We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't help but be charmed by the themed cottages”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Settlers Cottage Motel
Ranked #5 of 12 Arrowtown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Although we were rather weary of the "heritage" tag used to describe tired 1970/80/90's decor throughout NZ, this place does heritage in the true sense of the word so well done them! You couldn't help but be charmed by the attention to detail; the lavender hedges and wicket gates giving a real cottagey feel. We stayed 2 nights and really enjoyed the Chinese settlers village plus the absolute soaking (yes really) we got when we went for a day's walking up "Big Hill" and it is big! We were made to feel very welcome, we had everything we needed to get warm and cozy and we have fond memories of Arrowtown and our stay at Settlers Cottage Motel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deucenz, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2011

Thank you for your comments and we appreciate that you took the time and effort to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2011

We were in a 1 bedroomed unit which we found drab, dismal and looked in need of some TLC. Some areas were dusty and the cutlery drawer was dirty. It was cold at night and first thing in the morning and there was no heater apart from a night storage heater in the main room. There was also no heater in the shower room.
There was no wardrobe or storage space for clothes other than a coat stand so we had to live out of our suitcases.
The kitchen area was tiny with no storage space for food apart from the fridge which was noisy and kept us awake at night.
This motel compared badly to all the others we used in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mazdaman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deucenz, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2011

Thank you for your comments, I would like to correct you on several things, you actually did not stay in a one bedroom cottage you stayed in a Studio Cottage ( our cheapest cottages).

The large Night Store heaters keep the Studio Cottages very warm even during the coldest winter months so I am not sure how much heat you require in late summer. All the cottages were refurbished in Oct and Nov 2010 ie re-varnsihing, wall paper and paint etc maybe you don't understand cottages, all our marketing says "Styled in old World Charm".

During our summer months people can turn the fridges up to max and they have to work overtime to keep the fridge that cold, a simple solution is to turn the setting from 7 down to say 3 or 4 and the noise will go disappear.

Prior to your comments there are 12 others and 2 after yours, given that yours is the only Poor rating out of 15 i think it is clear to readers where the real problem lies!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

The Proprietors, Pete and Michelle, couldn't be more gracious and accommodating. The 2 room cottage was fabulous for me, my husband, and my Mom. Charming decor, comfortable furniture, excellent location just slightly off the main street, extremely close to Arrowtown golf. Roomy and sunny. Separating water closet from bathroom is a terrific design for extended families. Small intimate group of cottages felt so welcoming. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Let's start by saying that this is a nice place to stay that is operated by a very nice and helpful man named Pete and his family. We stayed here for several days over Easter and found the lodgings to be extremely comfortable and well-located for an easy walk into town. We liked the fact that the motel is somewhat removed from the immediate downtown area with its tendency toward some traffic issues at times. The rooms, which others have described as "quaint" are probably that, at least. However, we didn't find the decor over the top and thought it was in keeping with the motel's "theme". Please see my photos for an accurate rendering of the room we had. The beds were comfortable, the bath average and clean, and the kitchenette small but adequate. Everything worked fine, including the heat on a chilly night. Pete was helpful, entertaining and a wealth of information. We enjoyed seeing his family about the place as we came and went. We did use the laundry and found it adequate, if not ultra-modern. I even provided Pete with some entertainment of my own while he watched me determinedly erect one of the laundry drying racks that are available. The housekeeping here is immaculate, the management is approachable and helpful. The rooms are not the Ritz but fun and comfortable, if a bit dark (in our case). I can heartily recommend this place, especially since Pete enthusiastically responded to several emails about our booking and schedule changes when several other places in town did not even have the courtesy to reply to our initial enquiries. Thanks, Pete!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teds300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

My friend and I stayed at this motel four years ago when visiting Arrowtown. We enjoyed our stay and the friendly owners....so....when we were travelling again this year we booked from Perth because it was school holidays and we didn't want to miss out.
We wanted a quiet place where we could have some relaxation time and a motel close enough to be able to walk into town.
The owners were just as friendly and helpful as on our last visit. The room was clean,warm, and comfortable and we had everything we needed to make our stay an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chez1149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

We have stayed at Settlers each summer for 7 of the past 10 years - from 2 - 4 weeks each visit. The motel is ideally located for access to Arrowtown, Queenstown, Cromwell, Wanaka, etc.

The cottages are charming, roomy and very comfortable - the cost also is most reasonable. Pete and Michelle Townsend, who run the motel, are delightful, fun, kind and most helpful.

We have recommended Settlers to a number of friends who have been very happy with their experience. To prove our point, we are planning to return next year!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GandCNaperville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deucenz, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2010

George and Chloe, thank you for your kind words, we look forward to seeing you again next summer ( your winter) and of course back into your favorite cottage.

Pete and Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

My wife and I visited Arrowtown in the spring of 2009. The Settlers Cottage Motel was a delightful, friendly and quaint place to stay and stage from during our visit. As the name implies, it has the feel of stepping back in time to a place less hectic than today's busy world. The rooms were comfortable, well equipped and tastefully decorated in a rustic way that fit in perfectly with the pioneer feel. The abundant trees and shrubs around the property, were in full bloom adding even more charm, further enhancing the atmosphere. The layout of the rooms allowed for plenty of privacy yet afforded the opportunity to interact with other guests in so desired. The short walk from the Cottages to the main street of Arrowtown was pleasant through a peaceceful residential neighborhood. We found the to be managers, Peter and Michele to be easily accessible, friendly and a wealth of information on things to see and do during our stay. Their recommendations on places to eat in the region, including Queenstown were spot on every time. If you have the good fortune to visit the Arrowtown area in your travels, add a stay at the Setters Cottage Motel to the top of your list.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianheadhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arrowtown hotels
0.2 mi away
New Orleans Hotel
New Orleans Hotel
#5 of 5 in Arrowtown
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arrowtown Motel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Shades of Arrowtown
Shades of Arrowtown
#3 of 12 in Arrowtown
166 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arrowfield Apartments
Arrowfield Apartments
#1 of 12 in Arrowtown
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Cottage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Cottage Motel

Address: 22 Hertford Street, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Arrowtown
Price Range: £77 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Settlers Cottage Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst a 1/2 acre of beautiful cottage gardens, the cottages all have an "Old World Charm" but with all the modern amenities you would expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Settlers Cottage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing