We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“""" ALWAYS A PLEASURE """”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Settlers Cottage Motel
Ranked #5 of 12 Arrowtown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2013

As a regular visitor to NZ on business, I always make a point of staying with Pete & Michelle, I love the cottages and friendly atmosphere, there is something about sitting on the veranda under the Wisteria and lavender bush's with a bowl of Pete’s home-made Pumpkin soup, overlooking the the beautiful cottage gardens. I always look forward to coming back.. Highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onthebeachat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deucenz, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Thanks Col for once again taking the time to put something on Trip Advisor, it is always a pleasure to have you stay, maybe i should learn how to make a different style of soup.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

Very cute cottage. Very roomy. Felt a bit musty. Could do with an upgrade of some items ...bedding....pillows etc. The kettle had clumps of mineral build up. Crt TV also had fuzzy reception. Owner was lovely. A little more love and attention to detail these cottages would be great.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WonderWoman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deucenz, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you for your comments, It is always difficult when people want to pay a three to four star rate for a motel but want 5 star accommodation, which of course is impossible to do as an operator..

The white stuff in the kettle you talk about is lime, once the kettle is boiled the lime can calcify, it is a problem all over Arrowtown, we put Citric acid in the kettle but as soon as the next jug is boiled it is back again. It does NOT hurt you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights recently and had a superb stay. In February we had stayed at the Rees in Queenstown for almost 3 times as much and in my opinion this place is much better. Next time we come to Arrowtown we will stay here.
It is about 100 metres to the main street, so location is everything. We were very comfortable, the location is very quiet, we had a sitting room and a bedroom and never heard our neighbours..

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janmaddox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We have just spent a week staying at Settlers Cottage Motel and did not want to leave! The location is fantastic - it is close to the centre of Arrowtown and up on the rise from the Buckingham St so it gets lots of sunshine and wonderful views of the Autumn tree-covered hills surrounding Arrowtown. The service/helpfulness provided by Pete was fantastic - thank you so much for making our holiday a marvellous time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynSylvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

A charming motel which is comfortable and very convenient being a few minutes walk from the town centre. We would rate it excellent but for a few minor points that took the shine off- the minimalist crockery and cutlery - if you want to entertain any visitors make sure they bring their own- and small sachets of UT milk rather than the usual fresh milk that most motels provide on arrival. A notice proclaimed that in keeping with the motel's "clean green image". towels will only be changed if left on the floor in the shower however, when we left hand towels on the shower floor as instructed these were ignored. On the day we left, reception was closed until 10.30 am which suggested a rather lackluster approach to service? Overall, though, a nice place to stay and good value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deucenz, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Peter, Thank you for your mostly positive comments, I would like to clarify a couple of points, yes there is UHT milk in the fridge and if you had asked for fresh milk we could have supplied it for you if that is what you need, there is enough cultery and crockery for 4 people and as the Studios only sleep a max of three I would have thought that was enough and the table only seats three people... I remember your bath mat and it was half on the floor and half in the shower so we were not sure what you wanted.

Apologies for 10.30 opening, it is not a lack lustre approach as you stated but I had to take my 9 year old son to a sporting event in Cromwell (30 minute drive away) and could not get back until 10.30, there was also a note to call me on my cellphone if there was and emergency ie, not enough cultery etc....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this charming accommodation. Settlers is located on a quiet, peaceful road in Arrowtown with only a short walk to the cafe's and restaurants in Arrowtown. Our 1 bedroom 1 bathroom cottage was charming with modern amenities coupled with olde world charm. Sunny and warm and very clean. Hosts Pete and Michelle very welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RodneyInvercargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deucenz, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Thank you Thank you and Thank you, we are so pleased you enjoyed your self.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

stayed 1 night and wished we stayed longer the reception was friendly and helpful.
The location is a short pleasant walk into the main shopping area there is a number
of excellent eating spots to choose from,the cottage has all the amenities that we required
and is in a wonderful garden setting.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolm h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deucenz, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

It feels so good to hear from guests who take the time to write something positive, it is very easy to write nothing when you have enjoyed your self but so easy to be a complainer .

Your fantastic comments are appreciated and we hope to see you back agin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
0.2 mi away
New Orleans Hotel
New Orleans Hotel
#5 of 5 in Arrowtown
137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arrowtown Motel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Shades of Arrowtown
Shades of Arrowtown
#3 of 12 in Arrowtown
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Queenstown Holiday Park & Motel Creeksyde
0.2 mi away
Arrowtown Holiday Park
Arrowtown Holiday Park
#1 of 4 in Arrowtown
144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Cottage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Cottage Motel

Address: 22 Hertford Street, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Arrowtown
Price Range: £77 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Settlers Cottage Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst a 1/2 acre of beautiful cottage gardens, the cottages all have an "Old World Charm" but with all the modern amenities you would expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Settlers Cottage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing