We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas at Millbrook”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Millbrook Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Millbrook Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Christmas at Millbrook”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

The rooms are quite large and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. There are three restaurants to choose..............and if you would prefer to go into Arrowtown, the staff will shuttle you there and pick you up when you are ready to return. My only complaint was that I wish they had screens on their windows. If you keep the windows open with the lights on, watch out! But I didn't see screens on any of the windows in all the hotels I stayed in durng my trip to New Zealand. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilynjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    106
    21
    8
    13
See reviews for
163
467
26
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday to Queenstown. Millbrook was everything we expected and more... The staff were all excellent and couldn't do enough for us. We had a lovely big one bedroom cottage off the 6th fairway and were able to watch the golfers and a family of ducks as they passed by each day. We ate at the hole-in-one which was laid back with excellent food. Breakfast at the Clubhouse was also a treat each day. We played a round of golf and the greens and fairways were in excellent condition. Overall the scenery, atmosphere, accommodation and service were all truly wonderful. We highly recommend Millbrook to anyone wanting a first class experience.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Dear Fiona M,
It's lovely to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts. I have passed your kind words about the quality of our greens on to our green keepers, who will be pleased to hear your feedback.
We work hard to ensure our course remains world-class and a lot of time and energy goes in to ensuring the greens, fairways and grounds are immaculate year round.
It's nice to hear you also enjoyed dining at the relaxed Hole in One Cafe and the Clubhouse for breakfast.
We do hope to see you again.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We have just had another wonderful stay at Millbrook, we booked a 1bedroom cottage over looking green number 6. The room was very comfortable with a well stocked fridge and coffee/tea making facility. lovely big bathroom with a bath to die for. We had breakfast each day in the Clubroom, on one of the days we brought 4 family members who live close by to join us. The full English breakfast was excellent as was our continental breakfast with a wide choice of fresh fruit, nuts and Danish pastries. We also dined in the "Hole in one Cafe" the food and services was excellent. We also played golf on a beautiful course, the golf shop was especially helpful. A special word for the staff who ferried us around when we arrived and then took us on a number of short trips around the facilities they were friendly and helpful. We live at Lake Tekapo and as Kiwis our trips to Millbrook are our touch of luxury which we plan to treat ourselves to on a regular basis. I work in Christchurch, reception were very sensitive to my request for a ground floor room, Thank you.

Room Tip: All the accommodation is first class, we did love the cottage over looking the golf course. lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Dear Sandra M,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post your kind words about your recent stay at Millbrook.
Millbrook has guests from many countries stay with us, but it's nice to hear from local Kiwis such as yourself that enjoy coming over to Millbrook for some luxury, rest and relaxation away from Christchurch-you are one of many we have had stay over the last couple of years looking for some peace and quiet.
We hope you continue to visit Millbrook and enjoy the relaxing atmosphere of the resort.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

After an exhausting 2012 - we needed to treat ourselves and what better way to do it than a stay at Millbrook...again. As "regulars" we just keep going back - the setting, accommodation, level of amenity and attention to detail of the staff in all facilities ( restaurants, gold course and spa) is outstanding. We have left refreshed and relaxed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Dear Rebecca T,
It's nice to hear from our regular guests as we always strive to make every visit to Millbrook a special one, whether it is your first or 25th stay with us. The work we have done recently in the Spa at Millbrook has received great feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us once again. Relaxing at the spa, in the hot pools, on your balcony or around the resort, leaves people feeling refreshed and relaxed. As someone once said, once you arrive at Millbrook, you may not want to leave! Quite a true statement.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We shared a 2 Bedroom cottage with friends and the place was extremely spacious. Master Bedroom was huge with a desk, balcony and ensuite. Very well equipped for self catering and a nice outdoor setting and garden to enjoy. Laundry room in the garage was very handy. The rooms are a 5 minute walk from the main reception / restaurant area. Golf course was in good condition, and well laid out. We ate dinner in the "Hole in One Cafe" and also the fine dining restaurant "The Millhouse" both of which were fantastic. Staff were exceptional and nothing was too much trouble. You could phone the reception and they would come and collect you in a golf cart for transportation around the resort or a van to take you into Arrowtown at no additional cost. Arrowtown is a cute town with shops, galleries and cafes. There was also a regular shuttle service into Queenstown. The reception has computers with free internet access.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vixenbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Dear Vixenbird,
thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on your recent stay at Millbrook.
It sounds like you had a wonderful time. The 2 bedroom Cottages are very spacious and a great home-away-from-home. We are pleased to hear our levels of service met your high expectations of a five star resort and glad you utilized the complimentary shuttles from the Cottages, to and from Arrowtown and Queenstown.
The shuttles allow guests to enjoy the peace and tranquillity of Millbrook's 500 acres, with the freedom to travel further afield with convenience if they desire.
Thank you once again on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Spent a week here over Christmas with the family (15) - rented two of the villas facing the golf course which was ideal. It truly is an idyllic place in one of the most picturesque locations in the world. With so much to do and see around the area Millbrook was the perfect setting to enjoy it all ! Only had the breakfast which was excellent but the facilities were wonderful and despite not being golfers it was a still a perfect vacation location.
The only comment I would have is the sheets in the villas were rather 'rough'. Not sure if it is the quality or laundering method of the linens but they were not up to snuff for a 5 star resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grtflyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Dear grtflyin,
We are glad you and your families enjoyed your Christmas break at Millbrook. The spacious two bedroom villas are great for families travelling together and for longer stays as they have lounge/dining areas and a kitchen, as well as outside space. It's great to hear that as non golfers you enjoyed your stay so much as we firmly believe that golf is only a part of what makes Millbrook such a wonderful place to stay.
With the day spa, swimming pool, gym, walking and biking trails and numerous activities within close proximity to the resort, there is so much to do at Millbrook and the surrounding area.
Thank you for your comments on the linen, which will be passed on to our Housekeeping team.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Where to begin!
Millbrook Resort is a sparkling example of what can be done if you have the perfect landscape (The Remarkables mountain range, rivers, rowan trees, pure clean air) come together with the most stylish designer (the very clever Virginia Fisher) and a challenging (character-building!!) golf-course created by two top NZ golfers, Sir Bob Charles, and Glen Turner. Even if you're resistant to the idea of walking, running/ jumping, falling out of the sky / off a mountain, out of a kayak, Millbrook provides the most soothing backdrop to a few days of reading on a sunny private patio, eating great food, visiting the spa, or simply sleeping in the tasteful villas. We have friends who have sold their home in Auckland and moved to Millbrook permanently, such is the ambience of the place. It is COVERED in the wow factor! In winter it's a white wonderland, a skier's paradise, and in summer the warm air is filled with the smells of a Central Otago landscape. Fantastico!

Room Tip: The villas are all great - very private and with equally good views. Huge living area, and bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellerholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Dear Travellerholic,
Your kind words epitomize exactly what makes Millbrook a place people love to visit, whether it's for an hour, a day, a weekend or like your friends, a lifetime. Many people choose to make Millbrook their home and with such stunning surroundings, who can blame them.
We are blessed to be surrounded by the wonderful Central Otago landscape and Millbrook's mature grounds perfectly complement our alpine surrounds.
There is so much to do at Millbrook as you mention, from relaxing on your balcony or courtyard, to dining, playing a round of golf or relaxing in the spa.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and made the most of all the activities and facilities and we hope to welcome you back to Millbrook again soon.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
7.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
8.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
9.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#1 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
9.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
9.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millbrook Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Resort

Property: Millbrook Resort
Address: Malaghans Road, Arrowtown 9371, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Millbrook Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named New Zealand’s Top Hotel for three consecutive years at The TripAdvisor Travellers Choice Awards, as well as New Zealand and Oceania’s Leading Golf Hotel at the inaugural World Golf Awards in 2014, Millbrook Resort is the definition of five star luxury. Set across 500 acres of Central Otago countryside, with lush green fairways, rolling hills and gentle babbling streams, the resort offers a complete escape, just twenty minutes from ‘adventure capital’ Queenstown. The Resort encompasses a 175 room five star hotel, offering a variety of luxurious studios and suites, two bedroom villas, two, three and four bedroom cottages, and Fairway Homes, all designed to capture the history of the resort, the surrounding views of the golf course and mountains, and with complete privacy in mind. As co-hosts of the BMW New Zealand Open for 2014 and 2015, Millbrook Resort is celebrated for a bucket-list-inspiring 27 hole championship golf course, acclaimed restaurants, an award winning day spa, a comprehensive health and fitness centre, multiple conference venues and facilities, and a wide range of onsite activities which allow guests to stay and play for days without even leaving the resort. All in-house guests can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, preferential green fees, and access to our health and fitness centre. Just a two minute drive from historic Arrowtown, fifteen minutes from Queenstown International Airport, and twenty minutes from Queenstown, Millbrook also provides a free shuttle service to/from Arrowtown and Queenstown so guests can enjoy all that the area has to offer. Millbrook Resort sets the standard for romantic getaways, golfing holidays and relaxing retreats – with a round of golf, lunch at The Hole in One cafe, a signature massage, and an evening at the award winning Millhouse Restaurant or Japanese inspired Kobe Cuisine, just one of the many ways to spend a day at Millbrook Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millbrook Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Hotel Arrowtown
Millbrook Resort Arrowtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing