We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxurious”
Review of Millbrook Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Millbrook Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
SF
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“luxurious”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Went for a lovely weekend get away. Lovely quiet rooms, beautiful landscaping, friendly staff. It was convenient to Arrowtown and we enjoyed visiting art galleries and listening to a lovely concert. The food was good (although not great), but the ambiance was lovely.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Hotel Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Millbrook experience. It was nice to read that you enjoyed a relaxing weekend away with us last year and were able to enjoy a lot of what Millbrook and Arrowtown have to offer.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in future.

Best regards,

Martin Hamilton, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    109
    22
    8
    13
See reviews for
168
477
26
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Millbrook Resort is by far and away the best resort of its kind that I have ever had the pleasure of staying at. My partner and I plus daughter and son in law had the pleasure of staying there for five nights (all too short) the week before last, in a two bedroomed Hotel Villa. Unlike most websites, brochures and the like, the pictures you see on The Millbrook website are exactly what you get and from the very moment you walk into the villa with the fire making it nice and snug, you can`t help but fall in love with the place.
The staff, to a man/woman, were also a credit to the Resort, and nothing was ever too much trouble. Whilst we were there The Hole in One and The Kobe dining options were closed, but the food on offer, and the service in The Clubhouse was everything we could have asked for. We also had the pleasure of playing 18 holes of golf which again was an absolute delight with a state of the art buggy at our disposal and next to no one else on the course. We obviously picked the right week as I`m sure as the winter gets colder (and whiter), the Resort will get busier and busier.
Whilst it may be on the other side of the world from where myself and my partner live, if we ever revisit New Zealand, as we surely will, The Millbrook will be on our itinerary.

Peter & Linda

Room Tip: We were in Room 246 and the view was sensational from both the front and the back of the Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Hotel Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Peter & Linda,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Millbrook experience. It was very pleasing to read that you both enjoyed your stay with us and were able to experience a lot of what we think makes Millbrook special in that time. Especially glad to hear that you enjoyed the Golf course in one of our Golf carts featuring our new Golf Pilot GPS system. We are excited about the extra services and enjoyment these systems will add to our guests golfing experience.

Thank you for your support and positive review. Nice to know that if you return to New Zealand, you will return to us. We look forward to opportunity of welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Martin Hamilton, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Greeted by a lovely lady at reception who explained everything's me and was very attentive especially when I said I was happy to find my own way to my room, rather than the porter showing me. She then calld my room to make sure I had made it! Nice touch.

Room is spacious and well appointed. Free Internet was a nice unexpected touch. Very well decorated and would be a fantastic place to stay for a week,rather than just a night.

Will be back. Amazing!!!

Room Tip: Get the porters to show you to your room as it is pretty dark finding your way on your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseandTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Hotel Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Rose & Trevor,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Millbrook experience. We were of course glad to hear it was a positive one and that you didn't want to leave. With so much on offer we definitely agree a longer stay is called for. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Martin Hamilton, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

In May I surprised my husband with a birthday celebration to Queenstown. Booked a one bedroom villa and it was really lovely, the underfloor heating was on in the room so first impressions of Millbrook were fantastic. The weather was very cool but you wouldn't have known it from the room. The room and decor was lovely with a very spacious bedroom and ensuite bathroom off the living kitchen area. The service we received was excellent and made use of the free shuttle service to and from Arrowtown for one of our evening meals, the young girl who took us was a Southlander and we found were very bubbly and friendly. We used one of the outdoor hot pools even though there was light rain it was quite lovely sitting in the heat and romantic. Would certainly like to return at another time, maybe during the summer. We had a rental car but you wouldn't actually need one as the shuttle will also take you to Quuenstown and return free and for a small fee will do a pick-up and drop off from the airport.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayner4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Hotel Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review detailing your Millbrook experience. I was very pleased to hear you were able to enjoy a lot of what Millbrook has to offer from our luxurious and warm accommodation through to a nice soak in the jacuzzi. Great to hear that our team also provided an excellent level of service. Renee from our Front Office department was especially pleased to know that you enjoyed her hospitality. Nice to know that you are looking to return in Summer which provides yet more opportunities to enjoy what both the resort and the local area have to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Martin Hamilton, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Lovely location, stunning rooms with underfloor heating and bathrooms you could happily spend several hours in relaxing in the luxurious tubs. I suggested Millbrook as a birthday treat for my mother and she was not disappointed. Whilst we were enjoying our stay at Millbrook it snowed and made the entire grounds look like a winter wonderland. The staff could not do enough for us and I would definitely stay there again! The food at breakfast could be improved however. The Millhouse restaurant had great service and great food. We also tried the Hole In One Cafe (the Millhouse restaurant had unfortunately closed early) and found the food to be very mediocre. Overall we loved our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn2013255122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Hotel Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Dawn,

Thank you for sharing you Millbrook experience. Nice to know that we able to look after you and your mother for a Birthday treat recently and that you both enjoyed your time with us. As we are constantly looking at ways to improve our guests experience, we have reviewed your comments regarding our food offering with our Food and Beverage Management team. Glad to know that our team looked after you well during your stay. Please be assured it was our pleasure looking after you and we look forward to being able to welcome you back again in future.

Best regards,

Martin Hamilton, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This location is not just peaceful it is stunningly beautiful. When you enter via the avenue of trees it is simply breathtaking. They pick you up from the airport and they can also take you in to Queenstown and come back to collect you. It is a Golf resort but you don't have to be a fan or a player to enjoy. Best part - they have heated floors in the rooms. But WiFi is not free.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineWhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Hotel Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Christine,

Thank you for sharing your Millbrook experience. We like to refer to "The Avenue" (our iconic Oak lined driveway) as the decompression zone, where our guests troubles and stresses melt away as they arrive at Millbrook. Nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would also like to point out we are now offering complimentary wifi for all of our hotel guests. We hope we can welcome you back to enjoy more of what Millbrook has to offer in future.

Best regards,

Martin Hamilton, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

THE most beautiful place in the world to be!! Magical, Magnificent, Mountains, snow and one of the most prettiest paces in the world to be...
AND then Millbrook is the perfect accommodation!! A warm warm warm-the welcome - thank-you Anthony-so very friendly and real!!. Our amazing room and how BIG it was and clean it was and how comfortable our bed was and how we did not want to leave!!
AND then great golf, superb running tracks, a great gym and spa, amazing food, both at Millbrook and at Arrowtown (the funnest, cutest town in NZ for sure!)-just a 15 min walk away (and of course they will drive you too) AND a very warm and happy goodbye from Todd and Tegan-LOOOVED IT!!!!

Room Tip: They are all BIG, clean and have great views, you will just have to decide single story or stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Hotel Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Millbrook experience. It very pleasing to read how much you enjoyed the beautiful landscapes and surrounds we are lucky enough to enjoy here at Millbrook. Complimented with luxurious accommodation, four restaurants, award winning Spa, Golf, Health & Fitness Centre and with both Arrowtown and Queenstown on our door step, I was glad to hear you experienced a lot of what we think makes Millbrook a very special place to stay. Even more importantly, its the people that make the difference and I am glad to hear you enjoyed some personal and professional service from our team. Anthony, Tegan and Todd were very grateful for your recognition and we look forward to being able to welcome you back again in future.

Kind regards,

Martin Hamilton, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
7.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
8.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
9.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
9.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
8.6 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#2 of 58 in Queenstown
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millbrook Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Resort

Property: Millbrook Resort
Address: Malaghans Road, Arrowtown 9371, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Millbrook Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named New Zealand’s Top Hotel for three consecutive years at The TripAdvisor Travellers Choice Awards, as well as New Zealand and Oceania’s Leading Golf Hotel at the inaugural World Golf Awards in 2014, Millbrook Resort is the definition of five star luxury. Set across 500 acres of Central Otago countryside, with lush green fairways, rolling hills and gentle babbling streams, the resort offers a complete escape, just twenty minutes from ‘adventure capital’ Queenstown. The Resort encompasses a 175 room five star hotel, offering a variety of luxurious studios and suites, two bedroom villas, two, three and four bedroom cottages, and Fairway Homes, all designed to capture the history of the resort, the surrounding views of the golf course and mountains, and with complete privacy in mind. As co-hosts of the BMW New Zealand Open for 2014 and 2015, Millbrook Resort is celebrated for a bucket-list-inspiring 27 hole championship golf course, acclaimed restaurants, an award winning day spa, a comprehensive health and fitness centre, multiple conference venues and facilities, and a wide range of onsite activities which allow guests to stay and play for days without even leaving the resort. All in-house guests can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, preferential green fees, and access to our health and fitness centre. Just a two minute drive from historic Arrowtown, fifteen minutes from Queenstown International Airport, and twenty minutes from Queenstown, Millbrook also provides a free shuttle service to/from Arrowtown and Queenstown so guests can enjoy all that the area has to offer. Millbrook Resort sets the standard for romantic getaways, golfing holidays and relaxing retreats – with a round of golf, lunch at The Hole in One cafe, a signature massage, and an evening at the award winning Millhouse Restaurant or Japanese inspired Kobe Cuisine, just one of the many ways to spend a day at Millbrook Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Millbrook Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Hotel Arrowtown
Millbrook Resort Arrowtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing