We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect everytime”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shades of Arrowtown
Ranked #3 of 12 Arrowtown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfect everytime”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

lovely shady garden setting so close to everything and very well appointed at reasonable cost; much better than the business of Queenstown yet so close; small kitchen if you like to make your own snacks;

Room Tip: we have stayed several times in different rooms and all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Katherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorica H, Manager at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
HI Peter and Katherine,
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very pleased that you enjoy your stays with us that you keep coming back, we thank you very much and look forward to the next time you are down.
Lorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    36
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
83
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2013

This is a Return Trip for us.
We were initially here in 2009. While there are now new owners, it did not disappoint.
My family, as well as my Sister's family and our Parents stayed at Shades for 7 nights as a base for Queenstown some 15-20 minutes drive away while celebrating Fathers 80th Birthday.
Excellent range of accomodation; up to a family 3 bedroom apartment (with unique outdoor BBQ area with lawn, as well as private Lounge/Kitchen/SpaBath-Shower/Laundry) where my Parents stayed with my sisters family.
Our unit had access to seperate shared BBQ picnic facilities available in a seperate shared space.
We used a seperate shared Laundry which worked well.
Wireless broadband available and fine for email/browsing; is now pay-per-use (Sadly due to previous customer abuse). Connection was good enough to skype if required.
A/Con generally not available, but not required even on warm days of ~30C as the evenings cooled off.
Still not used to no fly screens on windows, but this is normal for most of New Zealand.
Fresh Soaps/Towels /Paper every day.
Remarkable oasis of peace and tranquility in the middle of town despite weddings and a music festival at a winery in the area. Area opens to park and Pub's/Eateries.
Excellent range of local activities too: Walks. Cycling, Horses, Swimming (Municipal) within walking distance, Golf Courses and Wineries available nearby.
Same overall quality means we will continue to be regulars there every time we return to Queenstown.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have baths if you don't want one. Some rooms have various levels of Kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorica H, Manager at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi Charles,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We really enjoyed meeting you and your family and hope mum and dad are doing well. We look forward to meeting you all again next time you are over here.
Lorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We enjoyed a very comfortable stay at Shades of Arrowtown. After a long haul flight from Scotland ,it was just what we needed . Very helpful owners , excellent accommodation and first class location , the best location of any motel in the whole of New zealand.
I would recommend this motel to any traveller .

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorica H, Manager at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi Rachel,
Thank you for taking the time to review us, It was very nice to meet you both and hope that you had a very nice holiday in New Zealand. Hope all is well with you both. I hope that we get the chance to meet you again.

Lorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We were in a very good studio. The kitchen area was compact but had everything you needed. Very clean and comfortable. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again. It is close to everything in Arrowtown. Only comment would be that the door of the fridge would be better if it opened the other way because of the amount of space.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timslouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorica H, Manager at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel on Trip Advisor, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to meeting you again in the future.
Lorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
65 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

People were super nice. Room was perfect for our needs, very clean and comfortable. Quiet area with absolutely beautiful gardens. Within walking distance to everything in Arrowtown. We highly recommend this Motel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorica H, Manager at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi Anne,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Motel, We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to meeting you again in the future.
Lorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Extremely clean, tidy and comfortable, with shady, peaceful garden surroundings, very close to town centre - along with efficient, friendly and wonderfully helpful service (which in our case was to accommodate a special family surprise visit!) For value for money, I couldn't ask for a better venue than Shades of Arrowtown. Arrowtown itself is one of the loveliest little towns in NZ (as an ex-Southlander it's always been a favourite....). no tourist should miss Arrowtown, and should not be disappointed with this accommodation.

Room Tip: Just ask the managers to recommend the room(s) that would suit you best ! That's what we did a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorica H, Manager at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
HI Lyn,
Thank you for the lovely words. We enjoyed being part of the surprise. We look forward to meeting you again. Many thanks Lorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. It's very close to everything and it is just a stones throw from the main drag. Nice outdoor spaces to sit and it's all very calm and quiet. Rooms are okay too. All in all, it's a convenient place to stay and very relaxing.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jake F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorica H, Manager at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi Jake,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to meeting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
0.3 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
8.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
11.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arrowtown Motel Apartments
1.5 mi away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arrowfield Apartments
Arrowfield Apartments
#2 of 12 in Arrowtown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shades of Arrowtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shades of Arrowtown

Property: Shades of Arrowtown
Address: 9 Merioneth Street, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shades of Arrowtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing