We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything Is Fantastic”

Postmaster's Residence
Ranked #5 of 41 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$40
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Step back in time and enjoy a slice of Arrowtown’s rich heritage. The carefully preserved historic cottage, once home to the town’s postmasters, has been a main street feature since the 1860s and is now a popular restaurant surrounded by beautiful gardens. Enjoy the beauty of each season at Postmasters, whether it's soaking up the sun whilst sitting out on the verandah with a refreshing drink or inside by the open fires with a homemade mulled wine in the colder months. The seasonal menu features fresh flavours, top quality local produce, and Central Otago wines which showcase the best of this famous wine-making region. Plenty of gluten-free and vegetarian options available as well as a dedicated kids’ menu.Open daily for breakfast, morning & afternoon tea, lunch and dinner.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Everything Is Fantastic”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We thoroughly recommend including this restaurant in your bucket list of places to dine. From the warm welcome through to the last mouthful of the delicious pavlova we had to finish off this amazing dining experience, we left knowing that we would not only be back soon, but we would promote and praise this destination to friends and family.
Three of us chose steak as our meal option and they were all cooked perfectly and were so tasty. The fourth meal was salmon which our friend absolutely loved.
I'm so looking forward to my next visit to this beautiful destination and trying other options on their menu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trishmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    190
    46
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best dinner in New Zealand”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

During our holiday in NZ we visited many restaurants, but none came even close to Postmaster's Residence. The ambiance made us feel at home. We ordered the salmon and the pork belly were both amazing, with a perfect balance of different ingredients. The winter-fruit dessert was the perfect finish of this great dinner.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank VOCX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quintessential Arrowtown”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Sensitively restored old villa in the heart of Arrowtown looking out on to tree-lined streets. Friendly welcoming staff and a warm relaxed atmosphere. Outstanding bacon & egg breakfast included delicious free-range eggs over soft wholegrain toast. Best-ever locally-sourced free-range bacon was densely flavoursome melt-in-the-mouth: no hint of watery or chewy. Our first taste of a hot honey-ginger-lemon drink was refreshingly different.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank conferencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Choked on Smoke!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stopped at this place several times looking at the menu for a dinner over Easter weekend and couldn't decide. We decided to have a coffee here on Good Friday. The ambience was lovely and a roaring fire. The restaurant is an old house, so you feel quite at home. But OMG the fire, there was smoke billowing out before my eyes. I love an open fire, but can't tolerate smokey air. This had me gasping and panicking and a day later, I had a bad sinus infection - maybe not in relation to it, who knows. I'm still sick with a chesty cough. We are so glad we didn't dine there, that fire needs maintenance. The manager kept attending to the fire, but as she walked away, it billowed out smoke again. She had to open the front door! I think the menu looked ok, so you choose. Lovely setting.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CCandWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good but expensive”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Took the family for lunch, the food and service was good just thought it was fairly expensive for what it was. That could be Arrowtown as a whole though.

Helpful?
Thank Dave-NZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Postmaster's Residence also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Postmaster's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing