We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless - a highlight of our trip to NZ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
UK
1 review
“Faultless - a highlight of our trip to NZ”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Difficult to add to existing comments. This is by far the best small hotel/high end B&B we have ever stayed in. The welcome, room, canapes and breakfast were just faultless. A memorable hotel in a memorable little town - why stay in Queenstown when Arrowtown is so close?

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SilverStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
82
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I loved everything about this place. As everyone mentions, the food is just exquisite. I was also very impressed with the rooms themselves. They were comfortable and stylish. I can honestly say that, having travelled extensively all over the world, I have never slept so well in a hotel room as I did at Arrowtown House. Welcoming, beautiful.... I hope I can go back!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
384 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

If you want to know how good a small, family-run hotel can be, then this is the place to come. The owners, Steve and Jeanette, are experienced hoteliers (this is their third hotel in the Queenstown area) but they have lost none of their enthusiasm and drive in that time. Their wonderful boutique hotel is within 5 minutes walk of the centre of Arrowtown, a far more attractive and quieter alternative to its brasher and much larger neighbour.

Steve's particular skill lies in ensuring that every minute of your stay is put to good use. My wife stayed here for 6 days but for 5 of those I was elsewhere, walking the Milford Trail. Months before we arrived he was offering a host of suggestions as to what she might do in my absence and making bookings on her behalf without asking for any kind of deposit. Then, when on arrival some of her plans were curtailed by cancelled trips, he rang around numerous other local outfits to come up with suitable alternatives. He could not have done this more assiduously had this been his main form of employment whereas, in fact, it is just one of the many services he offers his guests. Even as we tried to pay our bill and leave, he was promising to chase up a local shop if our goods didn't arrive promptly in the UK whilst simultaneously making sure that we took the most scenic route to our next destination.

Jeanette is equally hospitable. She devises some of the most innovative, filling and delicious breakfast menus we've ever encountered and every day produces some wonderful baking for an afternoon snack. In the evening, before guests go out for a meal at one of the many restaurants or cafes nearby, she provides the kind of substantial snacks that make you regret that you can't eat dinner at Arrowtown House, More like tapas than anything else we tried in New Zealand, scallops, mussels and meatballs in various forms all featured during our stay and were all delicious. While one is trying hard not to eat everything in sight, Steve meanwhile plies you with large glasses of excellent New Zealand wines with spirits, beers and soft drinks available if preferred.

The actual hotel has 5 guest rooms situated in a separate building to the main house. (A couple with a crying baby were actually re-located there during our stay when another guest complained that his sleep was disturbed - yet another example of the hosts going the extra mile.) The large and beautifully decorated foyer contains a mountain of DVDs, books, board games and umbrellas to cover every eventuality. Each room has an apparently random number which is dictated by a tag retrieved from a now-defunct railway carriage - the kind of quirky but memorable detail which typifies the whole hotel. Our room on the ground floor (no. 47) had a small and very private porch giving on to a tiny garden - an ideal place to relax with a glass of wine on a warm evening. The main room was very large with sufficient space for separate cooking and relaxing areas. It contained a micro-wav and fridge while a jar of home-made cookies took care of those yawning gaps between afternoon tea and pre-dnner snacks. The bathroom was spacious and well-designed, with large shower and tub.

Steve and Jeanette's home epitomises what one hopes to get from a stay in a 'boutique' hotel and so rarely does. It is both elegantly decorated and furnished whilst also very comfortable and is one of the nicest places we have stayed anywhere in the world. It is also ideally situated for the myriad activities in the Arrowtown/Queenstown area. Leaving was hard but we are already looking forward to returning in a few years' time on our next trip to New Zealand.

Room Tip: Room 47 is spacious and private. It has a small porch and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaDolceVita27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We were so happy we decided to stay in Arrowtown rather than Queenstown, and specifically, at Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel.
The room was clean, quiet, comfortable, with a small private garden. It also had an in room washer and dryer.
The host, Steve, was really pleasant, and more than ready to help with planning any activity.
The breakfasts were truly amazing, with a choice of two starters, and 3 main courses. Delicious! Also, there seems to be an amazing pastry chef on staff - little snacks in the room, little extras at breakfast, all helped to elevate this property well above average.
And it is an easy walk to the main downtown of Arrowtown - such a nice break after the really busy Queenstown atmosphere.

Room Tip: We were in room 77. I would absolutely recommend this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suec89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

What a gem of a place! Just a flying visit to the area for us but we loved every moment of our stay with Steve and Jeanette. They have thought of everything and were very welcoming - also mines of information. As for the breakfast? Amazing. Thanks guys, we would love to come back.

Room Tip: Not sure about the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane59_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

My wife and I had never been to the South Island before and were expecting to enjoy our stay in Queenstown much more than tiny Arrowtown. We couldn't have been more wrong! Our stay at Arrowtown House was the highlight of the trip, and much more enjoyable than touristy Queenstown. Jeanette and Steve were excellent hosts and impeccable cooks. Do not miss the happy hour munchies or the fabulous breakfasts! Our room was spacious and quiet, with everything we needed including washer/dryer and great wine and snacks. And the town itself (a minute's walk away) is charming and fun. Also close to fantastic wineries and restaurants. We will be back next year with the whole family. Thanks Jeanette and Steve!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jason m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southland
Level Contributor
244 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Steve and Jeanette are excellent hosts. Our room was spacious and had everything we needed and more including a stocked mini bar, home made cookies and plunger coffee. We were offered drinks and canapes with the other guests on the evening of our arrival and sat in the garden watching the tuis flying around. The breakfast menu is changed every day and is a 3 course event if you want it to be. Freshly squeezed juice, followed by delicious fruit option - poached stone fruit and yoghurt on our first morning, then a cooked option done in a variety of ways and beautifully presented. There is complimentary use of a laptop for checking emails and a washing machine and dryer in the bathroom if you need it.

Room Tip: If you are quite tall the upstairs rooms might not suit you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZTraveller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
7.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
9.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
10.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
10.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,096 reviews
1.2 mi away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel

Property: Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
Address: 10 Caernarvon Street, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners "Worlds Best Award", Winners NZ Tourism Award. Voted #3 New Zealand Hotel for Romance. A memorable visit guaranteed. When you think about it, many Queenstown Hotels are quite similar. Location differentiates them. Consider then the many advantages of staying in Queenstown's historic precinct of Arrowtown - one of NZ's most charming neighbourhoods Globally, the historic precincts of cities are recognized as desirable hotel locations. Why? Well, as cities heave & grow to the horizon becoming homogeneous in the process, the historic precincts become more attractive for the character & charm they retain. Authentic, relaxing & peaceful describe the ambiance. Established following the discovery of gold 150 years ago, today you'll discover a sophisticated neighbourhood reflecting echoes of the past. If you are interested in New Zealand's history & distinctive culture, you will discover it here.....not in New Zealand's cities. New Zealand is unique in that the best luxury accommodation is not found in chain hotels. Are you looking for somewhere special for your vacation? Are you passionate about fine cuisine? This precinct promises you a mecca of unforgettable dining experiences including 'Saffron' restaurant rated in the 'Worlds Top 100' by Conde Nast Traveller & Amisfield Bistro voted 2014 New Zealand Winery Restaurant of the Year. You'll be seduced by the quiet neighbourhood charm. Discover cobblestone lanes leading you to explore galleries, fashion, brew-pubs, tapas bars, cafes, groovy bars & an art-house cinema. All only 2-min walk. Dining is so much more enjoyable when you don't have to drive. True luxury is a state of relaxation. We're sure you'll agree as you stroll home under the moonlight. Country atmosphere | City convenience. A perfect balance. At hub of 100 km Queenstown Trail - Nga Haerenga, the NZ Cycle-Hike Trail, meandering lakeside to artist's studios & vineyards. Trail rides & road cycling tours arranged. Bike hire available. Accommodation is luxury. Outstanding South Pacific cuisine is a feature. Chef-Owner Jeanette Brough is the winner of the 2013 NZ Vegetarian Dish Challenge ...... "superb & done with panache, this place is a treasure". Food & Wine Editor, NZ Life & Leisure. Only 15 minutes from downtown-Queenstown, but a world removed. As you relax & wind down in comfort we will not be surprised to hear you comment that the attractions of downtown are not so attractive! When you learn that 21,000 vehicles traverse Queenstown's main street daily, you'll be convinced to linger. We have thought of everything you need and added some special treats to ensure your ultimate vacation. Arrowtown House has only six guestrooms. Book now to avoid disappointment A wonderful location, stylish accommodation & innovative cuisine await you. 7-min to entrance Coronet Peak Ski Resort, 7-min to Onsen Japanese outdoor hot pools, 3-min to The Hills Golf Course - Home of NZ Open, 3-min to Millbrook Golf Course, 10-min to AJ Hackett Bungy, 10-min to Gibbston Valley Central Otago Wineries, 10-min to Rabbit Ranch Bike Resort, 10-min Shotover Jet & whitewater rafting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing