for a place to stay. They were not actually accepting guests at the time as they had had family visiting for an extended period. These folks were so kind that they let us call around to other places and finally, June simply said, "You'll stay here." They went out of their way to ready a room for us, a very lovely, comfortable and clean room. We have never been treated so well. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and the conversation lively and interesting. I left a diamond earring behind and they were generous enough to ship it back to me at home. We just loved them and their hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveleroutofNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We had a wonderful welcome and stay with June and Archie. Lovely home cooked breakfast, and great jam. A superb home built to very discerning standards. Great hosts with much good humour. We would love to return one day.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sapdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadhurst, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2012

we had a great time in arrowtown - in fact, we fell in love with it! - such a great community and pretty town with amazing history. June and Arch looked after us so well and made us one of the family. We were more than welcome to invade their private space as well as have our own when we needed it! - Arrowtown is a gem and not to be missed. Lake Hayes and mountain walks give a lot of scope for those wanting to take exercise, but the town offers the best coffee, shops and museum for those wanting to just chill out. Do visit the Old Villa for charm and also to meet a special couple who are so much a part of the local community and are also part of the Arrowtown Miners Band - if you havent heard them play then you have a surprise in store!

Do visit if you can,

Room Tip: a lovely couple, nothing is too much trouble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arrowtown hotels
0.2 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Arrowtown Lodge
Arrowtown Lodge
#4 of 12 in Arrowtown
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Settlers Cottage Motel
Settlers Cottage Motel
#5 of 12 in Arrowtown
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arrowtown Motel Apartments
0.5 mi away
The Arrow Private Hotel
The Arrow Private Hotel
#2 of 12 in Arrowtown
184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arrowfield Apartments
Arrowfield Apartments
#1 of 12 in Arrowtown
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Villa

Property: The Old Villa
Address: 13 Anglesea Street, Arrowtown, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — The Old Villa 1*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing