We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, warm hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Arrow Private Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Arrowtown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Comfortable, clean, contemporary rooms in Arrowtown -- simple lines, open design, spacious, WiFi included. The owners are gracious and warm, providing a very welcoming atmosphere. We had drinks by the fire and our glasses were never allowed to go empty. Breakfast is excellent and delivered to the room right on schedule. And when we were thinking of driving to town to bring back some pizza one evening instead of hitting a restaurant, the owner called the pizza place, jumped in his car and picked it up for us.

Service far and above what we were expecting, which made our stay a very pleasant one. We'll most certainly be back.

Room Tip: Modern design, concrete floors, large glass windows, open floor plan, large bath, firm mattress, fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NathanBranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theming, Owner at The Arrow Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

Meeting interesting fun guests like yourselves is what makes running this property so much fun. We try and look after our guests in the same way we would like to be treated!
Thanks so much for adding some room tips. They are a great snapshot from a guests perspective. Thanks for your business and we really look forward to seeing you again at The Arrow in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

This boutique hotel is a fantastic discovery for any couple or individual looking for a place to be superbly taken care of in the beauty ofCentral Otago. Arrowtown is nestled between Queenstown and the road to Wanaka and close to many fine vineyards. The rooms are individually appointed with a great deal of thought, care and attention to the fine details that make such a stay luxurious and effortless, a true chance to relax.
The owners are personally involved in the day to day running of the place and it really shows with no service being too much trouble including retrieving you from a local restaurant if you feel like enjoying the wine menu. They appear to be available 24/7 and the friendly and gracious attitude is almost as good as the beautiful bath in our unit. I would happily recommend the Arrow to anyone looking for an escape to a beautiful place, everything was what we had hoped for,

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orthodocnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

For people wanting boutique go no further than "the Arrow Hotel" so close to Arrowtown but far enough away for privacy and animity .. Modern in every sense of the word it is a fantastic alternative from a resort or chain hotel .. Very personalized service from the owners who stayed as close or as far away as you required .. The unique breakfasts were something else as was the bath after a days skiing .. Without giving too much away you will be pleasantly surprised with your stay at The Arrow.. Could not recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaihekeSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We had 4 nights here and it was a real treat! the views are breathtaking especially from the bath with a Central Otago pinot and Gibbston Valley cheese! The meeting and greeting evening was special with drinks and delicious nibbles. Tim and Paulette went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. They even made a special trip to get my favourite bread for breakfast! The rooms are very well thought out with lots of space, snug underfloor heating and a double nozzle shower. We would reccommend to anyone looking for a luxurious break away.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greenkandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I loved staying at The Arrow!!!

The rooms were amazing! They were built and designed perfectly for people of all different ages and needs.
The beds were comfortable and neat, the bathroom was spectacular and the breakfast provided by the hotel was delicious.
As a 16 year old boy I loved having a big TV, my-sky, a playstation 3 and an infinite amount of Coke in my room.

Tim and Paulette are both amazing hosts and people, and looked after me and my dad well. Paulette even gave us classy haircuts :).

I truly had an amazing time in Queenstown and Arrowtown, and a huge chunk of that was because of the amazing hotel and friendly service that Tim and Paulette provided.
I am already saving up to come next year.

See you soon

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j4kebenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theming, Owner at The Arrow Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

It was great to have you and your dad stay with us on what was obviously an amazing adventure for both of you. We do our best to keep in room entertainment up to the max for those very few days when you just can't get out of the driveway (without chains) or when you are 16 and that's just what you wanna do!.

We'll remember you by a very special 'first' which you helped initiate during your stay. Those were the first ever cocktails made at 'The Arrow' with snow. It was clearly a very ecofriendly and innovative approach to creating the ultimate refreshment. We can see your entreprenurial skills will take you far.

Your dad and yourself are welcome back any time and we'll be looking forward to your annual snow trip too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

The rooms at The Arrow Private Hotel were just lovely, Bed very comfortable, we did find the room a bit cool for the middle of winter, (we had cold feet) a nice little gas fire in the room would have made things better. I also thought that the tea and coffee could have been in a nice container rather than in the packaging.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theming, Owner at The Arrow Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

Hi, thanks for your feedback we really appreciate it. We have turned up the underfloor heating in all of the suites recently now that winter has finally arrived. We hope with the heatpumps on and the undertile heating working in the bathrooms that everyone staying will be as warm as toast.

We will definitely find out if we can get all of the brands of tea we have in the room as individually packaged items. We will check around again tomorrow and agree with you that an alternative would be better.

We would love to host you back again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

The Arrow is luxurious; great attention to detail, and fantastic personal service. The owners have really thought about what people will want, and they excelled at meeting our needs. Our stay was all we could have wanted from a private retreat.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David-Rohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theming, Owner at The Arrow Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2011

Is was fantastic having you stay with us during your escape from the city.

Next time come back as little earlier in the year as we would love you to see the Autumn Festival spectacular change of colour, as the trees retreat for winter. It is an amazing sight even from the rooms looking out across the valley.

Thanks again for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
0.3 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
7.8 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
10.3 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#2 of 58 in Queenstown
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
7.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
0.4 mi away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arrow Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arrow Private Hotel

Address: 63 Manse Road, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Arrowtown
Price Range: £167 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arrow Private Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arrow Private Hotel is an Arrowtown Boutique Hotel just five minutes walk from the centre of Arrowtown. With very contemporary design and styling, the Hotel recently won a prestigious architecture award and guests frequently comment on the attention to detail in the suites. In contrast, a historic stone cottage is the central meeting place at the Hotel. It is used as the reception area and as a house bar for evening refreshments and canapes. The roaring fire is very welcoming on a cold winters evening and many a tale has been told before guests walk into Arrowtown for their evening dinner. The Private Hotel is recognised one of the best Arrowtown B&B's. It operates more like a luxury lodge with each of the suites having its own private access and a hot cooked breakfast is delivered to each suite daily via a secret cupboard. With only 5 suites we are able to provide a very personal and private service . Adventures of all levels are not far away from the Hotel. Walking and cycling trails run right past the base of the Hotel which backs onto Coronet Peak Station. The Arrow Private Hotel is 20 minutes drive from the Coronet Peak ski field, from the Gibbston Wine region and from Queenstown. There are also 3 great golf courses within 5 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Arrow Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing