We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value with authentic Thai taste”
Review of Arrow Thai Food

Arrow Thai Food
Ranked #19 of 42 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$22
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Arrow Thai Food is a cute little Thai restaurant serving exceptionally delicious Thai cuisine that is value for money. Situated on the sunny side of historic Arrowtown and nestled adjacent to the Arrow River, outdoor dining is a very pleasant way to spend an evening. Popular with locals, a takeaway option is also available. Friendly staff who greet you with a smile endeavour to provide the best of service. Extensive tofu and vegetarian menu too!
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good value with authentic Thai taste”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We are Thais, on the trip in NZ south island.
After few days of western food (steak/burger/pasta/sandwich), we are in need for Asian/Thai food. On a day trip to Arrowtown, we just notice this Thai restaurant before we park our motorhome in opposite parking ground.
The food is quite authentic Thai (but we told them that we are Thais). Very good value (but we are ready to pay higher price just to get the real Thai food). Service is good (considering also from other guests coming in. Not just to our experience that all staffs are Thai).
They even recommend another Thai food stall in Queenstown (where we stayed), in which we went there for dinner that night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank natthapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    50
    24
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
South Australia, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice and fresh”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We has a quick visit to arrow town and decided to stay for lunch. We sat outside in the beautiful sub. Spring rolls to share I had a really nice Tom yum with chicken and my husband had ginger chicken. $36,00 was really good value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann-Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A regular customer says...”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We eat in and get takeaways often - the $10 lunch deals are excellent value. The staff are nice, atmosphere as expected for this price-point Thai restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ArrowtownWineStore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, great food”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We dined here on a quiet night, and despite obvious staff shortages at that time of night, were treated to delicious, high-quality Thai food with decent service and a very accommodating chef (who completely re-made a dish when we realised it contained something one of our party were allergic to). Lovely little place - well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fh375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Average Thai food but pleasant cafe”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Ordered Takeaway food, restaurant was not busy, it was a lunchtime, did not have to wait long. Food was nice but nothing out of the ordinary, we would have preferred it more spicey.

Nice setting, staff were friendly, would go again for a sit down meal and try different food and ask for more spice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arrow Thai Food also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Arrow Thai Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing