We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hosts - Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Settlers Cottage Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Settlers Cottage Motel
Ranked #5 of 11 Arrowtown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Hosts - Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Not only is Arrowtown a beautiful place to stay (much nicer than Queenstown) this is a little gem.
The hosts are extremely friendly and helpful and can point you in the right direction for pretty much anything - the hosts are locals.
The rooms are spacious and well equiped (there is a seperate laundry room) though you could argue they need a bit of updating in decor terms but that is also part of the charm.
Off street parking and friendly dog and cat too.
There is every possibilty we will be back next year and will look to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bluetax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    31
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
39
71
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We found Settlers Cottage Motel on the internet and were looking forward to staying here. We were not disappointed. Our 2 bedroom cottage had plenty of room for our family with comfortable furniture and warm and comfortable beds. It even had a separate toilet from the bathroom. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook a meal. My kids loved the trampoline and rock wall to climb. They also loved borrowing the gold pans and going gold panning - and yes they found specks of gold! The location is a quick walk into town and the many beautiful restaurants Arrowtown has to offer. The owners are lovely and friendly and gave us a great recommendation to visit Pesto Restaurant in Arrowtown. We loved Arrowtown and we loved staying here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scjr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

From the website, I thought Settlers Cottage looked cute, but when we got there, cute is an understatement. I felt like I was transported to a different place. It's such a beautiful cottage! Everything is clean, well equipped, very spacious and the facilities are all handy. We had an amazing time here. Keep it up!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deucenz, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Thank you for your comments, we have spent a lot of time making sure our web site truely shows Settlers Cottage as it really is, and we hear a lot that although our web site is great, the end product is so much better. Once agin thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West .Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Lovely presentation from exterior which is carried through interior. Clean, well located, within 5 mins of main street . Has well equipped kitchen & furnishing touches adding to the charm of the exterior plus laundry facilities available at reasonable cost. Owner, Pete an expatriate Aussi was on hand with advice on restaurants & quick to sort out our ignorance on T.V. setup.Arrowtown has been our town of choice on 2 visits in recent years, in lieu of Disney like Queenstown only 15 mins drive away.We extended our 2 nights to 3 on this visit & thoroughly commend Settlers Cottage Motel. Among the top lodgings of 15 used during our travels in November . Spend a dollar at The Stables Restaurant for a memorable meal of quality & a little less at Willow Restaurant next to tavern on street below main street.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deucenz, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
I am so pleased to see your comments and as you are regular contributor to Trip Advisor, this makes your positive comments mean even more. We work hard at keeping everything upto a good level for our guests and having Arrowtown and the surrounding mountains etc as our backyard does make it all that much easier, hope to see you back again soon.

Pete and Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

I stayed here with my family this September for 2 nites and it was just so beautifull, it was clean, tidy, the room had everything you needed. Heating, electric blankets, a laundry room, there is even a swing set and a tramp that my kids enjoyed using. The gardens were amazing so were the owners, they were very friendly, recommened what we could do , places to eat and visit with little kids. Town is only a stones throw away . Everything was so easy from making the booking to checking out, there where no problems at all. I would highly recommend for anyone to stay here. I look forward to returning hopfully in the very near future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaJessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deucenz, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
Thank you so much for your feeback, as it is so positive we even love it more!!!

It really is appreciated.

Regards,
Pete and Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

we stayed here and it was fantastic .... stayed an extra night so pleased... went panning for gold in river...... did our laundry in motels washer room got it dried and ironed (motels iron etc) in 1 hour...nice stroll to town centre...visited Shantytown later in our travels but Arrowtown is the real thing !!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123etheldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

The entire process from booking to departing was seamless, thanks to the brilliant customer service offered by our host (including providing a BBQ at short notice on a 1 degree night) The rooms are well equipped, nice and warm with electric blankets on all beds and have a nice homely feeling which is great for a 5 day stay like we had. The only small suggestion I would make would to provide a better clothes drier, it was a bit slow! Other than that very minor thing our stay was perfect, we will be back, next time in Spring to see a different side of Arrowtown as it was covered in snow for most of our stay this time.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hallett505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arrowtown hotels
0.3 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
New Orleans Hotel
New Orleans Hotel
#5 of 5 in Arrowtown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arrowtown Motel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arrowtown Holiday Park
Arrowtown Holiday Park
#1 of 4 in Arrowtown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shades of Arrowtown
Shades of Arrowtown
#2 of 11 in Arrowtown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Cottage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Cottage Motel

Property: Settlers Cottage Motel
Address: 22 Hertford Street, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Settlers Cottage Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst a 1/2 acre of beautiful cottage gardens, the cottages all have an "Old World Charm" but with all the modern amenities you would expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Settlers Cottage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing