We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great close-to-town option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shades of Arrowtown
Ranked #3 of 12 Arrowtown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great close-to-town option”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is a great option for those wishing to stay right in Arrowtown, but not break the bank (Arrowtown accommodation generally seems to be pricey) when doing so. The rooms are quiet, super-clean and appear to be newly renovated. The owner (I think) is very friendly and gives a good overview of the area. When we stayed I had damaged my shoulder on the slopes earlier in the day and she could not have been nicer about it, offering to help with the luggage and even lending me an ice pack! Many thanks for a lovely stay. Will definitely be a repeat visitor

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneDoe2078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorica H, Owner at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi Danelle,
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. I hope that your shoulder in on the mend. Thanks for staying with us and I very much enjoyed meeting you both and look forward to meeting you again in the future.
Cheers Lorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    36
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
83
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Peak season in Queenstown, we had to find accommodation elsewhere...

ARROWTOWN ! Really nice village with friendly locals.

Shades motel : REALLY GOOD.
Clean and warm bedroom
Tea/Coffee
TV/hair dryer...
Spacious
Very good value
Friendly and helpful patron

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muteen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorica H, Owner at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello.
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shades of Arrowtown, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope that the next time you are in New Zealand that you may return to stay with us again.

Many thanks Lorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here rather than Queenstown which is within easy reach. Equivalent accommodation in Q'town seems overpriced in comparison We received a friendly reception and having been travelling for a while were relieved to find laundry facilities on site. The location is ideal with good places to eat in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningDave2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorica H, Owner at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi,
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us, we are pleased that you came to stay with us and found everything you needed was here. We hope that the next time you are in New Zealand that you may return to us.
Thanks again Lorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We chose Arrowtown because it is close to Queenstown, but away from its hustle and bustle. Arrowtown also has its own unique charm and attractions. We settled on Shades for our stay by simply walking/driving Arrowtown and going on our instincts.....the location is quiet yet convenient to the village centre, the attractions are within easy walking distance and the setting is beautiful. We stayed two nights at and found everything to be agreeable: the staff were welcoming, helpful, and friendly, the room was charming, comfortable and quiet, in a lovely garden setting. We consider Shades to be the best accommodation experience in our South island travels and would stay tat Shades on any return visit to the area (in preference to Queenstown) and would recommend Shades to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorica H, Owner at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi George,
Thank you so much for your very kind words regarding our accommodation. We are very pleased that the hard work we have put in makes people want to stay with us and then return.
We look forward to the next time you are both in New Zealand and meeting you both again.
Cheers Lorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at Shades of Arrowtown. The location is fantastic-so close to town. Our unit was immaculate, with modern fixtures and fittings, and the setting is delightful. We are hoping to return again next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorica H, Owner at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi Peter,
We are very happy that you both enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to your return.
Cheers Tom and Lorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

All the amenities you need here, plus: just a couple blocks from the center of town, but still very quiet because it's on a small street with a large front courtyard. (Of course, this was off-season, but it seems Arrowtown turns into a small village once the tourist buses leave.) Very friendly hosts, and inexpensive. We'd planned for one night, stayed two.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hidey-holer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorica H, Owner at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and for you to add another nights stay means that you your happy and comfortable.
I hope that if you are ever back in New Zealand that we may met you both again some time.
Thanks Lorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This motel is great value..its clean modern and comfortable. i was a bit worried what the place would be like for such a low nightly rate.. being local we know the standard can sometime not be worth the price but Shades was a pleasant surprise and we will be going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorica H, Owner at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi Debby,
Thank you for taking the time to review us, I a happy that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Thanks Lorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
0.3 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
8.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Arrowtown Motel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Settlers Cottage Motel
Settlers Cottage Motel
#5 of 12 in Arrowtown
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arrowtown Lodge
Arrowtown Lodge
#4 of 12 in Arrowtown
34 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Arrow Private Hotel
The Arrow Private Hotel
#2 of 12 in Arrowtown
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shades of Arrowtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shades of Arrowtown

Property: Shades of Arrowtown
Address: 9 Merioneth Street, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Shades of Arrowtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing