We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than expected”
Review of Millbrook Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Millbrook Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I tend to disregard New Zealand holiday resort in favour of luxury Asian resorts, but how wrong was I in regards to Millbrook.

First thing that strikes me is the up-keep of the grounds. For a golf resort this size, this is true credit to all the grounds and landscaping personnel. All the old elements from resort past were incorporated in a very tasteful manner.

From booking to check-out, everyone I dealt with were friendly and in a relaxed professional manner. Had numerous meals at resort in-house restaurants, can confidently report that food is of a very high standard. Waiting staff were all amazing! To the hotel management, your staff truely made this stay a memorable one.

Village Inn rooms were extremely spacious and tastefully decorated in a typical New Zealand lodge style. Love the way rooms are spread out throughout this massive property. Despite the size, and clever placements and landscaping, it felt intimate and private. Must also mention the wonderful shuttle service to and from arrowtown and Queenstown.

Nothing but praise for this property.

Room Tip: For village Inn room, make sure you face the golf course not the housing developement on the other s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boeing777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Hello Boeing777,
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Millbrook …

Our landscaping team and green keepers work hard all year round to maintain and develop our landscape. With 500 acres, 3 golf courses with a total of 27 holes, streams, lakes and ponds .. there’s always an area to focus on. We also have an environmental policy which extends to our landscape and the team now often see trout swimming through the resorts waterways…

Reading your review, it’s clear you really did immerse yourself into the relaxing pace of life our guests enjoy at the resort. From your experience in the restaurants to your kind comments on our rooms, and above all, your interactions with our team. We’re proud to work at Millbrook, the team and management will be pleased to read your review, thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

848 - 854 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2013

This is the fourth time we have stayed at this resort and once again it lived right up to our expectations.
The reason for our stay was that it was my wifes birthday.I rang the resort and asked if i could get a cake made for our last night,no problems at all, and it was sensational.
Right from when we arrived to when we booked out the service can only be descibed as brilliant.
Nothing was too much trouble, the room was the same one we had on our previous visit,just great.
I know it sounds boring but this resort is a must stay if you are looking for a world class resort in Queenstown then you can't go past Millbrook Resort.

Room Tip: Try to get a Village Inn room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billpears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

Dear billpears,
We are glad you and wife enjoyed your recent birthday stay with us. We are always happy to help when people are celebrating special occasions such as birthdays and anniversaries and often are asked to make cakes, plan special gifts in room on arrival or romantic activities for proposals and birthday surprises.
We thank you for your continued support of Millbrook and look forward to welcoming you on your 5th visit soon.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

My lovely wife and i spent 5 nights at this excellent establishment from the DEC 27th to the 1st Jan and once again i must say it is up to our expectation.
ALL staff members are well trained and the restaurants on site are of an excellent quality.We do the PLAY and STAY golf package and it is more than comparable with overseas prices and we will support Millbrook as much as we can.The shuttle service from the Airport to Millbrook and to and from Queenstown was exceptional.The villa room we had was indeed we very large and from the patio we were overlooking the golf course.Great views.We met a Family from England and another couple form Sydney who have been to Millbrook 7 times so what does that tell you.

Room Tip: We had Room 121 which has great views and plenty of sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hondamax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

Dear hondamax,
We thank you for taking the time to post and for your kind words. Our Stay and Play package is our signature package and one of our most popular ones, incorporating accommodation, golf and breakfast at Millbrook. We have also recently launched other Stay and Play packages which include a lesson with a pro and others that include green fees at key local courses, such as Jacks Point, The Hills, Kelvin Heights and Arrowtown. If you are looking for something a little different for your next stay, may i suggest you take a look at these packages as well.
A lot of our guests are repeat visitors who come to Millbrook a few times a year in the different seasons. Millbrook is a wonderful place year round and every season the resort looks completely different, making it a fantastic destination in winter, summer, spring and autumn.
We do hope to see you again very soon.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed at Millbrook for only one night on New Years Eve 2012. Let me start by saying that the room was the biggest and best room that we've ever stayed in. There needs to be some context with that as this is not a cheap hotel. But the villas have a large living room, bedroom, bathroom and patio area all of which are finished to perfection.

The resort itself is superb with a great range of facilities and restaurants. We only experience on the the restaurants for breakfast so can't comment too much but at $25 per person the a la carte menu with additional buffet was superb and we couldn't fault it.

The only issues that we had were that the pool and spas are very dated for a 5 star resort which almost loses it a star. Plus I had two showers and both moved between hot and cold which does lose the star.

Nonetheless, we would definitely go back if we wanted to spoil ourselves.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

Dear CarlEdinburgh,
Many thanks for your post about your stay with us last New Year's Eve. We appreciate your comments about the size of the rooms at Millbrook as this is something we pride ourselves on.
All our rooms, from the Village Inn studio rooms, to the 1 and 2 bedroom Villas and Suites, the Cottages and Fairway Homes have spacious bedrooms. All the rooms (bar the Village Inn studios) also have spacious living/dining and/or kitchens as well.
Your feedback regarding the showers, pool and spas has been passed on the relevant departments and we thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.
We hope to see you at Millbrook again in the future.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

My partner & I have just returned from our 3rd trip to Millbrook and I just can't say enough good things about it. The staff are invariably friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The on-site facilities are fantastic, the restaurant is excellent and the cafe is also very good. The golf course is great fun, I only lost my temper once (on the second nine). My partner reports that the spa is also amazing. The village inn accommodation is very comfortable and clean, if I had to nit pick, some of the shower fittings were a little 'used', but nothing really to get too worked up about. All in all, excellent.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

Dear Chessefunnel,
Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Millbrook. We pride ourselves on our high standards of service and we are glad our friendly and helpful staff met your expectations.
We value all our guest feedback and i have passed your comments on to the relevant departments.
We do hope to see you on visit number 4 very soon.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The rooms are quite large and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. There are three restaurants to choose..............and if you would prefer to go into Arrowtown, the staff will shuttle you there and pick you up when you are ready to return. My only complaint was that I wish they had screens on their windows. If you keep the windows open with the lights on, watch out! But I didn't see screens on any of the windows in all the hotels I stayed in durng my trip to New Zealand. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilynjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday to Queenstown. Millbrook was everything we expected and more... The staff were all excellent and couldn't do enough for us. We had a lovely big one bedroom cottage off the 6th fairway and were able to watch the golfers and a family of ducks as they passed by each day. We ate at the hole-in-one which was laid back with excellent food. Breakfast at the Clubhouse was also a treat each day. We played a round of golf and the greens and fairways were in excellent condition. Overall the scenery, atmosphere, accommodation and service were all truly wonderful. We highly recommend Millbrook to anyone wanting a first class experience.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

Dear Fiona M,
It's lovely to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts. I have passed your kind words about the quality of our greens on to our green keepers, who will be pleased to hear your feedback.
We work hard to ensure our course remains world-class and a lot of time and energy goes in to ensuring the greens, fairways and grounds are immaculate year round.
It's nice to hear you also enjoyed dining at the relaxed Hole in One Cafe and the Clubhouse for breakfast.
We do hope to see you again.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
7.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
8.7 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
9.7 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
23.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
522 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#2 of 59 in Queenstown
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millbrook Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Resort

Address: Malaghans Road, Arrowtown 9371, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Price Range: £148 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Millbrook Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five star resort encompasses 160 rooms, offering a variety of luxurious studios and suites, two bedroom villas, two, three and four bedroom cottages, and Fairway Homes, all designed to capture the history of the resort, the surrounding views of the golf course and mountains, and with complete privacy in mind. Millbrook Resort sets the standard for romantic getaways, golfing holidays and relaxing retreats – with a round of golf, lunch at the Hole In One cafe, a signature massage, and an evening at the award winning Millhouse Restaurant or Japanese inspired Kobe Cuisine, just one of the many ways to spend a day at Millbrook Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Millbrook Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Hotel Arrowtown
Millbrook Resort Arrowtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing