We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold and unwelcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arrowtown Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I road tripped around the South Island and this campground was easily the worst! I had to pay for a timed shower, but then the water didn't even heat up! It got lukewarm at best, this is in the middle of winter too! My friend had the same experience the next morning. There is also no lounge. Every where you go you are greeted by big "CAMP RULES" signs and reminded you are on video surveillance. I didn't feel like a guest at all. Don't stay here if you can avoid it!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank kyliehuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin. Nice location and grounds. The shower was good but flooded the floor unless it angled exactly right. We found the bed lacking in blankets and the man at the office seemed to think I was the weird one to need a quilt for the bed. I figure if places are serious about energy saving (as the stickers in the cabin indicate they are) it would be more energy efficient to not use the heaters at night and have enough blankets on the bed. The tv won the prize for being the smallest one on our travels and wait .. no wine glasses in the cabin?? The young staff person at the check desk was very friendly and accommodating. Location in Arrowtown was great .. easy distance to walk in for a meal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutandAboutnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Clean and comfortable room and very warm. Great location and must have one of the few surviving 14" TV s in the country. .....but I'm keen to go back. Our room had an en-suite wet floor with great water pressure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrFo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I'm referring to the shower/toilet block and the kitchen. If all sites were this good I'd live in a camper van! We had a friendly welcome when we arrived. The code for the security barrier is a good idea, but some other visitors didn't seem to get the hang of it, causing delays. The autumn colour in Arrowtown when we visited was fabulous and all around the campsite

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank campbejx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Even though this is a council run camping ground, it is has very clean and well maintained facilities. The view from our Camper to the mountains with all the Autum colours made for a spectular scene. The camp is only about 5-8 minutes walk from Arrowtown.

Room Tip: Close to Arrowtown; level camp sites, sealed areas for campers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IansTrippings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This is a nice campsite, very close to the centre of Arrowtown (walkable). It has stunning views all around. If you play golf this is also close-by and the views from there are wonderful.

We had a motorhome and we had quite a large site. The shower blocks are very new and are excellent - easily the best on any campsite we visited in NZ (we stayed in over 20!).

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelNutBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

When we arrived, we were expecting a warm welcome like in all the other places we've been to, but oh no, we couldn't have been more wrong. Someone had to work that day and did not feel like it. When the credit card of our friends did not work, they weren't even allowed a second attempt.
The rest of the facilities were nice and clean, but there were signs everywhere stating: DO THIS/ DO NOT DO THAT... ( a bit of an overkill, if you ask me). You do have to pay extra for the showers.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Balkestamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
0.5 mi away
New Orleans Hotel
New Orleans Hotel
#4 of 5 in Arrowtown
129 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
0.5 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arrowtown Motel Apartments
8.3 mi away
Queenstown TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrowtown Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrowtown Holiday Park

Address: 12 Centennial Avenue, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Arrowtown
Price Range: £47 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrowtown Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arrowtown Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing