We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Settlers Cottage Motel
Ranked #4 of 12 Arrowtown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2013

stayed 1 night and wished we stayed longer the reception was friendly and helpful.
The location is a short pleasant walk into the main shopping area there is a number
of excellent eating spots to choose from,the cottage has all the amenities that we required
and is in a wonderful garden setting.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolm h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deucenz, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

It feels so good to hear from guests who take the time to write something positive, it is very easy to write nothing when you have enjoyed your self but so easy to be a complainer .

Your fantastic comments are appreciated and we hope to see you back agin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2013

We spent last week at The Settlers and we are glad we chose to stay in Arrowtown instead of Queenstown. The Settlers Motel is peaceful on a quiet road and is an easy walk from all the things to do in Arrowtown. Our one bedroom unit was sunny and warm with a lovely view of the hills.Thank you Pete and Michelle for making our stay so enjoyable we will be back, give Harley a hug from me.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogandbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Stayed in the 2 bedroom 2 bathroom cottage. It was very comfy with all amenities we expected. The table and chairs under the tree were a lovely spot to have a drink in the evening and it was a very short walk to the main street. The host was very friendly and helpful. Would recommend it to anyone that likes a personal touch.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

This was the 2nd time we have stayed and once again were very happy. Great location as very handy to the township and all amenities, lovely cool room to help cope with the sunny sunny days and fabulous friendly service from the owners who were willing to help out in any way. Will definitely stay again!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawktoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with this lovely one storey small motel not far from center of Arrowtown. We had a one bedroom that had a daybed and a sofa in the lounge kitchen area. The daybed was next to huge windows overlooking a border of roses and lavender and the perfect place to curl up with my book with a cup of tea after wandering through the shops. The bathroom is not large, but everything else was more than adequate. Loved the thoughtful touch of having the ceiling light in bedroom activated by wall switch or cord hanging at head of bed. No street noise at night as bedroom at back of unit. It was clean, bedding crisp, smooth and bed very comfortable. Would absolutely stay here again. We arrived at 1:00 pm but were given key and allowed to drop odd stuff for fridge even though unit was not completely ready, this was very much appreciated. It meant our wine was chilled when we returned!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We have just returned home from a 4 night stay at Settlers Cottage in Arrowtown. Our 1 bedroom unit was roomy, very well equiped and clean. Many thanks to Pete & Michelle for being so friendly & helpful and a special thanks to Harley who made it even more special!!
We have always stayed in Queenstown on previous visits to the area but after staying in Arrowtown that is where we will stay from now on & wouldn't stay anywhere but Settlers.
Well done guys for winning your court case. What planet is 'Beware' on, you are not on the main road so apart from the odd car going past as is normal there was no traffic noise at all. He should also have read the cancellations policy as is the norm for any motel/hotel. Keep up the great work and see you again one day (maybe to collect Lexie).

Room Tip: We stayed in Cottage 6, would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathrynh937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deucenz, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you so much for your fantastic comments, we are really happy you enjoyed your stay so much, for those who don't know Harley is our puppy and I think Katherine was going to take him home with her!!!! Good luck with Lexie.......

See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

What a GREAT place to stay, the setting is gorgeous, the rooms are immaculately clean & tidy, the units are peaceful and quiet, and the hosts Pete & Michelle couldn’t be more helpful, what a lovely couple. I travel to NZ on business regularly and will now make Settlers Cottage my regular place to stay when in the area. I look forward to another glass of Red with Pete & Michelle out in the gorgeous garden.
I’m totally perplexed with the “Beware” review below, my stay was wonderful and the sleepy little village of Arrowtown has no traffic or noise.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onthebeachat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deucenz, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thank you so much for your fantastic review, we are so pleased when our guests appreciate the quality and service we offer, even if it is a glass of red wine!!!!!! It is a unique position we have with the main road to Cromwell only a couple hundred meters away and yet incredibly peaceful and quiet where we are located. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
0.3 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
8.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arrowtown Lodge
Arrowtown Lodge
#5 of 12 in Arrowtown
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arrowtown Motel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Shades of Arrowtown
Shades of Arrowtown
#3 of 12 in Arrowtown
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Cottage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Cottage Motel

Address: 22 Hertford Street, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Arrowtown
Price Range: £78 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Settlers Cottage Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst a 1/2 acre of beautiful cottage gardens, the cottages all have an "Old World Charm" but with all the modern amenities you would expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Settlers Cottage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing