We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millbrook Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Millbrook Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Exceptional Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

I have just spent a few nights at Millbrook Resort and would have to say that this is one of the best places I have ever stayed. The staff are exceptional - very friendly and efficient, nothing is too much trouble for them. The room was absolutely beautiful and clean. The grounds are very picturesque. If you enjoy playing golf you can't go wrong staying at Millbrook. Arrowtown is a tiny town with great restaurants and bars and everyone in town is very friendly. Millbrook provides on-demand shuttles into Arrowtown (2 min drive) and also shuttles into Queenstown. Can't wait to return to Millbrook!!!

Room Tip: Stayed in a one-bedroom villa and was very happy with it. Double sinks in bathroom, huge bath. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear Libby557,
Thanks for reviewing Millbrook Resort. Our team work hard to ensure all our guests have a magical stay here and we’re delighted that your stay at Millbrook ticked all the boxes for you. Set on 500 acres of lush green fairways, walking & biking tracks there sure is lots to do here! We hope you had time to enjoy a glass of central Otago wine and some of our delicious muffins, cakes and pastries that are all freshly baked onsite. The Hole in One Cafe is a great play to relax after a busy day sightseeing or playing golf. We hope you make it back to Millbrook someday soon!
Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    104
    19
    8
    13
See reviews for
158
460
25
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Setting on arrival looked stunning and was chosen as a special stay on our journey around New Zealand. Shuttle service into Queenstown was valuable. Wi-Fi in room was non existent and they should have said so at outset. Had to take upstairs room for breakfast and was ignored completely - had to find waiter and ask for Tea Coffee. Woken by the sound of two strimmers at 8.25am with dreadful row for 25 minutes. When checking out found sum added for meal we did not have! Altogether the mirage of a 5 star resort was ruined - is it all superficial? A disappointing experience and the worse that we had in many stops around two lovely islands.

Room Tip: Need to try to get a room with decent outlook. Landscaping of resort in places is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 400David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear 400David,
Firstly thank you for choosing to stay at Millbrook and for taking the time to post your constructive review. Whilst we would have welcomed the opportunity to rectify these issues whilst you were still at the resort, it’s important for us to know and understand areas where we can improve upon and evolve our procedures. We have a full-time IT team onsite who also resolve technical issues for our guests which often can be put down to the variety of tablets, software and applications used in today’s modern world.

As I’m sure you will see from reading past guest’s reviews your experience doesn’t meet with our usual high standards and I can assure you that your review has been passed onto our Operations Manager.

On behalf of the team, we wish you a safe journey back to the UK.
Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Have played golf at Millbrook but this is the first time we've stayed and it won't be the last. We stayed in a Villa suite (138) and it was lovely. The lounge are is comfy and has a fireplace which I'm sure is great in winter. Well appointed kitchen should you choose to self cater. The bedroom is very spacious with a large king size bed. Excellent ensuite with bath. The views of the mountains and the golf course are breathtaking. Golf at Millbrook is great as are all the facilities. Would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pommiegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear pommiegina,
Thanks for reviewing your experience at Millbrook Resort. Our Villa suites were renovated by Virginia Fisher and designed to encapsulate our French history and countryside setting.
Millbrook is very picturesque in winter - you should definitely treat yourself and come back again! Did you know our golf course is open all year round and our winter guests often ski in the morning & play golf in the afternoon! Visit our website to see our special winter packages. We hope to see you back here someday.
Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed in the 3 bed cottages. Home away from home, large 3 bedrooms and all with ensuits, own private back yard, 2 car garage, large dining lounge area overlooking golf course. Staff bent over backwards to accommodate us all. Food great plus transfers into nearby beautiful Arrowtown FOC really made our 3 night stay a time to remember. Everything was immaculately clean. King beds so comfortable with great pillows. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with others sharing one of these cottages is very economical. Pictures on webs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear Angela M,
Thanks for reviewing Millbrook Resort. We always appreciate guests feedback. Our staff will be delighted to know that their effort to ensure your stay was up to your expectations of our resort. We’re glad you got to visit the picturesque town of Arrowtown and that our complimentary shuttle service suited your requirements. Our complimentary shuttle service also runs into central Queenstown to ensure our guests are fully connected to the busy Queenstown town centre – whilst staying in the heart of the countryside - just 15mins away. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. back here someday.
Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumaris, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We found Millbrook to be almost perfect for accommodation, dining and golfing. The staff were great, nothing was too much trouble. There was no down side, you would not have to leave the premises to have a wonderful break

Room Tip: A downstairs room with a view over the golf course is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linton3193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear Linton3193,
We love the fact that you were able to enjoy the dining and golfing at Millbrook. Covering 500 acres Millbrook is definitely a place you can find a variety of things to do. With The Spa and Health & Fitness Centre also onsite and Queenstown Bike Trail winding its way through Millbrook’s grounds, it makes an ideal place to even base yourself while you explore the 100k trail connecting Queenstown, Jacks Point, Arrowtown and Gibbston. We hope you make it back to Millbrook someday.
Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
200 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

I stayed in The Mews as part of a golfing group. Three of us were sharing a 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom house with a very large lounge right on the side of the golf course fairway. The house was excellent and staff at reception were also very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WildcatNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear WildcatNZ,
Thanks for taking the time to review Millbrook Resort. The Mews is a very beautiful part of the resort and allows you to embrace the surroundings and if time allows you, watch some fellow golfers on the golf course! Did you play 9 holes or the full 27 while you were here? We also hope you got to relax and enjoy a delicious glass of Central Otago wine at our Hole In Once Cafe & Bar after your game.
Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
591 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed here for 3 days as part of an OAT tour of NZ. The accommodations are luxurious and great in all respects. We successfully used the shuttle to and from Queenstown (recommend the steam ship) and also into Arrowtown. We walked back from Arrowtown for the exercise. The breakfasts were super - everything imaginable. We ate twice in the Hole in One and it was v. good. We did not play golf, but the course appeared to be in sensational shape. This is a high-end resort, so be prepared for spending some $$$$$. Overall: great if you can afford it.

Room Tip: anything in the 800 section is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank authored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear authored,
Thank you for taking the time to review Millbrook and for sharing your experience with us. The complimentary shuttle service works really well for our guests and we’re glad you successfully used it. With Millbrook being set on 500 acres there is so much to do here – from the day spa, to the complimentary swimming pool and gym, walking and biking trails and numerous other activities, you’ll need to come back to visit us in the future! Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
8.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
7.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
9.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
9.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millbrook Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Resort

Property: Millbrook Resort
Address: Malaghans Road, Arrowtown 9371, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Millbrook Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named New Zealand’s Top Hotel for three consecutive years at The TripAdvisor Travellers Choice Awards, as well as New Zealand and Oceania’s Leading Golf Hotel at the inaugural World Golf Awards in 2014, Millbrook Resort is the definition of five star luxury. Set across 500 acres of Central Otago countryside, with lush green fairways, rolling hills and gentle babbling streams, the resort offers a complete escape, just twenty minutes from ‘adventure capital’ Queenstown. The Resort encompasses a 175 room five star hotel, offering a variety of luxurious studios and suites, two bedroom villas, two, three and four bedroom cottages, and Fairway Homes, all designed to capture the history of the resort, the surrounding views of the golf course and mountains, and with complete privacy in mind. As co-hosts of the BMW New Zealand Open for 2014 and 2015, Millbrook Resort is celebrated for a bucket-list-inspiring 27 hole championship golf course, acclaimed restaurants, an award winning day spa, a comprehensive health and fitness centre, multiple conference venues and facilities, and a wide range of onsite activities which allow guests to stay and play for days without even leaving the resort. All in-house guests can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, preferential green fees, and access to our health and fitness centre. Just a two minute drive from historic Arrowtown, fifteen minutes from Queenstown International Airport, and twenty minutes from Queenstown, Millbrook also provides a free shuttle service to/from Arrowtown and Queenstown so guests can enjoy all that the area has to offer. Millbrook Resort sets the standard for romantic getaways, golfing holidays and relaxing retreats – with a round of golf, lunch at The Hole in One cafe, a signature massage, and an evening at the award winning Millhouse Restaurant or Japanese inspired Kobe Cuisine, just one of the many ways to spend a day at Millbrook Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Millbrook Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Hotel Arrowtown
Millbrook Resort Arrowtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing