We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wee bit of France”
Review of Bonjour

Bonjour
Ranked #14 of 41 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$22
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Have a French Breakfast and try the fresh and simples dishes of France's everyday cuisine in a relaxed environment for Lunch. You have to try our original French Cheese Fondue. Enjoy our fresh Crepes made in front of you. Visit our "Epicerie" with fresh baked Baguette, Croissants, Pain au Chocolat and other pastries. Have a look in our retail shop and try our French Cheeses and other French specialties. Enjoy the French way of life!! Opening hours: Open 7 days a week from 8.30am for Breakfast & Lunch till late afternoon. Early start at 8am on Saturdays & Sundays. PUBLIC HOLIDAYS OPEN Groups and functions welcome
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wee bit of France”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stopped for a pastry and felt like I was in Paris, I looked at the menu and regretted I had not found it before lunch as the options looked great.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gillbr233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    127
    28
    28
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Bonjour et tres bonne journee!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Beautiful french corner in Arrowtown. Amazingly french french breakfast in the stunning views of New Zealand. Worth scaping your regular hotel breakfast to have it at Bonjour and have a great day after that - une tres bonne journee!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosa2026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Authentic French”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This place is vastly better than most of what you get as a tourist in Paris and is very authentic with real French staff. We tried the chicken liver salad for an entrée, which was very good. They put an amazing dressing on the lettuce. Also had snails, and would have had frogs legs if they were on the menu but sadly they weren't. For mains a seafood vol au vent and camembert fondue, which was actually a melted whole cheese. I think they need to rethink the last dish, as a lot of melted cheese is very rich and oily and quite hard to finish. Maybe use half the size of cheese and add a lot more of the berries, which went very well with it and would help balance the oiliness. Or actually make it into a fondue, which is more what we expected.

We tried both red and white house wines, and both were excellent. On the way out bought a couple of macaroons, and these were also excellent. Would like to go back - recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeterSandgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mortlake, Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Had potential but just didn't deliver.”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We stopped here to have lunch while we were visiting Arrowtown.
The place has potential, genuine French atmosphere and looked like a good option.
My wife's crepe came out almost immediately and was well and truly finished before anyone else's lunch arrived. Everything else took a VERY long time and clearly some was reheated in the microwave. We did get an apology for the delay but the food was only mediocre so it was a bit of a disappointment all round really.
The sign in the window says they're seeking a new chef. I reckon that's a good start.
Only ok here, not really impressed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geoffdemanser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lafleurArrowtown, Owner at Bonjour, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thanks you very much for taking the time to write a review on Bonjour. I remember your visit vividly, (you've been sitting on our courtyard Saturday late afternoon). I would like to answer to your comment.
First I would like to apologies again, that your food took half an hour to come out. I just had a look at our till history, between your order and your payment was exactly one hour!
At this time as you've seen, we had been very busy. An other reason why it took time, was that we DON'T use a microwave!!! All your dishes have been made "a la minute" (Pasta, 2 x Soups, Fries, Fish Fingers ect). So please, don't claim something , if you don't know about it!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Le petit dejuner”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Fabulous brunch. Lovely service with staff who were prepared to listen to our poor French. Beautiful to eat pastries that taste like the real thing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bonjour also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Bonjour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing