We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth”
Review of Millbrook Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Millbrook Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed for a Conference/ holiday and were more than pleasantly surprised. Photos do not capture the beauty & delightful landscape of the resort and golf course the best I have ever seen. Facilities such as the Day Spa, hot pools, 25m indoor pool, fitness centre & dining options were impressive. Staff were eager to please ' super professional, must recommend a cycle tour of the resort & surrounds to really appreciate its beauty & enormity! If we had known of the place we would have been married here, it is just the most breathtaking paradise we have ever seen. Accommodation was spacious, clean, and super king size bed was unexpected! Underfloor heating was so luxurious, coming from Australia's climate it was graciously appreciated. A definite return trip on the itinerary, thank you Millbrook Resort!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KazzyStevo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear KazzyStevo74, Thank you for reviewing Millbrook Resort. We’re so proud to read your review as this is what we all strive for everyday; to ensure that our guests have the 5 star luxury that they deserve when the visit Millbrook Resort. Being set on 500 acres the area is vast and beautiful. We have some packages which are available during winter and summer, so keep an eye on our website for more information. You might be able to come back to Millbrook and even think about renewing your vows here!
Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,030)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

792 - 798 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2013

We spent 4 days at this great resort while we were in Queenstown. The room we had was in the Village Villas and was very spacious. It was easy walking distance to the 4 main eateries of the resort. Well, you could call for a "lift" if you chose not the walk to them.
It is about 15-20 minutes by road to Queenstown itself and the Resort offers a complimentary shuttle to and from Queenstown on the hour. The last ride back to the Resort from Queenstown is 10.30pm. Since we had a hire car we did not use the shuttle.
Breakfast is served in the Clubhouse and it was sufficient for our needs. Casual dining can be had at the 'Hole-In-One'; and fine dining at the Millhouse. And the fourth eatery is a Japanese restaurant along the way to the indoor spa and indoor swimming pool.
We found the staff always courteous and ready to assist. There is free wi-fi in the room but only a maximum of 30 minutes a day - can be a bother to some. However, there are 2-3 computers in the main building which one can use with not time restrictions unless others are waiting to get on.
The main purpose of our stay at Millbrook was for golf, and it did not disappoint us. With 27 holes (3 x 9 holes) to choose from it was challenging enough for us.
Will be go back again - emphatic yes!

Room Tip: Get one close to the main facilities. Overall, the accommodation is sufficiently spread out to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear Melach, Thank you for reviewing Millbrook Resort. We’re delighted that you got to experience the Millbrook way of life. We strive to ensure our resort has everything for our guests and that you can relax and recharge while staying here. Our golf course was just voted the Best Golf Resort in Australasia for the third year running so we’re glad that the championship course challenged you! Did you manage to have any lesson with our golf pro? If not, next time I highly recommend you add this to your must do list. We also run golf schools if this is something which would suit you better. We look forward to having you come back to stay and play at Millbrook.
Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

With our 20th wedding anniversary approaching, my husband was hard at work, weighing up different options on where to take me. With Millbrook's 5-day Summer Escape package, the decision was easy. It was value for money, and we love Millbrook, having stayed there twice before. Service is wonderful, the Village Inn accommodation is private with picturesque views. We were continuously amazed at how it seemed we were the only ones staying there, when relaxing in our room, it was so quiet. It is really only when you go to the restaurants and main buildings that you notice how many people are there. We love that. The golf course is fabulous (a shame I couldn't do it justice with a decent score!). The restaurants, as usual served lovely food. Cannot recommend the Millhouse's dessert enough - the Chocolate and Raspberry Assiette (spelling?). As recommended to us by our waiter Tom - it was simply superb. So good in fact, we had it two nights in a row!!! YUM!! (and looked incredible too). We hope to come back and experience Millbrook in the winter next time.

Room Tip: We requested a ground floor unit in the Village Inn, so as to be able to sit outsite on the grass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear Janette K,
First of all a big congrats from everyone at Millbrook on your 20th wedding anniversary. We’re delighted that you choose Millbrook as the spot to mark this special occasion. We’ll pass on your compliments to the team here. As Millbrook is built on 500 acres, space is one of our special features which we really want out guest to experience.... and you did, which makes us proud. The Chocolate and Raspberry Assiette is our most popular dish at The Millhouse and we’ll be having it on the menu for a while due to its popularity. Tom will be glad his recommendation when down a treat! We do have a Millbrook Winter package on offer, so if you feel the need to come back soon, make sure you check this out on our website. We look forward to having you back at Millbrook soon. Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We spent 22 days in New Zealand (Both Islands) and when I think of New Zealand over the years, I will think of Millbrook Resort. Our room was spacious - we had a walk-in closet! There was a nice sitting area and a balcony with a spacacular view. I wish I had a chance to play the golf course, but we were on a tour and did not have time. The food and service was very good. We had no problems with the WIFI, however ot was free for only a half hour - I would think a resort of this caliber would provide it for free on an unlimited basis.

We had nice breakfasts and dinner at the resor once. We stayed for three nights and wished we could stay longer. We used the shuttle to Queenstown,but reservations are required.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear Robert C,
There are alot of amazing things to see in New Zealand and for Millbrook to be top of your list is really amazing for us. Hopefully you’ll come back again and have more time to experience life the Millbrook way. Our complimentary shuttle service is really popular and we request that our guests book a seat to ensure they’re not disappointed if there are no seats available. We do have 5 night packages available, so hopefully you’ll make it back here someday. Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stunning scenery, rooms with an amazing view, great place to unwind and recharge oneself.
Villa's are spacious, very comfortable and private.
Great location, shuttle service available although we hired a rental car to explore the Lakes area. Close to historic Arrowtown, with many shops and restaurants, great little fish and chip shop there.
Loved the peaceful, relaxing tranquillity of Millbrook overlooking the golf course and landscape, enjoyed the Kobe Cuisine restaurant and two visits to the Spa.
Hated leaving, this was our second visit to Millbrook Resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear Ann M,
Thank you for taking the time to review Millbrook for us. We love the fact that you’re a return guest and you’re still impressed with us! Being built on 500 acres it does give you some fantastic views especially of the Remarkable mountain range. The Arrowtown Autumn Festival is starting on the 12th April this year so maybe you could plan to come back a third time to slot in with this festival! It’s a very beautiful time to visit this region as the trees and hillside turn vibrant red and gold and the streets really do come to life with music and fun. We look forward to your next visit to Millbrook. Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I would like to point out that you do not to be a golfer to stay at Millbrook. We were there fir the fabulous Motatapu Event. We have stayed at Millbrook three times now, and never cease to love it each time. Subtle luxury. The Millhouse Restaurant is a very special place to dine. The architecture of the Villas is fabulous, They have managed to make each one private. Wonderful wonderful settings and peaceful surroundings.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear Suzanne S,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Millbrook. Did you compete in the Motatapu event this year? What a great event to be a part of. When our Villas were designed it was really important to make sure every villa felt private, but had a homely feel. We’re delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed yourself while you were here. If you did compete in the Motatapu, I hope you managed to get a nice spa treatment for yourself. Our team at The Spa know how to ensure guest feel refreshed and revived after sometime with them. Make sure you have a look at the Summer Escape packages we offer on our website if you decide to stay down here next year. We hope to see you back next year for the Motatapu. Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I have just spent a few nights at Millbrook Resort and would have to say that this is one of the best places I have ever stayed. The staff are exceptional - very friendly and efficient, nothing is too much trouble for them. The room was absolutely beautiful and clean. The grounds are very picturesque. If you enjoy playing golf you can't go wrong staying at Millbrook. Arrowtown is a tiny town with great restaurants and bars and everyone in town is very friendly. Millbrook provides on-demand shuttles into Arrowtown (2 min drive) and also shuttles into Queenstown. Can't wait to return to Millbrook!!!

Room Tip: Stayed in a one-bedroom villa and was very happy with it. Double sinks in bathroom, huge bath. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear Libby557,
Thanks for reviewing Millbrook Resort. Our team work hard to ensure all our guests have a magical stay here and we’re delighted that your stay at Millbrook ticked all the boxes for you. Set on 500 acres of lush green fairways, walking & biking tracks there sure is lots to do here! We hope you had time to enjoy a glass of central Otago wine and some of our delicious muffins, cakes and pastries that are all freshly baked onsite. The Hole in One Cafe is a great play to relax after a busy day sightseeing or playing golf. We hope you make it back to Millbrook someday soon!
Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
9.7 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
8.7 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
7.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
10.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
9.9 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#2 of 58 in Queenstown
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millbrook Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Resort

Address: Malaghans Road, Arrowtown 9371, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Price Range: £156 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Millbrook Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named New Zealand’s Top Hotel for three consecutive years at The TripAdvisor Travellers Choice Awards, as well as New Zealand and Oceania’s Leading Golf Hotel at the inaugural World Golf Awards in 2014, Millbrook Resort is the definition of five star luxury. Set across 500 acres of Central Otago countryside, with lush green fairways, rolling hills and gentle babbling streams, the resort offers a complete escape, just twenty minutes from ‘adventure capital’ Queenstown. The Resort encompasses a 175 room five star hotel, offering a variety of luxurious studios and suites, two bedroom villas, two, three and four bedroom cottages, and Fairway Homes, all designed to capture the history of the resort, the surrounding views of the golf course and mountains, and with complete privacy in mind. As co-hosts of the BMW New Zealand Open for 2014 and 2015, Millbrook Resort is celebrated for a bucket-list-inspiring 27 hole championship golf course, acclaimed restaurants, an award winning day spa, a comprehensive health and fitness centre, multiple conference venues and facilities, and a wide range of onsite activities which allow guests to stay and play for days without even leaving the resort. All in-house guests can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, preferential green fees, and access to our health and fitness centre. Just a two minute drive from historic Arrowtown, fifteen minutes from Queenstown International Airport, and twenty minutes from Queenstown, Millbrook also provides a free shuttle service to/from Arrowtown and Queenstown so guests can enjoy all that the area has to offer. Millbrook Resort sets the standard for romantic getaways, golfing holidays and relaxing retreats – with a round of golf, lunch at The Hole in One cafe, a signature massage, and an evening at the award winning Millhouse Restaurant or Japanese inspired Kobe Cuisine, just one of the many ways to spend a day at Millbrook Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millbrook Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Hotel Arrowtown
Millbrook Resort Arrowtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing