We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of Millbrook Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Millbrook Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Great spot, great rooms, very friendly staff. We were there on business, so unfortunately didn't get to test all the facilities or meals. But the rooms were beautifully warm and toasty and the bed is biggest I've ever slept in!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Marketing Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Erica,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. Lets hope you get to come back to stay with us in the future on a holiday. We do have winter and summer packages that are available, so keep an eye on our website or our facebook page. The Spa, Health & Fitness Centre & the restaurants all need to be enjoyed by all our guests. I'm delighted to hear that you were cosy and slept well in your room.

Kindest regards,
Ciara McDermott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    850
    109
    22
    8
    13
See reviews for
173
487
26
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

If you want to relax in beautiful surroundings (lakes, mountains, outdoor activities) then this is a lovely place even by world standards. Golf is an added extra but my review is not dependant on this. The food in the Millhouse is excellent and the NZ wine-list extensive. I have stayed in the suites and the Village Inn and both options are very comfortable. We always use the indoor pool and outdoor spa pools along with the gym extensively. Lots of great walking and cycling all around the resort. Use their free shuttle service to Arrowtown and Queenstown although we almost always prefer the quaint but historical small-town feel of Arrowtown bars, cafes and restaurants. Value for what you get and with very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for Village Inn rooms closest to the Millhouse to save some walking. The suites and hotel villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventurer62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Marketing Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of the resort. I'm delighted that you enjoyed all that Millbrook has to offer. Being set on 500 acres, it sure does give you a stunning view and experience of the great outdoors! Glad that you got to take advantage of the shuttle service, Arrowtown is a beautiful place to spend an afternoon.

We hope to see you back here in the future.

Kindest regards,
Ciara McDermott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Supposedly one of the premier golf resorts in the world. I'm no golfer, so have no comment on that. Surely you can find a lot on that aspect from other TripAdvisor reviews. The links certainly are beautiful. This place looks to be on about 200 hectares, or about 500 acres, and is beautifully landscaped. It was formerly a farm, and they have retained and restored some of the old stone farm buildings. The complex offers single rooms to multi-bedroom houses. We stayed in "The Village Inn", in what was basically a hotel room. It was spacious, quiet, and comfortable. The bath was oddly too small, with a small single-bowl sink and little countertop. The single light near the sink was off to one side, so it threw a strong shadow on your face. I was left poking clumsily about my face with my razor blade. A pretty bad lighting arrangement. The restaurants here are the weak link, being just so-so. The breakfast buffet was frankly poor, with mostly canned fruit and only a small amount of an unexciting selection of fresh fruit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreggSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Hotel Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Millbrook experience. Nice to know that you appreciated and enjoyed the fantastic landscape and scenery on offer at the resort. It was also pleasing to read you found your accommodation to be spacious and comfortable. I was disappointed to read you were unhappy with our breakfast offering. As you may appreciate from other guest reviews, our Breakfast normally rates very highly with our guests. Our Chef's do serve a mixture of tinned and fresh fruit on our buffet to compliment whats in season and available. As you have noted, we are always striving to improve our products and services to ensure they are world class. Therefore we have reviewed your feedback with our team and will look to make changes where appropriate.

Sincerely,

Martin Hamilton, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

What a great place! Lovely accomodation, clean. plenty of space & really comfortable. The restaurants are all fantastic, even my wariness of Japanese cuisine was overcome in the superb Kobe! The staff are all friendly & helpful. Stunning views. Bit chilly when we were there so missed the golf.... there's always the next. Great resort & bonus points for the superb breakfasts

Room Tip: Don't think they have bad rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmt14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Hotel Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Millbrook experience. Great to read that you enjoyed the standard of our accommodation and the resorts facilities along with service provided by our team. The Kobe Team were very particularly pleased to hear that they won you over with their Japanese Cuisine! I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Millbrook in future to enjoy more of what the resort and local area has to offer.

Kind regards,

Martin Hamilton, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I had a chance to stay at this resort for five nights in April while attending an extremely important but intense three day meeting. The success of that meeting had a lot to do with the location of the resort, superb staff and attention to detail with bookings, rooms, food etc, that provided the necessary relaxation at the end of long days. The resort staff really go out of their way to make you feel an honoured guest. The rooms are spacious and exceptionally clean. The gardens are very beautiful. The location near Arrowtown and the tranquillity added to the experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Hotel Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Millbrook experience. It great to read that you found the resort to be a venue which enabled you to focus and achieve your conference and meeting goals as well as providing an environment that allowed you to relax and unwind in your down time. Thank you also for your comments regarding our service, they were very much appreciated by the Millbrook team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Millbrook in future.

Best regards,

Martin Hamilton, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Our sincere thanks to everyone at Millbrook who made our family gathering over Easter such a fabulous experience. Never having stayed here before, we always thought it would be a great place to stay and our expectations were exceeded. Our four bedroom villa had the wow factor on entry (the upstairs main bedroom was superb), the kitchen that had every utensil and appliance we could possibly wish for, the immaculate golf greens made for a serene outlook, the staff who never intruded but were always there to answer queries, do the pick-ups and drop-offs without any hassles (even down to the grounds staff who always had a smile and wave for everyone) and the meal at The Millhouse was five star. Any issues were sorted out promptly and efficiently and always with a smile, without being cheesy.

Millbrook has a culture among its staff to deliver at an exceptional level without batting an eyelid! Thank you again for making our stay an experience to remember!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSouthee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Hotel Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs Southee,

Thank your taking the time to share your Millbrook experience. Please be assured it was our pleasure looking after you over the Easter period. It was great to read the whole family enjoyed everything that Millbrook has to offer, including the dining experience at the Millhouse restaurant. We are grateful for your support and also for your positive comments regarding our team and their service. We look forward to welcoming you and the family back to Millbrook in future.

Kind regards,

Martin Hamilton, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Millbrook is not an hotel as such. Clusters of beautifully landscaped villas are scattered amongst a large golf course with stunning views. We are not golfers but this must be golfing paradise. Service at the central admin office is professional and friendly. Bags and guests are transported to the villas on golf buggies. Our Villa Suite was fantastic. Super-king bed; large tiled bathroom includes large bath and walk-in shower (mind the step) with excellent pressure. Free on-call shuttle service delivered us to our restaurant in Arrowtown and collected us at the end of the meal: no concerns about drinking and driving. We didn't sample the restaurants at Millbrook but there is a good selection. I will let our photos do the talking from here.

Room Tip: Villa suites facing the course were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conferencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Hotel Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Millbrook experience and also for including some photos of your stay. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, including the service provided by our team. It was certainly our pleasure looking after you and we hope we can welcome you back to Millbrook again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Martin Hamilton, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
7.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
9.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
9.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
8.6 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#4 of 58 in Queenstown
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millbrook Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Resort

Property: Millbrook Resort
Address: Malaghans Road, Arrowtown 9371, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Millbrook Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named New Zealand’s Top Hotel for three consecutive years at The TripAdvisor Travellers Choice Awards, as well as New Zealand and Oceania’s Leading Golf Hotel at the inaugural World Golf Awards in 2014, Millbrook Resort is the definition of five star luxury. Set across 500 acres of Central Otago countryside, with lush green fairways, rolling hills and gentle babbling streams, the resort offers a complete escape, just twenty minutes from ‘adventure capital’ Queenstown. The Resort encompasses a 175 room five star hotel, offering a variety of luxurious studios and suites, two bedroom villas, two, three and four bedroom cottages, and Fairway Homes, all designed to capture the history of the resort, the surrounding views of the golf course and mountains, and with complete privacy in mind. As co-hosts of the BMW New Zealand Open for 2014 and 2015, Millbrook Resort is celebrated for a bucket-list-inspiring 27 hole championship golf course, acclaimed restaurants, an award winning day spa, a comprehensive health and fitness centre, multiple conference venues and facilities, and a wide range of onsite activities which allow guests to stay and play for days without even leaving the resort. All in-house guests can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, preferential green fees, and access to our health and fitness centre. Just a two minute drive from historic Arrowtown, fifteen minutes from Queenstown International Airport, and twenty minutes from Queenstown, Millbrook also provides a free shuttle service to/from Arrowtown and Queenstown so guests can enjoy all that the area has to offer. Millbrook Resort sets the standard for romantic getaways, golfing holidays and relaxing retreats – with a round of golf, lunch at The Hole in One cafe, a signature massage, and an evening at the award winning Millhouse Restaurant or Japanese inspired Kobe Cuisine, just one of the many ways to spend a day at Millbrook Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Millbrook Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Hotel Arrowtown
Millbrook Resort Arrowtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing