We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treat not to be missed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shades of Arrowtown
Ranked #2 of 11 Arrowtown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A treat not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Shades is in a very pleasant location on a tree-shaded avenue, centrally situated in delightful Arrowtown. Lorica and Tom were wonderful hosts for whom nothing was too much trouble. The comfortable, fully-equipped chalets are set in a pretty garden. Arrowtown is an elegant and peaceful place with a fascinating history. If you are not self-catering there are some good eating places within easy strolling distance. Altogether well worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorica H, Manager at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
HI Ian,
Thank you for a great review and taking that time to do so. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to meeting you again in the future. Lorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    35
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
82
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Comfortable, quiet, a lovely place to stay. We would recommend it without reservation. It pays to book because it is popular. Walk to Arrowtown (one minute!) but within easy reach of Wanaka, Cromwell and Cromwell which are all bigger and noisier. We stay there every time we visit Arrowtown as it enables me to combine business trips with a few days down time.

Room Tip: I have stayed in all of them. The smaller rooms are fine if you plan to be out all day, but if, lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorica H, Manager at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thanks Jo for taking the time to give a review. We are pleased that you enjoy coming to stay with us, and I look forward to the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

We had a superior room , very cosy with pleasant small verandah and lawn .The location is only a few minutes from the central streets where all the restaurants and bars are situated . Arrowtown is a delightful place to stay, much nicer I think than Queenstown which seemed noisier and more spread out . Friendly and helpful new owners.
Pretty drive up to Lake Wanaka via Cardrona Hotel which is well worth a stop. It is also a pretty drive around the lake towards Mount Aspiring.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorica H, Manager at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Thank you for the great welcome. The staff were very friendly. We would absolutely stay again if we are in Arrowtown. Very reasonable rates. Had easy access to Arrowtown village. Very restful and quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorica H, Owner at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to make a review for us, I am very pleased that you enjoyed you time here with us and we look forward to seeing you again next time you are here in Arrowtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullen, Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Shades, a quiet location but within easy reach of all the areas attractions We are glad we did not decide to stay in busy Queenstown. The owners were extremely helpful and hard working and the accommodation was a delight. Thoroughly reccomended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorica H, Owner at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about The Shades, we are very happy that you a enjoyable stay with us, we look forward in hopefully meeting you again sometime.

Kind Regards
Lorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

This is the cutest place to stay. The Units are small but beautifully presented. The grounds are immaculate and the owners/staff were super friendly This has to be the closest place to stay to the town centre, but you would not know it as the surroundings are quiet and relaxed.
Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorica H, Owner at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Hi Jo,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about The Shades, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope that someday we might see you again.

Kins regards
Lorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Shades,easy walking distance to village and set in a pleasant treed location. The units were clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. They were well serviced and the lawns and gardens were very tidy. The new owners were very approachable and eager to please and were able to give good advice on the surrounding areas that we wished to explore. We recommend these motels and would certainly stay there again ourselves.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorica H, Owner at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Hi John,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we ar very happy that you enjoyed your stay with and we look forward to meeting you again.

Lorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
0.3 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
8.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
11.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arrowtown Motel Apartments
1.5 mi away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arrowfield Apartments
Arrowfield Apartments
#3 of 11 in Arrowtown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shades of Arrowtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shades of Arrowtown

Property: Shades of Arrowtown
Address: 9 Merioneth Street, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Shades of Arrowtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing