We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Millbrook”
Review of Millbrook Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Millbrook Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Just home from 5 days in the Village Inn at Millbrook. What a fab holiday. The accomodation and environment is stunning; staff all very friendly and helpful and the restaurants are excellent too; from breakfast in the Clubhouse, lunch / dinner in the Hole in One which is more cafe style and reasonably priced to the restaurant for fine dining, which was amazing. I cant wait to go back!! the only thing I did note was whilst we had a separate dressing room to hang up clothes, there were no drawers anywhere for "smaller" items. Not normally an issue but when there for 5 days we normally do a full unpack of the bags. Minor issue over what was a fantastic and very memorable stay, including mountain biking, a game of golf (even though we are beginners!) and also the High Country Horse Riding - all made it a fun packed stay. Would def stay here again, away from the hussle and bussle of queenstown yet still a short ride on the Millbrook courtesy bus.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MountainBikingHolida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Hello MountainBikingHolida,
Thank you for taking the time to review Millbrook and for your wonderful comments. We will certainly pass your feedback onto our team to review our furniture facilities for our longer-staying guests. For your next visit to Millbrook, may we suggest you book one of our new packages 'Stay, Play & Learn' – which combines accommodation with golf lessons with one of our NZPGA Golf Professionals…. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

879 - 885 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed three nights at the Millbrook Resort as part of our OATS tour. A quality place to stay. Everything was first class from our accomodations, the grounds, the surrounding views, to the breakfast and restaurant experiences. The rooms were spacious and beautiful, tucked along the river and ponds that ran through the resort. The buffet breakfast at the club house offered both the standard fare and special order breakfasts. Loved the shuttle service the resort offered that took you conveniently to either Arrowtown or Queenstown. A good variety of dining options available. We ate one dinner at the Hole In One and had an excellent casual dinner with delicious food. Loved sleeping with an open window at night and listening to stream that flowed nearby. Our favorite experience was simply walking the beautful grounds for exercise and enjoying the sunrises and sunsets over the surrounding hills. One of our favorite resort experiences.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Hello dhen,
Thank you for taking the time to review Millbrook and share your experience here on Trip Advisor. We hope you have a safe journey home back to the States and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We recently had 5 amazing nights at Millbrook Resort. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa as we travelled with our two children.
From the beautiful accommodation to the staff and meals I could not praise Millbrook highly enough.
We were greeted by the resorts driver Kit at Queenstown airport. While you pay for these transfers the vans are modern and all have seatbelts. The resort even has there own booster seats and infant seats so if you phone ahead they will have them for you.
Every meal we had was superb and the staff so friendly.
My husband and son played golf several times and the team at the pro shop were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel offers complimentary shuttle transfers several times a day to Queenstown and shuttles to and from Arrowtown as needed. No need for a car if just doing these destinations. A great family hotel and resort - we will return.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom villa which has a private courtyard at the front and a beautiful patio at the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Hello Roberta G,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Millbrook. It’s with pride that we read your review on our resort, it sounds like you had a wonderful visit and were able to really immerse yourself into the experience at Millbrook. We will definitely pass your review to our team. Do visit our website for your next visit as there are a wide range of packages there which combine golfing, treatments in our spa or dining in one of our three restaurants. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights ( two couples) whilst on a road trip round the south island. Booked a spring sale promo through Wotif and got a fantastic rate which included breakfast in house golf rates and complimentary shuttles for both Queenstown and Arrowtown plus free access to the health and fitness centre (690 nzd). The apartments were very comfortable and nicely furnished with beautiful views over the golf course. Very comfortable beds and our unit had a small kitchenette. Breakfast was very good in a lovely beamed barn. The boys had fun playing golf and we really relaxed and enjoyed ourselves. All the staff were very pleasant and it was great only being 5 mins from Arrowtown and about 30 mins from Queenstown.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeansandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Hello Jeansandco,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Millbrook and taking the time to post your review. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience and also had the opportunity to use the many different facilities our resort offers - including our complimentary shuttle service.
Should you visit New Zealand again in the future, I encourage you have a look on our website as there are a wider variety of packages depending on which season you visit.
We hope to see you again.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

My young daughter and I stayed for 3 nights. We were delighted with the wildlife and beautifully manicured gardens. The Millhouse Restaurant is well worth a visit, everything from ambience and food to service was divine. We will return as I have many times before. Never disappoints :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MathewsFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

Dear MathewsFamily4,
Thank you for your review and your kind words about your recent stay at Millbrook, we’re pleased to hear you and your daughter enjoyed your visit. We pride ourselves on our high standards of service across the resort and we are very proud of our landscape and resort grounds.
We hope to see you both again soon.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We first stayed at MillBrook when our son was 2 and again when he was 10, now he is 17 we've done it again.
It has always been the benchmark for us for anywhere we have stayed globally, many failures :-).
We did the Millbrook experience (449.00) as we only had one night spare, with the dining at the Mill House.
AS always the grounds are so restful and energising at the same time, do hire a bike and cycle all the paths and boundaries, just a couples of hours.
So many photo shots.
Having a beer at the clubhouse relaxing watching the ducks and sunset was still a treat.

Millhouse.
Only one wine by the glass per cultivar, not professional, no discussion.
it does not cater for the couple or single.
we eat here in wellington all the time and the top 5 resteraunts handle this excellently.

the food was magnificent, the assiente of scallops was notable.
the steak was rare and superb as was my wifes lamb.
I had a deconstructed creme brûlée which was very very good.

breakfast the next morning was the best of our trip.

so go don't dally.
get there early and cycle or play golf.
3x in a row the best golf resort in australasia don't happen by chance.
Mike

Room Tip: I prefer the hotel villas but we stayed in the village inn rooms and they were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mckeeWTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Hello Mike and thank you for choosing to return to Millbrook. Over the years you would have seen the resort, accommodation styles and golf courses change and develop and we’re absolutely delighted you enjoy Millbrook as much as we do. Reading reviews like yours fills us with pride and we’re pleased your time on the resort was enjoyable, and memorable enough for you to take the time to share your review.

We have recently worked with the NZ Cycle Trail and the newly opened Queenstown Cycle Trail which offers over 100kms of cycling track around the Queenstown basin and out to the local wineries in Gibbston Valley and the Queenstown Cycle Trail now travels through our grounds. On the resort itself we now have over 5kms of walking/running cycling track which also links to the Lake Hayes trail, a wonderful ‘mirror lake’ adjacent to Millbrook.

Our team work hard on all aspects of the resort, from our landscape improvement, interior design of our rooms and houses onsite to the new menus and wine served in our three restaurants. Thank you for your feedback on your wine experience in The Millhouse, we will pass this onto the team. On a personal note, the scallops are one of my favourites on the menu… so I’m glad that you also enjoyed this dish.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit Mike – do keep a look out on the Specials & Packages pages of our website as we do add and change our packages seasonally.

Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

It's not often that someone rings you within 10 minutes of checking into your room to see if everything is up to expectation but this is exactly what happened at Millbrook. We booked under the Wotif mystery deal (easy as locals to see this was Millbrook) but enjoyed every minute. The room is spacious and comfortable. We were escorted to our room via Golf Buggy and made use of the complimentary shuttle into Arrowtown and Queenstown on the consecutive nights we stayed. Enjoyed a drink in the Hole In One Bar too. You don't have to be golfers to stay here. Take a visit to a winery, a movie at Dorothy Brown's or a walk through Arrowtown- it's an ideal weekend escape. The service here is great and the staff attend to the small details. The only disappointment was the hollondaise sauce on the Eggs Benedict but if that's all there is to comment on to the negative then you should stay here every day of the week

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZTraveller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Hello NZTraveller20,
Thank you for your review and also for choosing to stay with us at Millbrook. Many of our guests choose to stay here for the relaxing pace of life and country setting, with the added benefit of being so close to Arrowtown and Queenstown and of course our range of onsite activities like our walking/cycling trails, golf and our Day Spa.
Arrowtown has a wonderful selection of souvenir shops, cafes, bars and restaurants and of course the wonderful Dorothy Browns boutique cinema and we provide the shuttle service so that all our guests can combine relaxation with local sightseeing.
Your comments on the Eggs Benedict has been passed onto our chefs, so thank you for giving us this feedback. We continually look for ways to improve our service so once again thank you for sharing your thoughts.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Millbrook and encourage you to visit our own website next time where there is a more extensive range of special packages to book…
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
7.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
9.5 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
0.6 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
10.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
8.7 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millbrook Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Resort

Address: Malaghans Road, Arrowtown 9371, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Price Range: £136 - £402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Millbrook Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five star resort encompasses 160 rooms, offering a variety of luxurious studios and suites, two bedroom villas, two, three and four bedroom cottages, and Fairway Homes, all designed to capture the history of the resort, the surrounding views of the golf course and mountains, and with complete privacy in mind. Millbrook Resort sets the standard for romantic getaways, golfing holidays and relaxing retreats – with a round of golf, lunch at the Hole In One cafe, a signature massage, and an evening at the award winning Millhouse Restaurant or Japanese inspired Kobe Cuisine, just one of the many ways to spend a day at Millbrook Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Millbrook Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Hotel Arrowtown
Millbrook Resort Arrowtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing