We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Settlers Cottage Motel
Ranked #5 of 12 Arrowtown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Lovely”
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Arrowtown and staying at Settlers Cottage Motel. Our room was lovely and clean and comfortable. It was in a lovely quite setting and in easy walk into town. The owners were very friendly.

We were there for a wedding at Millbrook and was also able to arrange a shuttle to and from the wedding. Bike tracks were great.

This was our first stay in Arrowtown and will be back and will be diffently be staying at Settlers Cottage Motel. Would recommend this motel to everyone.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kobejohn, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
It is great that you took the time to give us the positive comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay, Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    30
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
41
70
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

We only had one night here which was a huge shame.

The accommodation is lovely, very comfortable and in a good location being only 5 mins walk from the town centre.

Its not ultra modern or high tec but that's the charm. You get all the facilities you would need and its lovely and quiet.



Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bananabiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kobejohn, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you so much for the great feedback, it is truly appreciated..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

There is a window that is held open by a 4" block of wood. You cannot open it any further or close it. It is the ONLY ventilation for a fairly large room, without leaving a door open. The bathroom is really tired looking, but clean. The kitchenette is adequate and the mattress is better than most. The carpet is a little creepy (I wore flip flops the whole time) and there are virtually no outlets without unplugging lamps or appliances (evidence of failure to modernize or recognize how people travel nowadays). Maybe the owners think this is a good way to pay homage to the settlers/miners whose history is evident in Arrowtown.

Personally, I have a more utilitarian view of hotel accommodations - they need to be comfortable and functional above all else. On that count, this place fails.

Room Tip: We were in a cottage with a queen bed and a futon/sofa. I did not see the other accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbranman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kobejohn, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
While Cottages are not a style that suit everyone it is pleasing to us that your opinion is in the minority , I apologized for the window as I am waiting for new springs, it is difficult to keep everything old and original. Not sure what to say about Flip Flops and the carpet as I just find that very strange.... Oh I counted the plugs in the cottage and there is 7, so not sure how many is needed and in case you missed the latest LCD TV and Sky Television ( Just a couple of modern amenties we put in as owners). Maybe a modern bland motel would be more suited for your needs.........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Very comfortable accommodation in garden setting. Hosts couldn't be more friendly and made our stay very enjoyable. They advised us of all the key places to visit and how to get there. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue_fournel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kobejohn, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you and we hope to see you back here to stay here again, Thanks, Pete and Michelle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Beautiful setting in December (when we stayed) with roses in bloom all around the Settlers Cottage. The lovely hosts were friendly and abiding. Very attractive manchester and linen and appealing furnishing. Cute and homely accommodation.

Room Tip: Any room will do; they're all lovely. all grond floor and easy access -- even for wheelchair
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed in this motel for 2 nights few weeks ago. Thought I would choose a cottage style accommodation to reflect Arrowtown. It fitted the atmosphere of Arrowtown perfectly.

The room has a double bed and a single bed and has more than adequate room to move around for the three of us.The decor is of a style that reflect the olde world. There is cooking facility for simple meals.

The front door opened out to a porch framed with wisteria. It was very peaceful and quiet despite fronting the road.

The motel is within a very short walk from the main streets of Arrowtown. The evening walk was lovely and sedate with all the day trippers gone for the day.

I would not hesitate to recommend this motel for its location and value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MYquem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Settlers Motel. The first time was great and so was the second. We were in town for a 50th party with no car so staying at a nice and well located motel was mandatory. Pete is super friendly and welcoming, the rooms have that old style cottage charm, and the motel is perfect for a walk into town or the river. There is also nice sunny garden seating outside your rooms with great views of the surrounding central otago hills, perfect for a wine before wandering down into town for dinner. A must for visitors to Atown.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
8.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
11.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arrowtown Motel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Arrowtown Lodge
Arrowtown Lodge
#4 of 12 in Arrowtown
32 reviews
1.4 mi away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Cottage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Cottage Motel

Property: Settlers Cottage Motel
Address: 22 Hertford Street, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Settlers Cottage Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst a 1/2 acre of beautiful cottage gardens, the cottages all have an "Old World Charm" but with all the modern amenities you would expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Settlers Cottage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing