We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Millbrook Golf Course at Millbrook Resort”
Review of Millbrook Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Millbrook Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

By The Golfer: Classic golf course. Tests every facet of your game. Beautifully presented and maintained. Totally enjoyed the hit out.
By The Caddy: (non playing wife). Gorgeous views and on a freezing cold day you will be thrilled to know the toilets on course are heated - yay. And the cafe makes "hot" hot chocolate to thaw you afterwards.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Naomi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Hotel Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Millbrook Golf experience. I'm sure our course designers, Sir Bob Charles and Greg Turner would be pleased to know that you enjoyed the layout, design and challenge of our Golf Course. I have also shared your feedback with our hardworking Greens team, who were very appreciative, thank you. It was also nice to know that despite the cold we were also able to look after the caddy with a nice HOT Chocolate from the Hole in One bar.

The team and I hope we welcome you back to Millbrook in future.

Kind regards,

Martin Hamilton, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,030)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

649 - 655 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Spent the weekend at Millbrook for my parents 50th wedding anniversary. Had 2x 3 bedroom villas which were perfect for the occasion. Spaciuos and beautifully decortaed, they were perfect! Wouldn't stay anywhere else

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimbom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Marketing Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest,

A huge Congratulations to your parents from myself and the team here at Millbrook on their Golden Wedding Anniversary. What a precious and special moment for you to share with them.

And thank you for writing your review - we are delighted to be part of a such a special occasion.

Kindest regards,
Ciara McDermott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights beginning of April. We booked their airport shuttle service (cost $40 - pretty good value when you consider the tourist prices in Queenstown for everything else). Met by Gary who was friendly and helpful. In fact that was the one thing that stood out for us at Millbrook, everyone of the staff we encountered was friendly and nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

Check in was too easy and we got delivered to our cottage by golf cart. The room itself was spacious and spotless, the mattress was nice and comfortable,and the little dressing room where we could put all our bags meant we didn't have to clutter the room up with our suitcases. The fridge had the usual mini bar, but you could take them out and put your own drinks in, well we did anyway. We also had a nice view looking out at the golf course.

The toilet does not have a hand basin and is separate to the bathroom which is good but is not quite next door. It's not a big factor but for me I wish it had been closer especially at 3am when I had to get up to use the facility.

Millbrook has lovely surroundings that you can walk around, even if you don't play golf, (which we don't) The free shuttle anytime to Arrowtown was great, as was the nearly on the hour shuttle to Queenstown. We enjoyed chatting with Brent who was our driver on several occasions. We managed to make use of their shuttle service for 3 days without needing to hire a car. The location to Arrowtown is excellent if you have transport, otherwise it would be a bit of a walk, but with a free shuttle who needs to walk. To Queenstown it's about a 20 minute journey, what we enjoyed was the hustle and bustle of Queenstown with all the touristy things to do and then returning to the peacefulness of Millbrook.

The car park for the cottages is a short distance away and if you needed help with your bags to the car I'm sure they would have someone to help.

We had a delicious meal at the Milllhouse, where the food was fine dining, but the prices were not outrageous, the portions a good size and the service as we came to expect, great.

A plus for me was being able to get a decent cup of coffee at the place you stay. The Hole in one bar served a great cup and the food looked pretty good to.

I selected this hotel based on other internet reviews, and I am so glad that I did. The staff at Millbrook are extremely friendly, helpful and eager to make sure that our stay was a wonderful experience-which it was. We genuinely were sorry to leave, but definitely will return in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CyberGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Marketing Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fabulous and detailed review of Millbrook. It's great to see that you got to spend three nights here and really experience what Millbrook offers.

I will pass on your kind words to Gary, Brent and the team. Everyone from The Millhouse, to The Hole In One cafe to our Concierge Team strive to ensure every guest feels extremely special during their stay. And yes, I agree the Hole In One cafe does serve a good coffee!

Looking forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Kindest regards,
Ciara McDermott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We have stayed at Millbrook before so know what to expect so how would it be a second time - even better. This time we rented a 3 bed 3 bath cottage as we were going to share with some friends during our visit. The first cottage we were shown didn't quite meet all our requirements so after one night there we moved to a more suitable townhouse. This was fantastic meet all are requirements was spacious and bright. Thanks Dale for assisting us with the move. Great thing about the accommodation was that we were self-contained but with all the benefits of a hotel room, daily servicing, clean towels and linen as required, etc. Millbrook has great eating places and this time we had breakfast in the Clubhouse and a couple of dinners at the Hole in One bar everything was great. All the staff in all areas were extremely helpful, professional and polite. Everyhting is done to a high standard and we had the best stay and look forward to retuning in the near future.

Room Tip: Stayed in Reidhaven which is fantastic but be aware there is some noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pommiegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Marketing Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of Millbrook. We love to hear from returning guests about how they enjoyed their stay with us. We will pass on your 'Thank you' to Dale as he and his colleagues work hard daily to ensure our guests have a memorable stay with us here.

We do have three & four bedroom Fairway Homes which are available for rent also. You might like to review them on our website before your third visit - these might also suit your needs.

We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Kindest regards,
Ciara McDermott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed two nights in Village Inn Room. Quaint Cottage contained well appointed room with view of mountain tops. Millbrook is a great place to stay in peaceful surroundings although only 20 minutes away from the bustle of Queenstown and 5 minutes from Arrowtown..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elsdal_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Marketing Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Peaceful is definitely a word which sums up Millbrook. We hope you left the resort feeling relaxed and refreshed and we hope to see you back here some day in the future.

Kindest regards,
Ciara McDermott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Millbrook is obviously fantastic. The accommodations are top notch, and the staff is even better. It is a great place to stay while visiting Queenstown and the surrounding area because you are not in Queenstown. We particularly liked the easy access to Central Otago. It can be a little pricey unless you can get a special deal, but you are going to pay a lot in Queenstown no matter where you stay. At least you know you will be getting a great room at Millbrook. Check Trip Advisor or Millbrook’s own website to get dates with good pricing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Marketing Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Pat,

Lovely to hear you enjoyed Millbrook and the surrounding area. Set on 500 acres only 20 minutes drive from Queenstown, we do think it's a great base for our guests. Easy access to Arrowtown & Central Otago - you have lots of choice when filling in a schedule.

We do offer packages on our website, so great advice! We hope you get to book one of them book again in the future.

Kindest regards,
Ciara McDermott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have just checked out today after having 3 fabulous nights in the Village Inn.
We highly recommend Millbrook & will be back to enjoy more of the scenery and the peaceful surroundings of the resort.

We are now located in Queenstown with a view of the lake but enjoy the wide open spaces of the resort at Millbrook.

Our beds were comfortable & the room was well equipt for warmth!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Marketing Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I love to hear that our guests managed to stay more than one night at Millbrook. After three days here relaxing, I hope you felt fully refreshed leaving the resort.

Millbrook is a cosy spot during autumn when that temperature changes, so delighted to hear that you felt nice and warm in your accommodation.

Why not pop out to the Hole In One before you leave for a glass of wine and take some extra time to bottle that tranquility that you enjoyed.

We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Kindest regards,
Ciara McDermott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
8.7 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
7.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
9.7 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
10.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
9.9 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#2 of 58 in Queenstown
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millbrook Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Resort

Address: Malaghans Road, Arrowtown 9371, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Price Range: £154 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Millbrook Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named New Zealand’s Top Hotel for three consecutive years at The TripAdvisor Travellers Choice Awards, as well as New Zealand and Oceania’s Leading Golf Hotel at the inaugural World Golf Awards in 2014, Millbrook Resort is the definition of five star luxury. Set across 500 acres of Central Otago countryside, with lush green fairways, rolling hills and gentle babbling streams, the resort offers a complete escape, just twenty minutes from ‘adventure capital’ Queenstown. The Resort encompasses a 175 room five star hotel, offering a variety of luxurious studios and suites, two bedroom villas, two, three and four bedroom cottages, and Fairway Homes, all designed to capture the history of the resort, the surrounding views of the golf course and mountains, and with complete privacy in mind. As co-hosts of the BMW New Zealand Open for 2014 and 2015, Millbrook Resort is celebrated for a bucket-list-inspiring 27 hole championship golf course, acclaimed restaurants, an award winning day spa, a comprehensive health and fitness centre, multiple conference venues and facilities, and a wide range of onsite activities which allow guests to stay and play for days without even leaving the resort. All in-house guests can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, preferential green fees, and access to our health and fitness centre. Just a two minute drive from historic Arrowtown, fifteen minutes from Queenstown International Airport, and twenty minutes from Queenstown, Millbrook also provides a free shuttle service to/from Arrowtown and Queenstown so guests can enjoy all that the area has to offer. Millbrook Resort sets the standard for romantic getaways, golfing holidays and relaxing retreats – with a round of golf, lunch at The Hole in One cafe, a signature massage, and an evening at the award winning Millhouse Restaurant or Japanese inspired Kobe Cuisine, just one of the many ways to spend a day at Millbrook Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millbrook Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Hotel Arrowtown
Millbrook Resort Arrowtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing