We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality++++”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Arrow Private Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Arrowtown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Te Anau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hospitality++++”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Fantastic way to finish our 10 day tour around the south island. Tim and Eva were fantastic hosts. Facilities were awesome. Bed was so comfortable. Bath was amazing. Views from our balcony beautiful on an autumn day. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auntyona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
114
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed here for two nights when visiting Queenstown for our son's 4th Birthday. Tim was a wonderful host, so helpful and accommodating.

Our son LOVED the fact that he could sit in the bath and watch TV, and breakfast 'appearing' the 'secret cupboard' (as he called it) was a great start to the morning and something he still talks about. The rooms were modern and spacious but very warm and the bathrooms were fantastic. it was so nice to be just out of Queenstown.

The drive into Queenstown is short and it was nice to be that little bit out of the main centre, but only a short stroll through the back of the property and the old Chinese village into Arrowtown. If you are heading to Queenstown I would recommend making the short drive to stay at The Arrow Private Hotel as it is well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oliver_emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed here for four nights after our wedding. Lovely accommodation and friendly hosts who work hard to make your stay a pleasant one. Appreciated the restaurant recommendations and would certainly visit again in future. Walking distance into town (5min), but a little out of the main drag so felt more private.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leishia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theming, Owner at The Arrow Private Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Did you guys actually leave your room?? How did you get to see Arrowtown? Just kidding!

It was an absolute pleasure to hear some of the passion that went into organising your wedding. We wish you all the best for your road ahead which I am sure will be unique and exciting. We look forward to meeting up with you again on an anniversary to find out how eventful your shared life has been!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I was looking for a great place to stay for myself and my groomsmen ahead of my wedding in April and im really really pleased we went for the Arrows...

Tim could not have been more hospitible... he was fantastic and went well beyond the call to make us at home and ensure we had the best time at a time when i was pretty strung out; he even took care of our broken down car which we had to abandon in town on the day of the wedding!

I can give you a 100% gaurantee you'll love the Arrows if you want a top notch, beautifully considered place to stay, where they have thought of everything... the rooms are brilliant, the setting is stunning, and you would be hard pressed to find better hosts anywhere.

Room Tip: All the rooms here are fantastic but if you have a larger group or family the stand alone 2-3 room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Arrowtown is a perfect place to stay on the south island and just a short drive to more popular Queenstown. We stayed at the Arrow with two other couples all of us having excellent rooms that were basically all the same. Arrowtown, a great small town with about a dozen wonderful cafes/bars and excellent restaurants and a 5 minute walk from the Arrow Private Hotel. A half dozen of some of the best day hikes are also within a few minutes walking distance from the Hotel. Tim, the owner is exceptional and arranges your daily activities. He arranged golf, dinners, plane flight and boat trip to Milford Sound (a must do), Shotover speed boat trip (another must do) and transportation for those nights you don't want to drive yourself. He has a nightly happy hour for his guests and some of the nicest rooms in New Zealand.

Highly recommend and plan to be a repeat customer

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fgdino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theming, Owner at The Arrow Private Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
I don't think I will ever forget guiding you all down to the 'white cross' for you daily adventure into Arrowtown. We could hear you heading along the stream towards the main street clearly enjoying every second of the journey.

The six of you were a fabulous mix of fun and trouble and it was a pleasure to host you here in Arrowtown. We loved having you stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2013

On our recent trip around NZ we spent our final two nights at this privately owned boutique hotel, and what a great choice! We had a little misadventure on arrival, locking the car keys in the boot, but our host Tim readily came to the rescue and assisted in resolving the problem. Further, he helped us forget the drama with a very pleasant 'happy hour' in the historic stone cottage which serves as the hotel reception.

Arrowtown is a peaceful and quiet alternative to the hustle and bustle of Queenstown, but is close enough to its attractions. The town offers great restaurants in a compact heritage area and the Arrow is only 5-10 mins walk along the Arrow River to the town. The hotel is a modern, thoughtfully-designed collection of spacious and comfortable suites with first class fittings and inclusions. The delivered breakfast is one of the best we experienced during our trip, in keeping with the high standard of hospitality offered by Tim. You won't go wrong by choosing to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crawlybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2013

great accomodation and service in an amazing part of the world. Arrowtown,Queenstown,Fox and Franz J, Milford ,and Paradise all wonderful. Arrowtown and surrounds have a very interesting history and lots of really good restaurants.
Thanks to Tim for all the service and advice

Judy and Tony

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0ny118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theming, Owner at The Arrow Private Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
It was great to have you both come and stay. You sure made the most of your visit with all of the places you visited. Paradise Valley is such as special place and only just over an hours drive away. I recently went up on the Dart River Safari and it was an excellent way to see even further up the valley. Hope to see you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
0.3 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
7.8 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
10.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
10.1 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arrow Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arrow Private Hotel

Property: The Arrow Private Hotel
Address: 63 Manse Road, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arrow Private Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arrow Private Hotel is an Arrowtown Boutique Hotel just five minutes walk from the centre of Arrowtown. With very contemporary design and styling, the Hotel recently won a prestigious architecture award and guests frequently comment on the attention to detail in the suites. In contrast, a historic stone cottage is the central meeting place at the Hotel. It is used as the reception area and as a house bar for evening refreshments and canapes. The roaring fire is very welcoming on a cold winters evening and many a tale has been told before guests walk into Arrowtown for their evening dinner. The Private Hotel is recognised one of the best Arrowtown B&B's. It operates more like a luxury lodge with each of the suites having its own private access and a hot cooked breakfast is delivered to each suite daily via a secret cupboard. With only 5 suites we are able to provide a very personal and private service . Adventures of all levels are not far away from the Hotel. Walking and cycling trails run right past the base of the Hotel which backs onto Coronet Peak Station. The Arrow Private Hotel is 20 minutes drive from the Coronet Peak ski field, from the Gibbston Wine region and from Queenstown. There are also 3 great golf courses within 5 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Arrow Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing