We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours
Ranked #11 of 18 things to do in Arrowtown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Southern Explorer is locally-owned business, focusing on quality, service and flexibility. Join our experienced local guides on 4WD scenic half day tour, guided walk, or overnight camping adventure into the high country areas of Skippers Canyon, Macetown, Arrowtown or Glenorchy. Travel along roads carved by hand from the steep canyon walls, drive into remote valleys through narrow gorges and view beautiful lakes to discover the history of these once bustling gold rush regions of old. Discover the history, explore the heritage and be amazed by the breath taking scenery. Visit our website for details and how to book on our specific day tours.
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We went on two half day trips to Paradise and Skippers Canyon with Fran as our guide. She is a true LOTR geek and showed us the filming sites for both LOTR and the Hobbit around Paradise and even shared some stories about meeting some of the cast and crew. The weather wasn't in our favour during the Paradise tour but the rain brought out the Middle Earth effect...you don't need an active imagination to start seeing elves and orcs, and walking trees in the forest. The highlight for us though was Skippers Canyon. It snowed during the night so the mountains had fresh snow and when we were up in the Canyon there was snowfall! Coming from a tropical country, this was just added bonus. Fran was also very patient with us and stopped the 4WD whenever we wanted to take shots and we didn't feel rushed. The pancakes and hot cocoa for elevenses were also very good, just what we needed for the two cold mornings. Highly recommended!

1  Thank Purplefrog40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

Best half day trip we could have asked for. Adin was our guide, well versed in history, geology as well as funny and witty insight to the countryside. We did the half day Skippers Canyon tour. Drove us in his Range Rover through rivers, gullys and over mountain tops. Very private tour. We are adventuresome and independent, but absolutely no way we could have ventured this far and accessed this kind of scenery and countryside without this type of guided tour. Well done, even had a snack of "pikelets" at the end of the drive. Adin you're welcome to join us in Alabama anytime and visit our "fainting sheep".

Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A M, Owner at Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Hi Tracey, thank you for the awesome review!. It was a pleasure to spend the morning with you and Bill. As for the fainting sheep, I think they must be a bit like Skippers Canyon, you have to see it to believe it!. I look forward to being amazed! All the best, Adin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

A great morning spent going to skippers. It had snowed the day before and the scenery looked a picture. Aidens commentary was very informative, and we had a lot of stops to look and take photos.The picnic was great. Would advise anyone to do the same trip.
Also did the bike ride from Arrowtown to Kawerau Gorge and return. Was a great experience, especially as we hadn't ridden bikes for 30 plus years.
Thanks for the bikes

Thank Dallas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A M, Owner at Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Hi Charlie and Dallas, thanks for joining me to Skippers Canyon. Some say its more spectacular than Milford Sound. Having also guided at Milford Sound, I would say they are on par to being the 8th wonder of the world! It was great to see you both on the bikes at Arrowtown Bike Hire. Just goes to show, riding a bike is like falling off a log, you never forget how! All the best and look forward to showing you Macetown next time your in town. Adin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We had an awesome trip to Glenorchy and Paradise Valley with Adin which was filled with plenty of stunning photo opportunities, interesting stories and plenty of humour. It was a wonderful trip to see a part of New Zealand that we hadn't seen before, it was simply breathtaking. We highly recommend Southern Explorer for excellent service - this is a trip not to be missed. Viv

Thank Vivienne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A M, Owner at Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Hi Viv, thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. It was fantastic to meet you and share a bit of our local knowledge. Its always fantastic to see kiwis exploring their own back yard. If you where blown away by the scenery, imagine how blown away people are when they visit from overseas and dont live in this beautiful country! I look forward to showing you around some other great spots in the future. Kind regards Adin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Visiting from UK, I'm not one for all the tourist hype, but Aidin & his trusty Defender 110 will not disappoint if you like 'off roading', wading rivers, a bit of 4x4 'rufty tufty', good midday picnic grub, in a mix with plenty of Kiwi humour. An excellent & unhurried trip up to Macetown, with lots of information en route, with plenty of stops & time to look around.

Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A M, Owner at Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thanks Rob for the great reveiw! Look forward to sharing another adventure with you soon. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing